We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, chic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #48 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Centrally located, chic hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Bangkok. It is within walking distance to various shopping centres - Central World, Siam Paragon, Amarin and further down to MBK and Siam Centre. The Ocean World is located near to Siam Paragon, while Madame Tussaud is near to Siam Centre. These shopping centres have all the high end designers’ brands, while the MBK is more towards middle class items.

There is also a nearby MRT station – Chit Lom, where you can get on it and travel across the city. It is cheap, efficient and clean. However try to avoid peak periods when it is jam packed with travellers – as with most others rapid transport system across the world.

The hotel is located about 150m from the main road – Phloenchit Road. In between the main road and the hotel is an open space parking lot, so you can see the hotel from the road. The only thing is that you may miss the entrance to the side road leading to the lobby if you travel fast on the main road – my cab driver missed the entrance.

The hotel itself is modernly designed with chic items here and there. The lobby does not occupy too large a space, and can be a bit congested during peak periods eg while checking out. There are sofas at the centre of the lobby, away from the check in counters. Security is pretty tight – all vehicles entering the compound is checked, as well as any person entering the lobby.

I had the 1 bedroom studio – the room was nicely decorated. As you enter the room, to the left is the closet area, to the right leads to the bathroom. The room itself is huge – ample space. There is an L shaped sofa on one corner. The bed was firm and very much to my liking. A wing chair is placed next to the window. The AC was really good – not much noise even at high speed. The internet connection was also fast.

The bathroom is also nicely decorated and huge. The big bathtub sits by the window, and you can basically see the outside buildings while in you are in the tub ... and vice versa, unless of course the vinyl curtain is drawn. It has a separate shower area with good pressure of hot water. The only comment is that the pipe outlets on the sinks are way too low, thus making it quite difficult to wash the hands, especially for a tall person, and even worse when you want to fill up the kettle to boil some water.

The buffet breakfast spread is quite OK – nothing to shout about, typical for this sort of hotel. One thing stands out is that you can have a fresh fruit juice squeezed upon your order. The restaurant is well lit due to the high glass surrounding. However, this also attracts heat by mid morning. While I was there, the hotel had some problems with the AC in the restaurant, so it got stuffy after a while.

I had the opportunity to sit in the lounge in the early evening – there were plenty of mosquitoes enjoying the lounge as well. It was really a nuisance that after a while I decided to leave the lounge area. This may also be due to the hotel ambience which, to me, is somewhat dimmed in some areas. It is not really brightly lit like some other hotels. The walkway to the rooms from the elevator area is another example of poor lighting. Since there is no window at the walkway, or the public areas on my floor, I was totally dependent upon the lighting, and to me, it was very poorly designed.

Apart from these small things, the hotel is OK, and the staff is very pleasant, accommodating and helpful – from the bell boy, concierge, door staff, front desk, waitress etc, they were friendly.

Room Tip: Nothing much on the rooms, but beware when you travel by cab. My friend and I were taken for a ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    796
    147
    31
    36
See reviews for
533
973
258
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My first impression upon entering the hotel was fantastic. I loved the interior decor. The room is well appointed and is spacious and airy. Check-in was efficient but impersonal. Security is tight which is good as central BKK is currently on alert for terrorist acts. Free WiFi (for Marriott rewards members) are available throughout the hotel and I had no reception issue in the room, you can also connect via LAN cable. My disappointment with the hotel began when I returned to the room from my night out after midnight to find the room uncleaned and not turned down (and the "Make-up Room" light was switched ON since 4pm). Secondly, the hotel is stingy with the provision of bath towels. So I had to make a phone call to the reception to request for fresh towels so that I can take a shower and go to bed after a long day. They turned up 30 minutes later with no apologies whatsoever. On the final note, the drain in my room (1604) was making noise throughout the night and I was forced to get out of bed at 3am to rectify the problem (which worked for an hour then the noise resumed and I decided I couldn't be bothered with it anymore). In conclusion, the hotel is good but the service can be better and they need to fix the shower drain issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor as the view is amazing. If you like greens, ask for rooms facing the Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Renaissance is quite security conscious. Guests need to pass through a metal detector each time they enter, and all bags are examined, even if you are just returning from shopping. Once in, the hotel is nice, although I found the rooms overdecorated. but the bed was quite nice, as was the A/C. Those are important things! I also enjoyed the breakfast. I noted that the quoted rates on the Marriott website are higher than can be found. For example, I paid $91 a night, while the website does not have that rate.
The entrance to the hotel is through a parking lot, which adds almost two blocks to your walk. Finally, I left the hotel at 4 am to make my flight. I checked the night before and again on leaving and was assured I owed nothing, yet today my credit card reflects a $63 charge for reason quite unknown to me. That alone should put my rating down to a one star!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Luxury of this hotel speaks for itself...Amazing design, very colourful but not disturbing. The staff is very helpful. Quan Spa is worth experiencing. All in all I had a great stay...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RightWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for over 10 nights in December and January

+ Location: Centrally located in the shopping district of Bangkok with larger and more luxurious malls than we will ever have in Toronto, Canada. SkyTrain (which is very clean and easy to use) is located less than 5 minutes from the front door of the hotel and that provides easy access throughout the city.
+ New and modern hotel; fashion-forward design; very clean
+ Rooms were comfortable and bathrooms were very nice
+ Room service was excellent as was service in the R Bar (however music could have been better; they may want to talk to the DJ at the Renaissance Phuket beach bar as he was spinning some great music)
+ Front desk, bell, door staff all very friendly and helpful

- Far too many mosquitoes in the lobby -- I am not sure why they can`t keep that under control.
- Pool was far too cold to do laps at only 22C. Most lap pools in North America are kept around 28 C
- Walkway from the street to the hotel could be nicer -- one evening a garbage truck was parked nearby which is never good in the tropical heat.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a little less than a week and loved it.
I arrived late to the hotel late at night, and everyone working at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful (I asked a lot of questions). The hotel location is great, right by the skytrain and walkable to various shopping areas.
The hotel and rooms are really modern, no complaints there...although the hallways seemed a little too dim for my personal taste.
The gym was amazing... being able to jog on the treadmill and look out onto Bangkok was great motivation. The pool was also beautiful, unfortunately I didn't have time to take advantage of it.
If you have a chance to experience the club lounge, I highly recommend it. They have a happy hour that starts at 4:30 and ends around 8, which is perfect if you want to have a glass and aren't sure when you'll be back at the hotel. The food on the club level was also really good. I also checked out the breakfast and lunch buffets and was very impressed in the types of food offered, including fresh fruit that can be freshly juiced for a refreshing glass of juice.
Service all over the hotel was fantastic and I look forward to staying here again the next time I'm in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaTravels404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Luxurious hotel, thought modern but very cozy. Bravo, designer!
Rooms are without any troubles.
Girl - consergie was very smart and helpful. We were very satisfied with her advices.
Hotel located in chick district of Bankok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#41 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing