We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again”
Review of myhotel Pratunam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
myhotel Pratunam
Ranked #480 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never ever again”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Summary: It got to the point we had to tell ourselves constantly "we're paying just $20 for this... forget all expectations". I have stayed in hostels and guest houses before, and they deliver what they promise. The hotel management needs to ensure what's promised is delivered. No one likes to feel "cheated", especially not while on holiday and there are so many other touts and people trying to tell you the Grand Palace is closed, or charging you top dollar to take you a short distance.

The pros: Clean bed, white sheets, clean linen, housekeeping, free breakfast.

The cons:
1. Hotel smells perpetually of paint and thinner. There were paint tins, and housekeeping things were lying all around. I stayed on both the 7th and 3rd floors (re-checked in).
2. My friends opened their hotel door upon check-in, and found to their chagrin a man wearing only his shorts seated on the bed with a lady. They said the hotel staff were getting another room for them, as they were not happy with the room. And reception opened the room to us BEFORE ensuring the couple had another room.
3. Tuk-tuk service was a pipe-dream. I stayed there 7 days. Of these, we only got the tuk-tuk once. Most times it was because "tuk-tuk sick, sorry". A couple other times, it was because the driver was only coming in at 7pm when the sign stated clearly at the hotel front that tuk-tuk service is available from 8am to midnight. The last, the tuk-tuk only takes you to the main road, not to any BTS station, and definitely not plying the Pratunaum market area. The driver says he only has the license to take us out to the main road, and that was it.
4. It is a 5 minute walk to the Phaya Thai BTS station, along a railway track that is still in use, and along quite a number of houses. Convenient, but forget about trying to take the Airport Link and dragging your luggage in. The stones and broken glass on the ground would kill the wheels. At night, walk back from Rathachewi station (sounds like Ratatouille).
5. Walls are so thin I could hear every single word that people were saying from the corridor and their rooms. To make this even more amazing, I am deaf in one ear, and could hear all of that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mouschi1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhotelbudgethotel, Manager at myhotel Pratunam, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Mouschi1310 ,


Greetings from myhotel “a budget city hotel”

Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly regret for any inconvenience regarding to our hotel services.

I investigate your case and found out that our new staffs could not well arrange room right for you. I will make sure my staffs will be trained harder for better service to our customers.

Regarding to the tuk tuk service, now we are recovered from driver shortage and back to our normal service. However, please note that our service is only in pratunam area only.

Please be assured that we understand our service situation now and work very hard to improve our hotel service standard up to our customer satisfaction and lessen the likelihood of any mistake occurrence ASAP.

Thank you for your feedback and understanding. Again, please do accept my apologies. We promised to serve you better, myhotel budget hotel.


Warm Regards,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    83
    92
    28
    33
See reviews for
64
64
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel in May 2012. I choose this hotel because I was going to a cooking school and this hotel was close to the school. 'My hotel Pratunam is in the busy Pratunam market area and ideal for people going mainly for shopping. Although it wasn't too far from the main tourist attractions (about 100 baht in a cab to the main temple area).

I stayed for 3 nights and found it to be ok. The staff were friendly when approached but didn't go out of their way to help. The room was clean and ok for a single traveller (or a couple) but I wouldn't recommend it for a family. The bathroom was again average but had a bad smell and I had to keep the bathroom door closed at all times to prevent the smell from coming into the room. And at night the sound of the train passing was loud at times. As you can see I didn't have many expectations and I'm a very fuss free traveller so these things didn't bother me.

The breakfast was a basic affair - continental and thai. I ate at the cafe a couple of times and they made a vegetarian dish for me. I didn't try the massage place mainly thanks to the reviews I read here.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main road.. I made this walk several times and I didn't find it far or unsafe. There is a free tuktuk but the driver is always busy or doing something else so instead of waiting and waiting for him I walked.

I would stay at this hotel again if my purpose was a shopping trip. My advice is to choose your hotel depending on your interest and what you wanted to do in Bangkok.

Final note: I took the sky train from the airport to Paya Thai station (about 30 mins and 45 baht on the train and 15 mins walk to the hotel or a short tuktuk ride). There are lots of taxi's around but make sure you insist on the metre before getting in :)

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and don't be afraid to voice your concerns if you didn't like it l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was second time to book in this hotel. Since we were staying for just a night and my previous stay was ok, might as well give it another try since the room is very cheap.

I booked 3 rooms and the reason i brought my relatives to pratunam was because of the shopping area. Upon checking in, since we are a group of 7, i asked for someone to help us with our luggages and I was pointed to the trolley, meaning i had to do it by myself!

We got our rooms but the room assigned to me was disappointing. It was the corner room, 414. Just outside my room you can find mop, broom and other cleaning materials, it was a storage without the cabinet. the bathroom was also small and tiles were old. And upon entering the room, it smelled smokey.

There was only one pillow per bed and I tried to ask for an extra pillow but i was told they will check and let me know. No one came with my extra pillow and nobody called me back to tell me that they cant grant my request.

Upon check out, i was asked to fill up a comment slip and i told the lady at the reception about my room, how small the bathroom was etc etc she just said that the room sizes are different and no apologies were made after my complaints.

Oh by the way, the elevator is so small too! There are so many people staying in this hotel and with one small elevator servicing the whole hotel, it was smarter to use the stairs.

After such kind of service, i will never stay here again nor recommend it.

Room Tip: Dont get the corner rooms for superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomimanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhotelbudgethotel, Manager at myhotel Pratunam, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Nomimanila,


Greetings from myhotel “a budget city hotel”

Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly regret for any inconvenience regarding to our staff’s manner and unorganized housekeeping’s stuffs.

I investigate your case and action urgently as per your comment.

I have rearranged our procedure on house keeping storage with cabinet upon your suggestion. In addition, I have ordered to renovate bathroom of room 414 to make it newer.

I will make sure my staffs will be more friendly responsive to customers request.

Please be assured that we will improve our usual budget hotel standard up to our customer satisfaction and lessen the likelihood of any mistake occurrence.

Thank you for your feedback and understanding. Again, please do accept my apologies. We promised to serve you better, myhotel budget hotel.


Warm Regards,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
General Trias, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I spent 3 nights at MyHotel and it was nice. The location is very close to all shopping malls at Pratunam Area and 15 minutes walk to Siam Square. I received a very good service even though some of the staff can't speak English. Breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Try to use hotel's tuktuk every time you go out, it's free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmoon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at the Pratunum for 3 days, I enjoyed my stay room clean, but not enough towels. We came home one evening My son in law had a shower, later the evening I wantedto take a shower, but saw ther where no clean and dry towels, I phone reception to ask for towels. I still dont know what I did wrong but he told me he will phone the police for me, and I have to wait for the next day. I went down to reception, to try and explain why I want clean dry towels, but he got very aggresive I left it at that, packed up and booked in at NANA Hotel, they always ready to help

Room Tip: Rather go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcroukamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhotelbudgethotel, Manager at myhotel Pratunam, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear pcroukamp


Greetings from myhotel “a budget city hotel”

Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly regret any inconvenience regarding our staff not giving your towel and did improper manner to you. We have scrutinized this case and found out that because of his English is not very well. For this case, i have given him a warning and asked him to improve his service for our customers. In addition, our hotel will have a English training class to improve our staff English ability to avoid any case like these in the future.

Please be assured that we will take the necessary steps to correct our mistake and lessen the likelihood of any reoccurrence.

Mr. Pcroukamp, should you visit to Bangkok next time, kindly e-mail to me at yupaporn@my.co.th . We would like to offer you our 1nights complimentary & upgrade stay to Deluxe room.

Thank you for your patience and understanding and we do hope we will have a chance to serve you again in Bangkok “ The City of Smiles”

Again, please do accept my apologies. We promised to serve you better.

Warm Regards,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I've recently returned from Bangkok on May 8 after four days spending at this hotel. I went with my sister (we're from Vietnam) and her six-year-old son. And we were very disappointed with this hotel and realized we made the wrong choice right after the taxi took us there. We were fooled by the good reviews (placed at the beginning of the search) and the pictures on the website.

We want to share the experience now (a day after we return) so travelers can have the latest update about this hotel.

1. LOCATION: Yes, it's close to major shopping centers and the market (mostly wholesale) but we did not know (nor the hotel did not say) it was deep down in a narrow alley. It's located in an area quite poorly looking.

Is it close to Payathai station (linked to the airport)? Yes, but you have to walk through an unused railway track, with people living in dumps alongside. It was quite scary for my sisters and her son. And yes, obviously the hotel just mentions on the website it was a five minute walk to the closest BTS station.

2. WRONG ADVERTISEMENT: The pictures on the hotel's website make the room look much bigger than it was actually. We booked the twin room but was told upon arrival there was no twin room and they put us in a delux (considered an upgrade). The lady at the reception (looking young) was very bad at English (that was why there are basically no Westerns staying here perhaps) and she was very annoyed at us.

And yes the delux was also extremely small. The toilet was clogged. The air condition made a lot of noise. The hotel was going through renovation but it did not say on the website, obviously.

No, there aren't free tuk tuk services as advertised. We requested the tuk tuk driver to drive us to the BTS station (on day fourth) but he refused, saying that he had no license and would be charged 2,000 bahts if caught by the police. But we did see him driving the tuk tuk before for a bunch of other ladies. So we did not understand why.

I know from the beginning that there aren't free wifi here. However, on the advertisement on its website and also the brochure available at the hotel, they still put free wifi.

3. STAFF HAVE POOR ENGLISH AND UNFRIENDLY: We found the staff were quite unfriendly, perhaps due to poor English. When I tried ordering the food from MyCafe (the hotel's restaurant), the guy who answered the phone could not understand me and I think I speak fluently English.

Most of the females at the reception cannot understand my request. We wanted to borrow the hot pot for boiling water but the lady there could not understand, thinking we needed something else. And the twin room does not come with a hot pot for boiling water (to drink coffee or eat noddles as we wanted) - considered a basic service in even a motel.

On the last day, we asked the guy at the front door to payathai station (which was very close) and he said he would call a tuk tuk driver for us. It cost us 80bahts (now I understand should not be) and he took us to another BTS station, not payathai.

Luggage are kept unattended in the small area in front of the elevator. Luckily we did not lose anything but no one bothered checking we got the right suitcases or not.

The hotel was still quite full, probably because it was close to the India and Pratunam market. So maybe that's why they do not need more guests or care about receiving more guests. Oh, and by the third day, I was sick of the breakfast food.

So we paid nearly VND800,000 for a day ($US40), with this amount you certainly could stay in a much much better hotel in Ho Chi Minh City or Hanoi.

So we were very disappointed.



So the value was

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thuhuongle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhotelbudgethotel, Manager at myhotel Pratunam, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Thuhuongle

Greetings from My hotel “a budget city hotel”

With reference to your letter of complain, we sincerely apology for our staff English ability, unclear information regarding to location and tuk tuk services and hotel facilities. We are very sorry that our usual budget hotel service standard is not met to your satisfactory.

As a result of our investigation, we found out issues as below.

Staff’s English ability: We are very sorry that our staff have not very well English so that she did not give you the hot pot as per your request. On this case, our hotel will have a English training class to improve our staff English ability to have better service to our customers.

Location: on hotel website, we have hotel map, located at the end of Petchburi 15. From here, you may need to walk around 15 min. to reach most of shopping center/market in the area. To get to BTS station, we do recommend to use our free tuk tuk to Petchburi 11 and walk around 5 min. to get to Rajchathewee BTS station. Since pratunam market is the wholesales market, our hotel location is around with commercial neighborhoods, which may not have good look.

Unclear information: Tuk tuk free service is provided around Pratunam market only. We have put the area coverage in the tuk tuk but not on Website so that I will make change according to your suggestion. We do apology for that. Regarding to the hotel room pictures, we do use the original picture as same as the other hotels have used and put on website. Our room size is the standard size for the budget hotel standard in Thailand, which is around 20sqm. However, on your incident, our management have upgraded you to Deluxe room without extra charge.

Please be assured that we will take the necessary steps to correct our mistake and lessen the likelihood of any reoccurrence.

Thank you for your feedback and understanding. Again, please do accept my apologies. We promised to serve you better, myhotel budget hotel.

Best regards
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A good buget hotel (motel) the location close to all shopping malls at pratunam area.
Good service, hotel property is not good as at the hotel webside, strategic location and breakfast is very limited

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlbertSiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#599 of 866 in Bangkok
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ten Stars Inn
Ten Stars Inn
#570 of 866 in Bangkok
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Watergate Hotel
Grand Watergate Hotel
#730 of 866 in Bangkok
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pratunam Casa Hotel
Pratunam Casa Hotel
#435 of 866 in Bangkok
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cubic Pratunam
Cubic Pratunam
#744 of 866 in Bangkok
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#314 of 866 in Bangkok
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to myhotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about myhotel Pratunam

Property: myhotel Pratunam
Address: 70,70/1-4 Soi Petchburi Road 15 | Petchaburi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — myhotel Pratunam 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
myhotel is a stylish budget hotel, located nearby hearth of Bangkok shopping center such as Pratunam cloth market, Platinum fashion mall, Pantip gadget plaza, Central World branded mall and so on. The hotel is designed on "simple is best!" principle. You will experience the quality of casual services, simple breakfast, and free shuttle tuk tuk around Pratunam area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your myhotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Pratunam Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing