We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GYMNASIUM HAS BURNT DOWN dirty and full of Chinese smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aiyapura Bangkok
Ranked #619 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We were here very recently. The place is 50% full of Chinese chain smokers in the elevators and rooms (despite the no smoking signs). The rooms are dirty and the showers mostly only half work as they are so old. There was food lying around that staff didn't clean up for the whole time we were there. There are dead cockroaches all over the buildings. The receptionist staff are miserable. Worst more, we only stayed here because of the gym and pool but THE GYMNASIUM HAS BURNT DOWN and may mean that the electric wiring in dangerous in the whole hotel. NOT EVEN 1 green dot but tripadvisor does not let ZERO green dot.

Room Tip: Look for cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Division, Manager at The Aiyapura Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

We truly appreciate for your staying at The Aiyapura Bangkok and for your kind comment. Please be assured that your suggestions have help us grow into a better service. And we look forward to welcome you again for your next Bangkok trip.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

initial impression in reception was it was clean and airy, however opening the room door swiftly changed that. the room was dark and basic and needed a clean,shower switched from hot to cold when in use. after 1 night there i was covered in bites. after the second night of being eaten alive we decided to checkout early. upon checking out i was informed they would be retaining half of my deposit as the room "was dirty". unable to use pool as my hair is long and i refused to wear the well worn cap they expected me to wear. the only decent thing i can write about it is the breakfast was nice and the price fair. just avoid if you can, it is a really poor place.

Room Tip: just don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delilah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

20minute walk from sktrain down rat run road,,very dangerous,no footpath,,not recommened for ladys at night dimly lit,rooms cheap and basic 1000bht,,breakfast extra,,wifi extra,,pool good size but sheltered from sun,,,,breakfast was the worst in 33 years travelling,my cell in berlin gave better,,receptionists where inept,,and best kept to licking stamps,,the area is factorys only area,no restaurants no bars,except iron bars from garage opposite

Room Tip: book somewhere else,unless you need engine parts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stkildalowlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Simple hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are a bit run down but clean the price cant complain. A big plus is the huge swimming pool and fitness center. The hotel is about 200 meters to the BTS through a very busy street.

The in house restaurant is pretty good and price right. They also provide fast and prompt room service.
The area sorounding the hotel is very local lots of good street food vendors and a wet market could be found near by.

If your on a budget and staying long term this place will be good for you. Short trip i would think twicw due to the location far away from tourist spots and shopping.

Due to the staff and rates definitly return to Aiya for a long term stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signature1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed here fom 27th August to 15th September 2012.For approx £15.00 per day it really is good value.Its right near the skytrain station,has a excellent restaurant and large swimming pool.
Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveySmith124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Get what you paid for. Of course the standard pictures make it look much nicer than it really is. Was only $20 USD a room for the Budget superior room, I should have known what to expect for that price. It's a 500thb deposit in cash, keep your slip or they keep 100 thb. I could definitely see staying here would be fine if you were backpacking, reminds me of my college dorm days. Lighting is dark to conserve energy but overall it is quite depressing. We were a little disappointed in the rooms we had but booked for 5 days. We paid for a days worth of wifi so we could find nicer hotels closer to sukhumvit. My buddy also got a gatorade from the front desk at this time and gave the girl 40 baht and forgot, i must have taken her attention away from that when i asked for wifi, i said id pay for his drink but she forgot to give his money back. Being that he's too nice and non-confrontational he didn't tell me that he also paid for the Gatorade until we got back upstairs. Total gatorade price ended up being 65 baht paid by two American gringos. I went back down later to try to sort this situation up and she must have forgot that he gave her cash also. Whatever, it's the principle I guess. If we have to forfeit our money for the rooms, we will. The pool looks nice. Overall it is generally clean, but this place is not for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gzill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and it is quite a long and expensive journey by taxi from the airport.After knowing the location now i would have taken the train to Phaya Thai and the connection line to Siam ,then the sky train to Wong Wian Yai.Not only is it cheap but quick and regular.The train cost 45bht and the sky train 40bht.compared with 1200 bht for a taxi.It is situated in a side street with local business so don't expect fancy shops.There are convenience stores if you need anything close by.The hotel is more of an apartment complex it is an older building but it was clean on my visit.The room we had was quite large with large shower room and toilet,channel TV,Hot water heater for drinks.The large bed was the most comfortable i had slept on in any hotel.There is a daily maid service for the rooms just hang the sign on the outside of the door to clean.There is a restaurant situated at the rear of the complex and there is a good selection of food at good prices.There is a good sized swimming pool and the gym has good quality equipment for any gym addicts.I would stay there again and use the skytrain to tour the city e.g. Patpong market,Siam centre,Mbk centre and national stadium.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
All Together Suite
#783 of 891 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#661 of 891 in Bangkok
609 reviews
Aryan Suites
#507 of 891 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#802 of 891 in Bangkok
27 reviews
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#297 of 891 in Bangkok
356 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Paradise Sukhumvit
Paradise Sukhumvit
#804 of 891 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aiyapura Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aiyapura Bangkok

Address: 58 Krungthonburi Soi 1 Krungthonburi Rd | Klongtonsai, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #619 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £14 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aiyapura Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly Hotel The Aiyapura Bangkok is a BTS Budget Hotel & a superior fully serviced apartment complex with 135 rooms. It is located in Klongsan with an easy access to the Sathorn Road by the BTS Sky Train (Wong Wian Yai Station) that runs as artery through the city, reaching the various Hot Spot Locations of Bangkok. The station is at a 3 minutes walking distance. The Aiyapura Bangkok has all the comforts of home in a peaceful area, right in the heart of Bangkok. Because we're only minutes away from the business center, fashionable shopping areas, nightlife and as well as all the main tourist attractions, you can spend more time doing what you enjoy most on your holiday...Having fun! It is the perfect choice for a comfortable, quiet and convenient stay. We have endeavored to design all the rooms as a home in a variety of tasteful styles, added with hotel standard services. The Aiyapura Bangkok Hotel caters to travelers who wish to stay with us on a daily or weekly basis for which we provide lucrative rates to suit your budget. Facilities include car parking, swimming pool, fitness center, steam room, sauna, restaurant, WI-FI internet (Charges Apply), 24-hour reception and security service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Aiyapura Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing