We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daggy dad has better dance moves”
Review of Calypso Cabaret

Calypso Cabaret
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.29*
and up
Calypso Cabaret Show Ticket
Ranked #7 of 33 Concerts & Shows in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My daggy dad has better dance moves”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Uncoordinated, badly mimed, poor sound quality, boring boring boring. My only regret was wasting my money on this awful show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    316
    209
    103
    100
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's an experience!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked online and got free ice cream while we watched Thai dancing just outside the theatre. Inside we were offered a free drink and sat at a little table. The show is mimed and some of the miming was dreadful but the dancing was incredible and most of the costumes were stunning. At the end of the show the performers lined up for photos which they expect to be tipped for.
Asiatique is well worth a visit. It is a lovely setting at the river and there are lots of little stalls offering a variety of souvenirs, clothes etc and there are lots of places to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheilafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good entertainment”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well organised, very good customer service, and a good show.

Don’t expect a highly polished professional show like broadway musicals however you will have a fun and entertaining time.

Guests get one free drink (limited alcoholic and non-alcoholic drink choice), and an icecream coupon if the booking is done online.

The online booking service is easy to use. Note: they have stopped their late show for a couple of months. Therefore only the 8.15pm show is available at the moment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RochCorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Calypso Cabaret has recently moved to a new location in the Asiatique night market area. We found the whole experience completely trouble free and great fun.

You'll probably only do this once and it is landmark of bangkok's night scene

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Entertaining as usual”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I've watched this show for the third time. The first one when I was a kid (I forgot where did I watched it), the second time was 5 years ago (at Asia Hotel), and the third time was yesterday with my husband at Asiatique. According to the reviews, the one in Asiatique is better than the one at Asia Hotel. For me, it's the same thing. If I'm not mistaken, some performers are the same with the one in Asiatique. I remember the one who sing Japanese song and flirt with the male audience.

Some acts are still the same with what I watched 5 years ago. It's still entertaining looking the way they act and lipsync. It's professional, and once again entertaining.

It will be better if the calypso girls can dance like the calypso boys (with a lil bit of techniques and more power). And it will be better if the announcer can pronounce English language clearly.

You can get free ice cream if you buy the ticket online. The ticket already includes 1 drink (selection of mineral water, hot tea, soft drink, beer, thai whiskey).

Overall, I'm satisfied enough.

Helpful?
2 Thank v_lee_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Cabaret also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Cabaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing