We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of OPUS Wine Bar

OPUS Wine Bar
Ranked #71 of 10,836 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Westerham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Even the taxi driver had trouble finding this place. It was down a darkened road away from any activity - so beware when you are dropped there. But it is obviously well known as the restaurant was buzzing. Great food and wine - service friendly and efficient

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahP4148SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    177
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very close to the hotel and very good food and atmosphere. Fourth or fifth visit and always the same standard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VINCENT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was within walking distance from Health Land Sathorn so we chose it as our dinner place after our spa at Health Land. The place was cozy and the menu was with good variety. The food items were all good with attentive service. Price a bit on the up side accordingly to Thailand standard but the lobster soup was one of the best I have had so it's worth the money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
488 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Sempre buono.....”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I make it a point to go to Opus on every Bangkok trip.
Food and service are excellent.
Alex is a great host and makes everyone feel at home.
Will be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Drop everything and come here. You'll love it.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have known the owner of Opus since literally week one of opening many years ago. We have come back several times for special occasions, as couples, and meeting up with friends and family. If there's a neighborhood Italian restaurant that we would choose without hesitation, that has excellent service, good food, friendly people, and a homey feel, this would be the place without question.

I'm going to keep this simple: You won't be disappointed. And prices for a place like this is more than reasonable.

Opus is located along Thanon Pan (aka Indian Temple Soi). It's located more or less in the middle of the soi and can be easily missed. So, go carefully. Parking can be a bit of a hassle at times but there is a turnaround area so that does help. The decor is warm, woodsy, and they have their own wine cooler for you to take the time to choose and look at each potential bottle. Tables are large size and won't feel cramped. They do have high-top tables but I don't prefer them. So, be sure when you make a reservation, to get a normal table.

All the servers are knowledgeable about the wine and food, so be sure to ask! In fact, Opus is getting a reputation for turning out strong servers; former Opus staff can be found in managerial positions are various stand-alone and hotel restaurant venues around the city.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OPUS Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to OPUS Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing