We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good stay in Bangkok Oldtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #80 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good stay in Bangkok Oldtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

For our fourth time in Bangkok, we're staying at The Bhuthorn. It's a very nice place, with beautiful rooms, breakfast in a patio, and staff members friendly, helpful. Teatime is very charming, changing every day. The Bhuthorn's locatiion is very central, and allows to go walking to the piers Tha Tien or Tha Chang, getting on the ferry. We'll come again!!

Room Tip: The first floor room is very pleasant, very close to the breakfast patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redchris411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    17
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
104
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Bhuthorn is a lovely place to stay - quiet and peaceful, but very centrally located. The decoration is charming and the thaï breakfast delicious. Staff members are friendly and charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were looking for a small guesthouse to access Chinatown, the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, and the river taxis during our short 3 day stay in Bangkok. We couldn't have made a better choice with the above locations all within a 10 minute walk. If you're into historical architecture, I can't imagine a better place to stay. You can really tell the retired architect owners took a careful approach to the building restoration, retaining as much original character as possible. The service was perfect and food/refreshments fitting to the identity The Bhuthorn theme. I definitely hope to return for another stay, and would absolutely recommend others stay here as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nara room and found it perfectly fitting for 3 people (two beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently visited Thailand for the first time and while planning accommodation out in Chiang Mai or down on the islands is relatively easy, the choices in Bangkok were a little more confusing. They seemed to come down to either a modern/skyscraper/hotel or some sort of B&B which is a little daunting?
We selected the Bhuthorn completely on the basis of internet-reviews and were pleased with our choice.
In busy, noisy and sometimes overwhelming Bangkok, this tiny hotel is an oasis of peace and quite, it’s located off the main thoroughfares, in a small square of private homes and it really left us with the feeling of staying with friends.
The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean, afternoon refreshments (like teas & ice creams) were a treat and we followed all kinds of excellent local recommendations.
Access is easy using the ubiquitous tuktuks and internet communication was seamless.
We would highly recommend this beautiful little place to anyone who wants to visit Bangkok but doesn't want to be just another guest on the 3oth floor of some faceless hotel in the business distract.
If we visit Bangkok again we'll certainly be coming back!
Doug & Sara
Los Angeles, California

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank douglas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villamblard, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Bhuthorn is a tiny hotel - just a few rooms, but all kept to a high standard. The location in the old part of the city is perfect - just five minutes from the Grand Palace and easy walking distance from many interesting and varied temples and other places of interest.
The owners and staff of the Bhuthorn can not do enough for their guests, from afternoon tea when you really need a cooling drink and a snack, to making sure that everything is just right for a memorable stay. The Thai breakfast was delicious and different every morning. We would definitely recommend this delightful little hotel to anyone intending to visit Bangkok.

Room Tip: The Bhuthorn room is delightful with a four poster bed and traditional furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Bhuthorn is small, high quality hotel with exceptional staff. The location is fantastic for all that you could want. An oasis in a busy city and highly recommended. We couldn't have wished for more. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbrentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the Bhuthorn, a small boutique hotel close to What Po. The whole place is decorated in a very nice manner. Service is friendly and very professional. Ask for the Thai breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Asadang
The Asadang
#25 of 606 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#40 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#82 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 606 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Banglamphu
Sala Arun
Sala Arun
#53 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Property: The Bhuthorn
Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing