We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel”
Review of Dang Derm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dang Derm Hotel
Ranked #361 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and picked this hotel as we wanted to be right in the thick of it on Khaosan Road. We requested a room on a high floor and got floor 5 in the middle of the corridor. Noise was still to be expected though, but we knew this when booking to stay on Khaosan. Loved the room, spacious and great shower area.
The guests were a mixture of all ages, not ruled by young travellers, worthwhile paying this price
We only made it down to breakfast once as it finishes at 9:30am. Really wasn't worthwhile, unless you want spaghetti bolognaise for breakfast!
Rooftop pool amazing, not as busy as we thought either, spent our last day chilling out their and it was perfect.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 716emmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

if you're travelling as a family or you're just looking for a classy place,this not...
The room is smelling of mold. Breakfast is terrible!

Goods:

- Great location, right in the heart of Khao San Road.

- The pool on the rooftop.

if you like sleeping... no way :)))

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozbayyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had booked this hotel online to save the hassle of wandering around looking for digs when we first arrived in Bangkok. There are cheaper budget options out there for sure but as this was the upper end of budget or 'luxury budget' I didn't mind paying the extra for a bit more comfort. The rooms were spacious, clean and considering the central location our room was remarkably quiet (we were not roadside though I could imagine that could be noisy). Breakfast was basic and nothing to write home about but it was ok. I loved the roof top pool and terrace with the excellent views onto to Khaosan Road and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 'quiet' side i.e. furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Kitty_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As other reviewers stated, be prepared to pay a 500Baht deposit for the room key (surprise to us). We stayed here our first night of the trip, which was a mistake. We did not sleep well at all due to the close proximity to Khao San Road and the noisy debauchery that occurs there. It was fun to be so close to everything, but it was a little too close in my opinion. We also experienced loud, drunken men running through the halls late night (early morning, technically). The beds are right on the floor and are a little uncomfortable, but not too bad. The breakfast was included in our stay, but was really unappetizing.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from Khao San Road if possible. Some rooms were much louder than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The sign stated they take like five different currency seeing as they only take cash. The lady at the front desk insisted it had to be in Thai baht regardless of the sign posted. You have to pay the room fee plus a 500 baht retain fee for your room key.
There was an information desk with no information and the clerks didn't even have maps of Bangkok to give out. The location is only good for party animals. The noise is going throughout the night and then people yelling through the hallways at all hours. You had to have a ticket for breakfast and for the pool which I think is ridiculous. Laundry services are provided but no slip or bag is in your room to turn your laundry in. Then it says if turned in before noon it will be returned same day in the evening, which is not the case it's the next day. The only thing they do in the room is make the bed and provide towels and toliet paper. They didn't clean the shower or anything the entire time I stayed there. Not impressed with their customer service one bit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolitaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

On arrival at 9pm, the lady was rude and seemed suspicious of our reservation. The guys that we're checking in next to us had had their reservation given away. We were rudely instructed to pay the room upfront in Thai baht. Luckily we took out enough cash to just cover the room. ( there is an ATM downstairs which charges $9 on use).
The room had cockroaches and although I requested the quiet side of the hotel, it was impossible to sleep the Sunday night we checked in and every other night after, especially NY eve.
Shower had mould in the tiles and our room was never once cleaned during the 3 night stay. Meant we had to keep asking for toilet paper.
Best part was roof top bar, which is a lovely place to relax despite the blaring music. Also about 20 mins pleasant walk to Grand Palace (worth seeing) and Wat pho( we only saw from the outside).

Khaosan has no BTS train so we ended up getting taxis everywhere.

To MBK 80 Baht
SUkhumvit 100 baht
Central mall (on New Years) 250 baht (rip off but considering the event..)
Siam square (90 baht)
Airport Dong Meung 250 baht

If had another opportunity I would stay a few streets away from the clubs and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Dangderm for 2 nights, location was great, in the middle of Khaosan Road where all the shopping and local/international restaurants lie along. Room was spacious, clean and modern. The only thing that can be bothering is the noise from the bars on Khaosan road at night. However, unless you will be the one in those bars or you don't have that much problem with sleeping, then its not a bad option. Walkable distance to some of the attractions such as the Jade temple, Grand Palace etc. Great swimming pool on rooftop, they did offers for beer garden as well, which was quite good for value. All beds are on the floor, meaning the bed is super low, so if your an elder or have problems with your knees, could be problem. If you are unlucky, you might come across staffs with poor English, which can be a problem if you need immediate help.

Room Tip: If have problems with noises from the bars at night, try negotiate and get the quite side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#355 of 891 in Bangkok
1,333 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#184 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#643 of 891 in Bangkok
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dang Derm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dang Derm Hotel

Address: 1 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £29 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dang Derm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dang Derm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing