We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bangkok and maybe Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bangkok and maybe Asia”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights last week after backpacking the islands and Cambodia, one word amazing!!! Let me preface this by saying that both my wife and myself are General Managers of Marriott properties in the states, this means a few things, 1) our standards of service and rooms are very high (although thailand we tone the service expectation down a bit) 2) we travel on a discount at Marriott properties and we expect to get the noisy room in between the elevator and the linen closet and we are ok with that. We were traveling asia on our honeymoon, and had noted our reservation as such. This normally means little as again we are on a discount, we have stayed at several marriott properties on special occasions but we never expect special treatment for them, again because we are not at full rate. But this place is not your average Marriott. Upon arrival we were greeted by name, with a bow and a handshake, the front desk staff were very accomodating and welcoming, and their service level is worthy of any stateside Ritz Carlton (and this is Thailand remember). Upon arriving to the room we were blown away, i have stayed at some of the best Marriotts on the planet, and the only one that i can think of with better facilities is the cosmopolatian in Las Vegas, but this was right there with it. Huge garden tub, massive TV, real rain shower, soft bed, leather top desk, unrivaled view of the bangkok skyline, well stocked mini bar with beer glasses and all. To top it off we were greeted with a peice of cake saying happy honeymoon hand painted on chocolate, a pleasent surprise that they surely did not have to do for 2 employees. They have cards at the front desk that translate the main attractions from Thai to English for your cab driver, they ensure all cab drivers turn on their meters (a common scam in bangkok), its located in the most upscale part of town, but not far from anything all the sights are a 200 baht tuk tuk ride away. We ate here one night and the food was very good, i also stopped by the bar for a drink before we left, service was fantastic, prices were resonable, and it was a beautiful public space. I say this from the bottom of my heart as a Marriott vet and a very seasoned traveller, this must be one of the best hotels in Asia if not in the world, it would be just as at home in NYC, London, or Paris as it is in Bangkok staff and all. I would put this place against almost any Marriott in the system. To the managment team, thank you, you should be very proud of what your a putting out because you can rest assured it some of the best anywhere. To potential guests, i dont know what they usually charge for this place, but its worth double that, if you get a chance this is a hotel stay you will not soon forget. Thank you for being the hotel highlight of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Schedule some time to enjoy the hotel, yes you are in bangkok, but this place is a gem. Ask for a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,025
    810
    151
    32
    38
See reviews for
548
989
263
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I got off the BTS and hoped my hotel would be close. It was right beside the exit! Doesn't get better than that! The staff was courteous and eager to please. My room wasn't ready yet, so they kept me very comfortable until it was ready. They gave me a great corner room with nice views. I would definitely stay here again if we returned to Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghaisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed Jan. 6 & 7. We'll agree with most the other reviews. This is simply among the best of Marriott properties. Can't speak for the standard rooms. We booked two rooms on the Executive Club level for our family of four which gave us access for four to the lounge. Very worth the extra $. After a day of touring, it was nice to come back to the lounge for a fabulous spread of food, beer & wine, and hard liquor, all part of the package. That level of food and service would have been $200 for 4 anywhere else. The college aged twin sons were in food and booze heaven. Not to mention a night city view to die for. The pool on the top level was hardly used at night and beautiful as well. The hotel is nicely located near the Chit Lom stop for moderately easy access to just about everything in the city.

Room Tip: We'd recommend upgrading to the Club Level if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel was awesome from the moment we arrived. It was our first hotel we stayed at in Bangkok, and they really know how to treat their customers good! The staff was very helpful, the front desk had maps, things to do, and gave good directions. The ambiance was spectacular, with lovely, high ceilings, nice music playing and very pretty decor.

Rooms: The room was SUPER modern and SUPER nice and very clean. The floors were wood, which was nice, the bathroom was very clean with a big shower that even had a bench. The mini-bar had some yummy snacks, and the TV was a good size (not small like normal hotels).

Food: GREAT breakfast buffet in the morning! Tons of options, fresh cooked noodles and eggs, and yummy juices and fruits. We also had room service our first night there (at 4:30am), and it was nice because they were 24-hours and had a variety of things to choose from. Yum!

Pool/Gym: The pool is on the top floor of the hotel and is enclosed but has tons of huge windows open to the outside. It has great views of the city, yummy drinks, and really nice staff. The gym is right next door and has nice, new equipment, nice staff and towels and bottles of water.

Location: Awesome location right near great food, shopping/malls and the BTS (public transportation system).

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to someone traveling to Thailand. The staff make this place even more enjoyable--extremely nice, friendly and helpful. The location was another bonus to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the renaissance from Jan 9-12 and in the Studio suite. Fast check in, smooth move in and loved the room! The bathroom is huge with two sinks. The shower and the toilet are in two separate corners, with glass separating from the sink and tub area. The common wall between the washroom and the bedroom is glass but you can adjust the curtains down. The bed is the standard marriott bed you can expect. Good selection of pillows. The lighting of the room is bright and inviting. The view isn't that exciting but you will get good sunlight during the day.

We also tried the Italian restaurant for lunch. Ordered the set lunch and really enjoyed the soup!

Will definitely come back again if staying in bangkok for leisure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ivy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in two rooms upgraded to club floor between xmas and New Years due to Marriot rewards. The location is great for walking distance to both large malls with many restaurants and skytrain. Our taxi drivers had no trouble locating the hotel which is set back from the road with a strip mall and atm (if you arrive late at night) to the side. There is a bar on the sidewalk run by the hotel in front. The concierge was very helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good and they did change the cooked dishes daily varying on the same theme, chinese and indian as well as american eggs, pancakes etc. Ask for expresso or cappucino as the coffee was quite bad which we didn't know about the first day. The public spaces are well kept and the top level pool has a beautiful view and great bar. Pool water is rather cold though. Only problem was housekeeping was rather spotty so I assume varied by day unlike the Renaissance in Phuket which was beyond expectations. Water was sometimes left sometimes not, wash cloths (sorry my american family likes them) was left on occasion varying from one to two to none but these were all minor things we could deal with. Rooms and bath were very clean and modern as was the whole hotel. Would definitely stay again if in Bangkok again due to location and beauty of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Hotel is located direct to a Skytrain station (Chit Lom - Exit 2) which is definitely an important fact and a big advantage in Bangkok because the traffic is terrible, so taxis are not always the best choice.
Near the Hotel you can also find many shopping centers and some food stalls.
The room was very good, spacious and the hotel is stylish. We were impressed. The staff was friendly and always tried to help.
The breakfast was also good. The swimming pool is also good, you have from there a nice view over Bangkok.
I can only recommend this hotel and I'm glad we have stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#36 of 858 in Bangkok
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing