We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Will Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Will Return”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I just spent 14 days at this hotel on the executive/concierge floor. The hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly. The hotel has a charity for Christmas gifts for children. It is wonderful to see that the hotel staff help the community. The hotel is new and many taxi drivers have some challenges finding it, so always carry the hotel address with you in Thai. The hotel staff are well trained. I have only positive things to say about this hotel and recommend staying here. I do recommend spending extra for access to the executive/concierge lounge. The speed of the Internet is consistent and adequate for Skype and any office work that you might have to do that involves Internet access.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sautillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    810
    151
    32
    38
See reviews for
548
989
263
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Two nights turned into four, which I booked on lastminute mystery deal for 3,000 THB net. Checking in was a bit of a pain because I need to re-check in three times because of three separate bookings. It wasn't until the third check-in that they decided that they needed a copy of my passport. I was impressed by the modern look and feel of the hotel, although the lobby area is a bit too colourful and dark. The rooms are well thought of. Universal powerpoints, cables for the tv so you can hook up your laptop. The bed was comfortable and there were so many pillows on it! Facilities are great - 24 hour gym, big swimming pool (although the water is freezing), sauna and steam room. The bathroom on the gym/pool floor is amazing and worth a visit! Daily breakfast was huge and they did change it up a bit here and there. The fresh juice was probably my favourite. The location is great if you like shopping - within walking distance of the shopping centres and a short walk to the BTS. It was safe to walk around at night. The staff were helpful and friendly although a bit clueless at times. The phone call charges were very expensive and they were to local numbers so if you're making a lot of calls you're better off buying a local sim card. There seems to be a shortage of bottled water in Bangkok atm as it's not always available at convenient stores but the hotel were more than happy to provide us with more water free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Ok, it is ultra modern, trendy design and lounge music to be heard throughout the hotel.
No doubt it is a quality hotel - but lets start with the negatives.

It is a contrasting place....
First, it is a dark hotel. All the walls are dark. Lights are low. It was clearly the designers aim and it works, but takes some getting used to.
Second, there is too much light!! Why? Because the curtains dont go behind (or even meet) the walls so impossible to keep out sunshine. A big design fault for me (and many other travelers) who like to sleep in and not be awakened by bright sunshine at 7am.

Initial service for a 5-star hotel was shocking. At check in the reception desk girl seemed clueless. Even after choosing to take the 'club package' (see below) at around $70 per night I was simply left waiting. I had to ask where the elevators were. No direction. No assistance. really disappointing..... However from that moment on I have to say the staff could not do enough, especially of course the club level staff. And the food/drinks available in the club lounds is of good quality.

Rooms are comfortable, clean, modern.

Pool really nice with great views. Hotel spa....looked nice but of course too ridiculously expensive. Does anyone really pay those prices??? Just walk outside 5 minutes to Chang massage. Recommended and about 6 or 7 times cheaper!!

Breakfast buffet looks grand...but as a seasoned traveler it was clearly designed with cost effectiveness in mind and quality could have been much better.

So overall, really nice hotel but not quite enough attention to detail to live up to 5 star billing. That's more disappointing when you compare price with other 5-star properties (for example, see my review of Plaza Athenee). So I cant recommend this hotel as value for money, or for top notch rating.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank boss233811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

New Renaissance in the middle of it all. Right off the City rail and close to everything. The staff is very helpful and with the options at the hotel, you really don't have to leave the property, but it's Bangkok. Everything is new and well thought out. One of the nices and functional fitness centres of any property. The pool area is very unique and lets you take the sights of the city. This was my first time to Bangkok and staying at this hotel made it worth while.

Room Tip: The low number rooms overlook more of the 'downtown' area. You really get a sense of how bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moobs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

the staff are very friendly, i stayed for 6nights and enjoyed staying in new hotel. breakfast is pretty boring to be the same but they provide fresh juice and serve coffee tea and orange juice to your table. the skywalk is very convenient to central, mbk, siam paragon and siam sq. nite time is pretty quiet no hawker around too. taxi is easy to get from the hotel or out at the main road. bts is right outside the hotel to chatuchuk

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Check in little slow, room allocated 15 mins later when 2 hours early. Set back from footpath but I enjoy the walk. Near central world, not exactly close, is misleading. Btw 5 minute walk.

Rooms are nice, on the small side and nice and airy. Poor mini bar. Comfy beds with goody lows, good ac, good channel selection. Average room service with limited Thai items. Gym was very nice and quiet.

Overall good but wouldn't return, better options for money.

International call to voicemail cost something like 180. Let's say that 8 was a 5 and my eyes failed, that's 150 a minute. I expect that charge at 12000b standard 5 stars in Australia, not rooms half the price here. Easily forgotten about since.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We booked this hotel using Marriott points, based on the excellent reviews on this website. We have not been disappointed. We are on our second stay here during our two weeks in SE Asia. The door is always opened for us with a welcome greeting and the staff is always very eager to help. The first stay, we were in a smaller room, but still VERY nice. We had access to the Club Level, which was great. Although the breakfast at the restaurant Flavor was amazing - so much variety. It was too much! :)

On our second stay, we were upgraded to a suite, which was amazing. Huge room and bathroom with wonderful views. And again, all the perks of the Club Level.

One other "average" review noted their mini-bar was not fully stocked. Ours weren't either, but I feel confident they keep an inventory of everything that is placed in the bar. We never took anything and weren't charged for anything. As it should be! This is a Marriott for pete's sake - they know what they are doing! And if something is missing from your mini bar that you would like, just pick up the phone and ask for it.

At the front desk, anything we needed help with, they were quick to assist and always friendly. We liked the location, but a couple of taxi drivers we encountered didn't know where it was. It's in a good location, but perhaps still too new?

A lovely hotel and would definitely recommend.

Since we used points, I cannot rate the value of this hotel as unfortunately, I don't know what the rate would have been. Obviously there are much cheaper hotels to be found, but if you are looking for a really nice hotel, this is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#38 of 858 in Bangkok
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing