We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Dang Derm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dang Derm Hotel
Ranked #365 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for just one night, the reception staff were quite icy. The room had a musty smell (like damp) but was actually very clean. Wet room was great, the shower had a nice temperature and really good pressure. The pool area is very nice, we got a pizza from the bar and it was really tasty. Disappointed that there is a pool bar but not being used? Not sure why. The area is great if you want to be in the middle of it all. If your on the side facing khaosan road it is quite noisy but what do you expect when your right in the heart of the liveliest road in Bangkok! Overall it was ok and probably one of the nicer hotels on khaosan road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

One star for the day staff and receptionists that were smiling and friendly.

3 days in 3 different rooms - in pursuit of hot or at least lukewarm water.

FIRST ROOM
Musty smell (like a wet basement)
The air conditioner was not working the first night and no hot water.
They fixed the AC the second day and told us to run the hot water for an hour.
Still no hot water!!!

SECOND ROOM
Musty smell.
Same problem NO HOT WATER but now the bathroom flooded. The maid tried to dig into the drain but it did not help.

THIRD ROOM
STILL NO HOT WATER.

We asked another couple however they confirmed that they had hot water.

We will never go back to this "dang" hotel again.

If you dare trying this hotel. Remember breakfast is between 7 and 9:30 which means whatever food is left on the buffet will be removed EXACTLY at 9:30 (even if you are standing in line at 9:30)

Room Tip: The mattresses are on the floor in this hotel. Some people may have a problem getting getting out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of a first trip to Thailand. After arriving at the airport at 1am on a Saturday night, we grabbed a taxi to Khaosan Road where we were greeted by a great street party. Feeling pretty tired we wondered what was going on, but found the hotel easily with the signs and checked in. We were really suprised that the hotel was so clean, neat and quite in the heart of this and absolutely loved the pool on the roof! It was like a little calm oasis in the middle of the business of Khaosan Road.
The bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and room a really good size.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, & was very impressed. We arrived at 5.30am and they allowed us to check in as soon as the room had been cleaned which lucky for us was around 7am, a lot of hotels ask for additional cost for this but Dang Derm did not.

The rooms are clean, spacious, quite modern with a Thai twist. We had a little balcony, and our room was quite. The wifi worked very well in the room. The roof top pool and bar was a great place to chill out, it over looks the Grand palace.

We looked in several hotels/hostels on Khaosan Road and this is by far the best you will get at a decent price.

We loved it that much we have booked to stay for another 2 nights in April.

If i was to crisis this hotel, the reception staff could be a little friendly - however this may be a break down in communication.

Room Tip: Book in advance - the hotel books up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We loved it! It has probably one of the best beds in Thailand (Futon on the floor but sooo comfy). The reception is okay but the rooms are super cool, clean and stylish.
We paid 1250 Baht for a double room (28€) which is really a good price for a good standard in Thailand.

You can hear the base of the music on Khao San Road in most rooms but we slept really good. This hotel is perfect for young people who like a cool pool on the roof top with a bar looking over Bangkok and like to be in "the middle of it" while still having a certain standard.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Skaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the Dang Derm several times in the last year since I have been traveling in Asia. It is in party central and can be a bit loud but the rooms are pretty unique. Lots of hot water and water pressure is good. Couple of English channels on the TV. WiFi works good in the room. The rooftop pool is awesome!! Even if I am only there for a night before I travel on, I go up and chill with a rum punch and a book.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubacindy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I visited the hotel for a night when we landed in Bangkok... The room itself was clean, and the decoration was unique...giving the initial thai welcome..The hotel is located in a very central point.., handy if you want to visit the nearby attractions.. And go out at night.. However this is also it's drawback as it gets really noisy at night... And although we were really tired from the trip we could hardly get any sleep..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#361 of 894 in Bangkok
1,351 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#178 of 894 in Bangkok
1,376 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#684 of 894 in Bangkok
1,684 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#515 of 894 in Bangkok
37 reviews
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dang Derm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dang Derm Hotel

Address: 1 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £31 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dang Derm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dang Derm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing