We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Bangkok”
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #91 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Although we only had a one-night stay in The Bhuthorn, we can’t recommend it highly enough. From the friendly welcome we received upon arrival to our cool and airy room, tastefully decorated and with a large comfortable bed, The Bhuthorn is an oasis of calm and tranquility in the middle of the city. The breakfast set us up for the day – yoghurt, salad, cooked eggs and ham, croissants and fresh fruit, all freshly prepared and served.
This B&B is ideally situated and within walking distance of many attractions. Highly recommended and definitely on our list for another stay next time we visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeeBee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at The Bhuthorn for 5 nights on our way back to the US from a couple of weeks in Indonesia. This being our first time in Thailand, we didn't know what to expect and this charming B&B was the perfect way to get into the bustling city of Bangkok. It is tucked away literally just minutes away from The Grand Palace, Wat Po and several other historic locations. Chitlada, the woman who owns and runs the placeand her staff were very gracious and did much to make our stay wonderful. Because we booked with fairly short notice, we had to change rooms, but they made our transition very smooth. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an alternative to the typical hotel experience as it is a great opportunity to be staying in a real old city neighborhood in the midst of locals. The entire neighborhood is incredibly safe as we walked home from Khao San Road well into the night on a couple of occassions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudyc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The glowing reviews I read on TripAdvisor for the Bhuthorn held true - this small B&B is simply fantastic. This was my husband and I's first trip to Thailand, and Bangkok was our first stop. We did not arrive at the hotel until around 10PM. Unfortunately when we got out of the cab, I left all of our documents (passports, money, id's, credit cards, etc.) in the cab. I think the innkeeper (forget her name but she was delightful) thought I was crazy, but she immediately started making calls trying to track down the cab driver. Luckily, someone was looking out for us that night as the cab driver returned to the hotel 45 minutes later after he realized we left our passport pouch in the back of his taxi - everything was still there! This was when we knew we had traveled to the right place!

We stayed in the large room downstairs in the back of the building. It was so cute and comfortable - loved the French Colonial decor. While this hotel is no frills, we really felt right at home whenever we walked in the door and were so kindly greeted by our innkeeper. It was almost as though we had the whole place to ourselves, as we never crossed paths with any of the other guests staying there. We dined both mornings in the LOVELY outdoor courtyard in the back both mornings. The breakfast was delicious!

Before leaving the inn, the innkeeper always asked where we were going and wrote down the destination in thai and english so that if we hired a taxi, they would know where to take us. She also made sure we had a map with us every time we left. This was very comforting, especially as we stepped out into a very big and unfamiliar city!

I will reiterate what other travelers have said - taxis have a difficult time finding this hotel. Make sure you print the map out and carry it with you to give to the taxi when you are heading to the Bhuthorn for the first time. It might take them an extra 5-10 minutes to find it, especially at night!

I cannot say more positive things about the Bhuthorn and I would return in a heartbeat (if we liked Bangkok). Unfortunately, however, one full day in Bangkok was ENOUGH for us. The one suggestion I have to the Bhuthorn is that it would be nice if they offered refreshments that you could purchase such as soda water or wine. We arrived late and were thirsty for both water and a cocktail.... would have been nice to have had that available at the hotel as we had to venture out on foot to find something.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cgyuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I stayed at the Bhuthorn for a few days in early March, in the Bhuthorn room, and a few in early April, in the Nara room. On both occasions I was not disappointed. Both the rooms are clean, elegant and individual and the breakfasts always delicious. The staff are all delightful and promptly responsive and the place in general is a wonderful haven within bustling Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NingNandNong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and felt like I had lived there my whole life. Gentle, kindly staff attended to needs, noticed my preferences (vegetarian, no dairy) and managed to exceed my expectations every single day, either by slipping out to the market to pick up my favorite fruits for breakfast, or by selecting a different china everyday to serve at tea time. My room was a dreamy high-ceiling beauty with modern bathroom and charming and practicle antique furniture. The neighbourhood was filled with good resto's and only minutes to palace and other tourist sites. I was so happy at Bhuthorn, can't wait to go back with my husband.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDuke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Charming 3-BR B&B in restored building done in French colonial style accented with rattan furniture and yellow palette. Stayed in ground floor Salpasart room. Nice firm bed with a good mix of soft/firm pillows with soft linens. Late in evening staff will shutterboard windows for obvious reasons. This is not for the visitor who opts for the sleek swanky hotel in BKK.

Delicious and plentiful breakfast in atrium consisted of pork satay and sticky rice, strawberry yogurt, eggs with sausage (the Asian type that reminds me of smallish Oscar Weiners), croissant and watermelon wedges. Second day breakfast was more of the same as Day 1 except satay was substituted with kanam krok (very rich coconut milk pancakes) and fruit choice was mango. Restaurants within a short walking distance include Krua Apsorn and the well-known Chote Chitr. Also, there are a few suitable hawker stands across the street and park square.

Internet connectivity is sufficient to Skype but not for high speed needs. Would definitely stay here again if it weren't for having to deal w/BKK congestion and pollution. Also, beware of tuk-tuk scam artists.

Room Tip: Book early since only 3 rooms, but has new B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfalbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We only had one night here and we were wishing we had more. It is right in the heart of everything and the staff was so helpful. We visited 2 of the local restaurants that were suggested and they were amazing. We had a late flight and the staff of the Bhuthorn really took care of us. From the fresh coconut ice cream and drinks when we arrived to the italian soda we got before the London Taxi picked us up for the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Neighbor Phuthon
Neighbor Phuthon
#138 of 728 in Bangkok
6 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 728 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#38 of 728 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Dinso Hostel
Baan Dinso Hostel
#27 of 728 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 728 in Bangkok
462 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 728 in Bangkok
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing