We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading. Get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aiyapura Bangkok
Ranked #606 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading. Get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Get what you paid for. Of course the standard pictures make it look much nicer than it really is. Was only $20 USD a room for the Budget superior room, I should have known what to expect for that price. It's a 500thb deposit in cash, keep your slip or they keep 100 thb. I could definitely see staying here would be fine if you were backpacking, reminds me of my college dorm days. Lighting is dark to conserve energy but overall it is quite depressing. We were a little disappointed in the rooms we had but booked for 5 days. We paid for a days worth of wifi so we could find nicer hotels closer to sukhumvit. My buddy also got a gatorade from the front desk at this time and gave the girl 40 baht and forgot, i must have taken her attention away from that when i asked for wifi, i said id pay for his drink but she forgot to give his money back. Being that he's too nice and non-confrontational he didn't tell me that he also paid for the Gatorade until we got back upstairs. Total gatorade price ended up being 65 baht paid by two American gringos. I went back down later to try to sort this situation up and she must have forgot that he gave her cash also. Whatever, it's the principle I guess. If we have to forfeit our money for the rooms, we will. The pool looks nice. Overall it is generally clean, but this place is not for us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gzill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    36
    7
    15
See reviews for
7
28
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and it is quite a long and expensive journey by taxi from the airport.After knowing the location now i would have taken the train to Phaya Thai and the connection line to Siam ,then the sky train to Wong Wian Yai.Not only is it cheap but quick and regular.The train cost 45bht and the sky train 40bht.compared with 1200 bht for a taxi.It is situated in a side street with local business so don't expect fancy shops.There are convenience stores if you need anything close by.The hotel is more of an apartment complex it is an older building but it was clean on my visit.The room we had was quite large with large shower room and toilet,channel TV,Hot water heater for drinks.The large bed was the most comfortable i had slept on in any hotel.There is a daily maid service for the rooms just hang the sign on the outside of the door to clean.There is a restaurant situated at the rear of the complex and there is a good selection of food at good prices.There is a good sized swimming pool and the gym has good quality equipment for any gym addicts.I would stay there again and use the skytrain to tour the city e.g. Patpong market,Siam centre,Mbk centre and national stadium.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Actually, I was looking for the low budget hotel during in Bangkok. I decided to choose this one which I wish looking good as seen at the picture. Well, FYI, I also consider for the location where I can reach by BTS easily. In fact, I really confused when I try to go there, cos it located not in the big street.

How to reach the hotel?
Proceed to Airport Link Train go to Phaya Thai Station. From there, go buy another ticket to Wong Wian Yai Station, but REMEMBER, you have to interchange in Siam Station before you reach the Wong Wian Yai Station (last station). After that then ask the train officer the way to go "soi" called Sarapai 3. (e.g. "soi" means "street"), so you can know which stairs you can use. Go inside the street, then walk around 200 M (passing 2 Seven Eleven stores)
NOTED: Buy the ticket in the machine ticket. If you do not have a coins, then go to the locket.

I was really surprised. It looks like not a hotel, but (maybe) a hostel. They're applied an eco-green system which was so dark inside. I felt a lil bit spooky for the first time, but I was still positive thinking cos they have an air-con (not only a fan, lol :D). well.. the next day, I could feel homey cos there's a kitchen and small dining table inside room.

Room Tip: No comment. I did not choose the room :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_Tan_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

After taking a flight from Surat Thani to Bangkok and getting to this hotel we were quite tired.
After a relatively quick check in we went up to our room. We had read reviews before booking and had read it is sometimes dirty etc. but as we were on a budget we decided to book anyway.
On first look at the room we thought it was fine, there was a bedroom, bathroom and separate dining area but as soon as we began to turn more lights on we realized there were a lot of alive and dead cockroaches in all areas.
Previously during our holiday we had stayed in a tree house in the jungle so we are not snobby people, we can put up with dirt and insects but this was just disgusting.
We knew that even if the staff were to remove the insects the hotel would still have a cockroach infestation so they would probably come back.
We were really not in the mood to leave and find accommodation elsewhere as we were so tired from traveling but we just could not stay in a room like that.
We went downstairs to complain and the English manager offered us another room but we just wanted to leave. If cockroaches are in one room they are capable of being in all, the management would not refund us but we just didn't care by that stage we just wanted to go.

It is disappointing because the hotel did look nice and has a good sized pool but unfortunately problems like cockroaches will put people off so they should sort it out really.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I only paid 16 Euro per night for the cheapest rooms, which don't look as nice as the other rooms as seen on pictures. But they have airco, wireless and normal things like small balcony, bathroom with shower, TV, hard matrasses but slept very good. The best thing about this budget hotel is that it has a huge outside pool and a small kind of jaccuzi for free use by hotel guests. Sauna and fitness, as well as internet at the corner or via wireless are to be paid for. They also have guarded parking spaces and a small shop at the reception, which is open 24 hours. Security is good with camera surveillance, staff and closed door to be unblocked with keycard.
Don't expect a fancy room because furniture is old and old fashioned, it is clean but it could be cleaner but everyhting is there. The hotel is in a greasy environment with some local shops, supermarkets and restaurants but a bot out of the entertainment areas. But with a BTS Skytrain station at maybe one km away, one could get wherever he wants for about 3 Euro for a day pass, be aware stations close before midnight so returning late is or by foot, bike or taxi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Although this may seem a little out of the main areas of Bangkok it is minutes from the BTS station so you can be in the heart of Bangkok within 20 minutes.

We stayed in a room costing 650 baht a night via asiarooms.com For the price it is amazing, the rooms are spacious, by far the biggest we have stayed in Bangkok on our 6 trips here.

The rooms are like apartments and include cable TV, AC and fan, Tea/Coffee making facilities, fridge, double bed, dining table, dressing table, plenty of storage areas, balcony, kitchen sink and en suite bathroom. Rooms are clean with service everyday and two fresh bottles of water and towels provided.

The absolute best part of the hotel is the swimming pool, 25 metres long and never overly crowded. You are also given towels to use at poolside, which saves using your own and they are clean.

There are other fitness facilities but these are to be paid for as an extra.

The only downside of this hotel is internet and wifi access need to be paid for (150 baht a day, 250 a week). There is also an attached restaurant near the pool, we found this to be expensive and they charged a service charge despite the fact we got our own menus, sat ourselves down and had to go up and order... The only thing we didn't do was cook the food ourselves so the 10% service charge left a sour taste in the mouth.

Couldn't recommend this hotel more, we extended our stay by three days!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem good so no real tip but if you can get one near the pool I guess that is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeaNazma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We travel a lot and, when in Bangkok, we book hotels based on price, distance to BTS, aircon & (if possible) a pool & fridge for our own drinks.

This hotel ticked all the boxes. It's not smack bang in 'central' Bangkok but access is easy. Rooms cleaned each day, pool FANTASTIC for lap swimming and relaxing & great street food outside (turn left upon exit)

Furnishings in the cheapest room we booked were old but comfy & satellite channels a bonus too. If wifi was free it would be 5 stars but for the price we were really happy. We would return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadiedaly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#638 of 866 in Bangkok
24 reviews
Aryan Suites
#483 of 866 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Bangkok 68
#277 of 866 in Bangkok
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buddy Place
#574 of 866 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#313 of 866 in Bangkok
176 reviews
Sathorn
H-Residence Sathorn
H-Residence Sathorn
#778 of 866 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aiyapura Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aiyapura Bangkok

Property: The Aiyapura Bangkok
Address: 58 Krungthonburi Soi 1 Krungthonburi Rd | Klongtonsai, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aiyapura Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly Hotel The Aiyapura Bangkok is a BTS Budget Hotel & a superior fully serviced apartment complex with 135 rooms. It is located in Klongsan with an easy access to the Sathorn Road by the BTS Sky Train (Wong Wian Yai Station) that runs as artery through the city, reaching the various Hot Spot Locations of Bangkok. The station is at a 3 minutes walking distance. The Aiyapura Bangkok has all the comforts of home in a peaceful area, right in the heart of Bangkok. Because we're only minutes away from the business center, fashionable shopping areas, nightlife and as well as all the main tourist attractions, you can spend more time doing what you enjoy most on your holiday...Having fun! It is the perfect choice for a comfortable, quiet and convenient stay. We have endeavored to design all the rooms as a home in a variety of tasteful styles, added with hotel standard services. The Aiyapura Bangkok Hotel caters to travelers who wish to stay with us on a daily or weekly basis for which we provide lucrative rates to suit your budget. Facilities include car parking, swimming pool, fitness center, steam room, sauna, restaurant, WI-FI internet (Charges Apply), 24-hour reception and security service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aiyapura Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing