We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel with all the trimings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #48 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with all the trimings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Fnatastic hotel with super friendly helpful staff. Very clean. Nice Chinese restaurant. Very helpful navigator.great location. Great buffet breakfast for all nationalities. Yummy cocktails in the R bar.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bulldogAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,952
    784
    144
    31
    36
See reviews for
523
967
251
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is an exquisite hotel. For a business traveler like me, I look for good service and location when I choose my hotel. This hotel fulfills these two criteria. The service is good starting from when I arrived at the checking in counter. The personalised and swift service completed my check-in in a matter of no time. The room is clean. The strong contrast of colours yet pleasantly coordinated greets me once I entered the room. The comfort of sense was accentuated with the flagrance of room. Not sure what it was, but it was just pleasant.

The location is yet another advantage this hotel has. It is located within the business district connected with a complete public transportation. The covered elevated walk-way provides shade from the sun and keeps all travelers dry from the rain. My walk to the nearest business convention centre had been pleasant and comfortable. For evening leisure, I did not need to go far. All major shopping complexes and department stores are also within the vicinity. Upon recommendation of my local friends, I had a pleasant meal at 'Greyhound', a fusion Thai and western cuisine at Chidlom mall. It is delicious.

I have no complaint staying here and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are on higher floors to have better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WKToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Rachaprasong in April on the first leg of our Thailand trip. We stayed 3 nights and below are some tips:

1. The hotel is right off the Chit Lom BTS station so it's easy to walk to. In fact, I would take the train from the airport to the BTS transfer station and then get on the train to the Chit Lom stop. Very easy, straightforward, and inexpensive. One warning is there is no elevator at the Chit Lom station that we found so you need to be able to carry luggage up and down stairs.
2. The lounge has a great breakfast with traditional American and Thai foods. In the evening there is also an assortment of various appetizers.
3. If you have Platinum status you get a complimentary 15 minute massage. Be sure to schedule it when you arrive. If you don't have Platinum status, you can do an elite challenge if you plan to stay 18 nights in a Marriott within the next 90 days.
4. If you are Platinum, you can get a free gift. We chose the mango sticky rice which was outstanding.
5. Category 1-4 vouchers can be used at this hotel.

The hotel is clean, modern, and beautiful if a safe area and I recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

It was fantastic to step into a beautiful hotel that wasn't anything like other five-star hotels in Bangkok. For example, St. Regis, Kempinski and Okura Bangkok all have contemporary designs (in my opinion) while Renaissance was very different in a great way.

All three restaurants - Fei Ya for Chinese, Tavola for Italian and Flavors for breakfast/lunch/dinner buffets and all-day dining - are very very good. It is hard to find a hotel with all good dining outlets like this.

HOWEVER...

I didn't like the service here much. Back then the waiters and waitresses were mostly trainees who gave poor answers. Such as when I commented in a friendly note that the sherbet ice creams looked a bit melting, one staff said "Of course, it is not a [cheap] Wall's ice cream."

What got on my nerve was the FRONT OFFICE staffs' attitude. They kept providing obsolete or wrong information about restaurant promotions, plus the following incident:

During my stay, one front office guy told me one wrong information and later said he did not say so. I was so angry and asked him if he thought I lied about what I heard. Finally I got to talk to his supervisor who - to my extreme disappointment - took side of him. Anyway things were smoothed out because I didn't wanna waste my energy on this matter.

There was more to this story but I should not go into further details. Let's just say that I like the hotel, the food and if i set the right level of expectation, it will be a pleasant experience.

(I think my stay was in Feb 2010)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I flew in for just a 2 day trip. HAd a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff in the executive lounge went well above and beyond normal service. I ate a wonderful dinner at the Italian restaurant with some Italian friends and they loved it too. I absolutely will stay here again and reccoment it to anyone who thinks of staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor corner room.... great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRadoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Renaissance has a perfect location, close to Central Chit Lom or Central World for shopping. The Lumpini Park is just around the corner. Great restaurants everywhere in the neighborhood. But the hotel itself also has a lot to offer, with elegant restaurants and great food, just to mention one thing. And the décor is really well designed and attractive, rooms, lobby, restaurants, what have you. The breakfast was also great with an abundance of food alternatives. But most of all: I have in no hotel in Thailand met such friendly staff. Everyone greets you with a warm smile and really does everything in their power to serve you in the best way they can. I believe this is the result of unrelenting management efforts. Frankly, you get so much more for your money by staying here than you would if you move closer to the Erewan Shrine and the hotels along Rajdamri Road by Lumpini Park.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott member you get free WiFi. If you are not a memeber, just remind the staff at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

A great value hotel, only a 10 minuite walk from MBK and all the other shopping malls that are a must visit in Bangkok.
It's not a resort, it's a 5 star hotel in the middle of a busy city. Ideal for a city break or business stopover.
Clean, modern and comfortable rooms, which are generally well serviced (I was left with a damp towel on one occasion but not a big deal). The staff are very friendly / welcoming and to be honest I couldn't have expected anymore from a city hotel - Very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#35 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing