We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dang Derm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dang Derm Hotel
Ranked #357 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at D&D before a few times but they had no room so we stayed here.

The bed was huge and really comfortable. Shower nice and hot and didn't splash all over the toilet which I really expected.

Tv was old however so it's over priced judged on that but does come with a dvd player except of all the JUNK on khao san road dvds are not one to find. Anywhere!

The noise was tolerable. Roof top was great. Pool great and bar great.

Pitty about khao san road now being in the top 10 most expensive areas I've ever visited. $5 for a beer? What a joke. Not even the dang derm is immune they want $3 for a small bottle of chang and $3.50 for a small tiger. Over twice the price I can buy in Australia. Where's the justification? ? Khao sans prices are five times higher than neighboring countries. If you're traveling around ignore this place. It's a trap.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank -Davobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    401
    272
    83
    113
See reviews for
106
367
95
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great location, spacious and clean rooms. Quiet as long as you are in a room away from the road. Roof top pool serves amazing strawberry daiquiri for really cheap. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its value for money at £15 per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayliebrook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked a standard double before we arrived. When we got there they immediately told us that the standard rooms are really noisy because they all face the street and we should upgrade. We decided to check the room first which was lovely and at 7pm, the noise wasn't too bad. By 11pm however, we were checking the windows were actually closed and unwrapping the ear plugs! The noise was indescribably loud!
After a sleepless night and with different staff on reception, we went to complain. We were immediately given a standard room away from the street - same price. It had a window that overlooked the corridor but we didn't care. It was still clean, spacious and lovely.
So, book a standard room but ask for one away from the street.
This hotel is really ice, in the middle of Khao San rd with a gorgeous rooftop pool area. I believe we had the best view of the fireworks on the King's birthday in all of Bangkok!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeegalpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our second stay at this hotel, unfortunately it is not quite what it used to be. It seems 'Khao-San-Road-decay' has got the better of it to some degree. Much of the attention to detail has been lost, breakfast is not what it used to be... however, the pool is still as fabulous as always and truly an oasis in this area, the rooms are big, aircon works fine and the water is warm. Also putting things into perspective, compared to Sleep Withinn (where we stayed at the end of our trip), this place is still fairly good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatJo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

It's a great location right in the hustle and bustle of khaosan road, Bangkok. Night life is great and you can even have a massage or pedicure after midnight!

Rooms were clean however there was a damp smell each time we came back into the room, this might be the lack of air vents in the bathroom.

Don't stay here if you are looking for quiet peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Myself and two friends thought we might as well splurge and stay somewhere half decent for our final two nights of a three month trip. I say splurge, it's hardly extortionate when you book it through Agoda or similar.
It's smack in the middle of Khao San, so perfect location for food, shopping and of course all the drinking (just watch out for the tuk tuk drivers lined up on the road offering to take you place for ridiculously cheap prices - it is indeed a scam! Always flag one down, and always make taxis put the meter on)
The hotel has a lovely (and very well maintained) rooftop pool and bar area which was lovely to relax in.
Our room was gorgeous (air con included which is definitely a luxury after three months), big bathroom with an amazing shower and a hairdryer! Also included was a big tv and dvd if you're after that.
Breakfast left quite a lot to be desired (think eggs, mini frankfurters, non descript pink rounds of meat and cereal) but I don't tend to get up for hotel breakfast times, and there's plenty of choice within a two minutes walk of the hotel.
All in all, couldn't recommend more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Horrible breakfast: toast, spaghetti and salad. Great location: right on koh san so expect the noise and smells of the streets. Close to laundry, 30 bhat for 1 kilo done in the same day. My experience: got henna tattoo and got some ink on sheets. Charged more than the cost of the room to pay for the replacement sheets. Wiped make up on the towel because we had no Kleenex or toilet paper ... Charged for the towel too. Safe in our room didn't work. An inch of sitting water on the floor in the bathroom and the rooms all stink like mold.

Overall, good location but horrible upkeep of the rooms. Beautiful patio too, although you must buy all drinks and food from the roof top bar.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisd609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#342 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#533 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Parc
Dang Derm in The Parc
#599 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#362 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dang Derm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dang Derm Hotel

Property: Dang Derm Hotel
Address: 1 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dang Derm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dang Derm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing