We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed the show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Cabaret

Calypso Cabaret
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.63*
and up
Calypso Cabaret Show Ticket
Ranked #8 of 33 Concerts & Shows in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“enjoyed the show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you have more than 3 days to stay in Bangkok, then see this show. This isn’t the first lady boy show I have seen so I knew what to expect.
That said, It was an entertaining 1hr. the costumes were gorgeous. I had a complementary drink. Got 20% off by booking through my hotel, yet I still had to queue to change the ticket on my hand to the actual one from the show.
the best part of the show is the location which is the asiatique market plus places were once can do thai and feet massages close to the entrance of the show. i had a 1hr Foot massage( leg, neck and back massage really....i wonder why they call it foot massage) for 350Bhat.

I am not sure I will see this show again. Once is enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tolu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    304
    204
    100
    98
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Yes, the music is canned and the singing is all lip-sync. But the production, especially the costume,s are beautiful, and it is fast-paced and great fun for an hour or so. With the right attitude, it is really enjoyable. If you want a Las Vegas or Broadway experience, stay home. The cabaret style show room at the Asiatique is very comfortable and everything is well-organized. As a first-time experience for me, it was good fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The lip syncing was atrocious... so much so we couldn't stop laughing. The story line of the cabaret was unintelligible. Many of the lady boys were quite ugly and manly. Anyway we thought we would have be better off than going considering the cost and transport to get there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tourist trap! Very disappointing...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Bottom line - Your time and money is better spent seeing and doing other things in Thailand.

The performers lip-synced everything to a pre-recorded soundtrack. The actual dance performances also lacked creativity and were not synchronized at all. We've seen Middle and High School productions that would put this show to shame many times over. We wanted to walk out during the show but had the decency to stay through to the end.

I know many people go just to see the ladyboys. Ladyboy or not, the performers should still be expected to put on a respectable show if patrons are paying decent money to see it.

I'd steer clear if this tourist trap.

Helpful?
2 Thank Swooshjcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hit and miss, but mostly miss. You get a few laughs during the show, but it's amateur hour. It's all about the ladyboy gimmick, don't expect a slick performance. I thought you'd actually need to be able to dance to be in Cabaret, but apparently not. Lacklustre, awkward, and mostly quite awful. There were a couple of shining stars that carried the rest. Poor value for what it is, but I guess if you're in Bangkok and you want to see a ladyboy show you can probably do worse.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Cabaret also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Cabaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing