We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgetable experience”
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #84 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed in this b&b years ago but I never got around writing a review. My sister and I were in Bangkok for a few days during the red shirt protests in 2010 right before things got heated up. Some of their protests camps were really close to the b&b but at no time did we feel insecure. Chitlada was an amazing host, and all her recommendations were spot on. Every afternoon we were greeted with a smile and delicious snacks. All the food was outstanding and the rooms are exactly what you may expect of old Bangkok. It is centrally located and near many temples. If you are looking for an unforgettable experience at a B&B, with personalized service, good food, and a beautiful place this is the place you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    17
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
104
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nack
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This nice little hotel is near all important sights in Bangkok's old town, just a little walk away from the expressboat pier. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was very good. Everyone was extraordinary helpful and friendly.
It's a bit noisy, especially in the morning, but in a big city like Bangkok it's hard to find absolute silence.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We came here with our parents & truly enjoyed our stay. The owner, Yui really made us feel like home. This place reminds me of my great grandma's place back in Malacca! If you really want to enjoy the way olden days Thai lived, here is it!
Yui & staffs cleaned our rooms several times a day. They tried to accomodate to our every request. Thank you for making our trip enjoyable!

Helpful?
1 Thank eileen0110
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

An absolutely gorgeous little B&B in the original old town. So quiet for being right in the center. Just a short walk from the Grand Palace, river taxi, and local market. The service was fantastic. We got lost our first day and the staff kindly walked us out to the street to help us find our way! We highly recommend the "Thai Treats" for breakfast - they bring you a stack of food containers filled with delicious local food (try these and then you will know what they are when you find them in the street markets!!!). The afternoon tea was also so very nice. Make sure to print a copy of the map to the hotel (they will email to you in advance) and carry it with you wherever you go ... none of the 15 Tuk Tuks or taxis knew the hotel location!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brandimarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After a 22 hour flight, it was a delight to arrive at The Bhuthorn at 1:30 am and be greeted with smiles & refreshing lemongrass tea. We stayed for 4 nights in two different rooms. Both rooms were very charming and comfortable. The Nara room upstairs was very large with a sitting room and loft for sleeping. Be sure you are comfortable with climbing narrow stairs before booking. Eating breakfast in the little garden was a beautiful way to start the day. Highly recommend the Thai Breakfast! Each morning we were treated to new dishes to try and none disappointed us. The location of The Bhuthorn is perfect if you want to explore old town because everything is very close and helps you avoid getting trapped in heavy traffic. We appreciated the quite of the location after a busy day exploring BKK. The service was fantastic. Staff even walked us across the street to get us going in the correct direction on our first morning. One afternoon, we returned to The Bhuthorn in the afternoon to refresh ourselves before dinner. We were greeted with tea, sticky rice, and fresh mango that was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was a very comfortable, welcoming place within the large metropolis which is Bangkok. The hotel only has four rooms so not only the neighbourhood but the hotel it self was quiet. The owners were really helpful in answering questions about where to eat and what to see. A bonus is the afternoon tea and the breakfast was well prepared and interesting. My husband and I would stay there again and will recommend it to others travelling to Bangkok.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If you can't carry bags upstairs I recommend you ask for the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Bhuthorn is very well located in the heart of the old town, close to Wat Phra Khaeo and Wat Pho. The welcome is friendly, the room clean and nice and the staff is interested in our wandering tourists, suggest good places in the city. Must specify a day ahead of its time breakfast can be estimated rather Western, or rather the East

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnw33808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Asadang
The Asadang
#29 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#36 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#75 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 628 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Property: The Bhuthorn
Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing