We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #601 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 and have to say it was lovely. Very clean and close to everything. Only downfall would be the lack of english spoken by the receptionist, as it was the first time in Bangkok we wanted some info but we could not get much. Other than that it was nice and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel was just under 300B from the airportin a taxi, plus 75B toll fees.
Reception staff dont speak much english but enough to get by. Room is very basic but clean, air-com worked well, tv had only 2 english channels. Our room on 4th floor was at the back of the hotel, i imagine the front would be quite noisy as it is a busy road and construction work opposite, although it was fairly quiet at the back (some noise of slamming doors but nothing major)
Very good location to walk to Grand Palace & Wat Pho, only approx 10min walk down straight road, quicker than getting a taxi because of so much traffic. Make sure you get a hotel business card from reception or carry the address as most taxi drivers dont know it. Short taxi ride approx 100B to khoa san road. There is some safety deposit boxes behind reception desk, free to rent but too small to fit i-pad, there was some larger ones but were all taken. All in all a decent budget hotel close to major attractions.

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Placed in the middle of BKK. Tuk tuking distance to main attractions and train station but you can also walk if you like. Clean, cool room. There's no need to switch aircon on. Complimentary water and toiletters. Microvawe and electric kettle provided. Nice, friendly staff.
Internet free ONLY in the lounge. Big disadvantage.

Notice that Bangkok lives 24/7. Ask for a room with a back yard view if you like to have quiet night ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartek0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Some friends and I stayed at the Miramar while competing in the Bangkok marathon, and we chose the hotel based on its location close to the starting line. The hotel was basic, nothing more, nothing less. The room was clean, but could definitely use a spruce up. The bed was rather firm, but the shower had excellent water pressure. I did not get the breakfast included option, but we ate dinner at the restaurant the night before and the two Thai dishes I had were tasty. The area directly around the hotel seemed to have very little nightlife. It was around a 10 minute walk to the Grand Palace and the starting line, very manageable. All in all, our stay at the Miramar served its purpose, but I wouldn't go rushing back. There are nicer hotels in Bangkok for a similar price, in more convenient and entertaining locations. Also important to note: As of November 2013 there was night construction taking place directly across the street from the Miramar. Although I managed some sleep, I could hear loud banging at times, and the noise of cranes. If you stay here, request a room that does not face soi Mahachai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BounceMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were on our honeymoon, and we had a flight to our hometown the next day. We needed a hotel that allowed 24 hours checkout as our flight was in the evening, which is why we chose Miramar. A travel agent helped us book a room, and the booking clearly mentioned "Hotel Timings: Check out 24 hrs" (screenshot attached). We checked in at around 7:30 PM, and verified the 24 hour checkout with the receptionist, which she confirmed. In spite of this, we were thrown out of the hotel the next day at 12 PM by some lady who called herself the manager. She was very rude, and she claimed that we were not eligible for a 24 hour checkout, because we booked the room through a travel agent. When we said that we had checked with the receptionist the previous night, she made us speak to her, who of course claimed that she had never mentioned a 24 hour checkout. We weren't even allowed to speak to our travel agent. You can imagine the inconvenience, with all our bags. The rest of the hotel staff looked guilty and couldn't raise their eyes, which reconfirmed the fact that something was fishy. We could only assume that they wanted to check in a huge group of people (we could see tonnes of luggage near the reception), and they wanted to vacate rooms for them.

Bangkok is considered to be one of the most hospitable places, and my husband had lived there for 3 years. He was more than disappointed. This was our honeymoon, and we wanted to leave the city with sweet memories, but our last experience was the most bitter one, and one we will never forget. We felt cheated. We are never going to Miramar again, and we would never recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ipshita_borkakati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Maybe shouldn't be 3 and a half star, but just 3.

We stayed as a family of 4 and the deal (USD90 per night) suited us to have 1 family room with 2 king beds.

The room was clean, and the service very basic, hence I think it should be 3* only.

The breakfast was included and was just OK. There is no pool, not that one was advertised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is at a good location near China Town.
The rooms are good and the staff is really friendly. Especially at the reception.
The restaurant is quite expensive comparing with other places in Bangkok but the food is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam_RM_Koopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#359 of 887 in Bangkok
180 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Grand China Hotel
Grand China Hotel
#366 of 887 in Bangkok
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#429 of 887 in Bangkok
207 reviews
Banglamphu
Sri Krungthep Hotel
Sri Krungthep Hotel
#471 of 887 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#5 of 10 in Phrae
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel Bangkok

Address: 777 Mahachai Road | Wangburaphapirom Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramar Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Miramar Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing