We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Marriott ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #46 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Upon arrival to the Airport we had to wait 45 minutes for the car we ordered through the hotel. We did not receive a warm welcome from the front desk staff (in fact it was 2 AM and we were treated as if we were interrupting the staff. We had asked for 2 rooms on the same floor when we made the reservation 5 months prior when we were making the reservation; however when we checked in we were told we were on 2 different floors.

The concierge staff was poor and even sent us to the wrong location twice.

The food in the italian restaurant was average at best and again the staff seemed confused and the service was terrible.

I have stayed at many Marriott's and never experienced this level of ineptitude. On the way back through Bangkok we stayed at a different hotel and the difference was amazing. We all left the hotel thankful we were leaving.

I would tell any friends or family to choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Travel-girl5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear travel-girl5534,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay and I would like to apologise for the service delivery that you received during your stay.

Would you be so kind as to contact me on blair.fowler@renaissancehotels.com so I can hear more about your experience? Your comments are certainly not the norm in terms of the high level of service that we are known for and I sincerely apologise for the same.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Safe travels ahead and kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,183 - 2,189 of 3,440 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had wonderful time and stay at Renaissance. Excellant embiance, nice rooms, best part was the food. Me and my wife being Veg we had not much options to eat in other hotels, however Renaissance not only had large verity of Veg but also Indian food. Great job. Also very convinient to reach the hotel just few steps from BTS.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashish Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Ashish Y,

It is great to read that you had a wonderful time staying with us recently. Thank you for your comments about the nice rooms and the ambiance in the hotel. It is also very nice to read that the best part of your stay was the food. Our Executive chef ensures that vegetarian options are always available for our guests and he does make a very nice selection of Indian food available having previously worked as Executive Chef with Renaissance in Mumbai. He and his team will be very pleased to read your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and please think of us again should you travel to Bangkok in the near future.

Safe travels ahead and kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Renaissance is close to the best shopping in Bangkok which can be reached by skywalk. It is back fro the road and suffers no traffic noise, it is well run and the staff are helpful and friendly. We recommend it to many of our friends. The Erwan shrine is also only 5 minutes walk and the sky train is easily reached in a couple of minutes.

Room Tip: All are good. quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robin066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Robin066,

Thank you for your nice review and for pointing out the hotels fantastic location right in the heart of the shopping district. We are connected to all of the major shopping malls by the sky walk which is adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is also right at the Chit Lom BTS station which makes navigating around the city a breeze. We are fortunate to be back from the busy street so no noise can be heard from the hotel.

Thank you for you kind comments about our team of ambassadors and for recommending us to your friends and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Bangkok,

Safe travels ahead and kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my husband. The suite room is very clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is big, clean and fully equipped. Plus, location is superb. I didn't know how to turn off the jacuzzi in the bathroom at almost 1.00 am. and they sent an officer to fix this right away. Moreover, you can go to many places by skytrain and you can just walk to Central World department store. The breakfast had a variety of food. I liked eggs benedict. Definitely, recommend to stay here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iamandyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear lamandyja,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found the room to be clean and beautifully decorated. The rooms in the hotel are beautifully appointed and we do get great comments about them.

Our team of ambassadors are on hand 24 hours to assist with our guests requests and it is nice to read that they assisted you at 1am promptly.

I am glad that you like our eggs benedict and you found we had a large variety of food on offer. Renaissance as a brand have signature breakfast items and eggs benedict is one of those. We offer the traditional as well as our indigenous version which is made with Esarn Sausage, Morning Glory and a red curry hollandaise sauce. Next time you stay try this option and discover something new during your breakfast!

Hope to see you again soon,

Safe travels ahead and Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Was a great experience returning to Renaissance in Bangkok. Very conveniently located, and staff extend the great friendlt Thai hospitality. The candies at the Reception was a sweet delight too. They have different flaours daily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 301,214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Ricky Y,

Thank you for retuning to stay with us and it is great to read that you had a great experience with us again! Our team of ambassadors certainly embrace the spirit of Thai hospitality which I am glad you experienced during your stay.

Our Candies at the reception change daily and are different colours representing the colours of each day here in Thailand. All are locally made from ingredients indigenous to Thailand such as banana, mango and tamarind. We also have them available to buy to take away with you in our gift shop.

Hope to see you in at the hotel on your next business trip to Bangok,

Safe travels ahead and Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week while on a business trip. Friendly and helpful guest officers. Hotel was situated a short distance from the BTS tracks which makes it convenient and yet quiet at the same time. Beautiful gym and sheltered pool to top it up for a great workout experience. 5 mins walk to the famous Erawan Shrine and Chit Lom station, 10mins walk from Platinum mall.

Only negative comment was not many cab drivers know the exact entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gorix23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Gorix23,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip to Bangkok. It is great to read that you found our ambassadors to be friendly and helpful. They are a great asset to the hotel and will be pleased to read your kind comments.

The pool and gym are located on the 23rd floor and as such offer amazing views of the city, especially while you work out. I am glad you enjoyed the services on offer.

Taxi drivers in the city are becoming much more familiar with the location of the hotel which is very easily accessible. The easiest way to tell taxi drivers the location is to mention the Chit Lom BTS which we are directly adjacent to.

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon and thanks for your review,

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip. There was some protests outside but the protests were peaceful and since the hotel is quite set back from the street, it wasn't distracting either. The hotel is conveniently close to the Chit Lom Skytrain station as well. The service was excellent, and the bartender was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank twong_lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear twong_lobster,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip to Bangkok.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the Shopping district in Bangkok and also set back from the street making it a quiet place to be in the bustling city. I am glad to read that you were not distracted by noises from outside the hotel.

Thanks for your kind comments about the bartender. We have a great bartender who is a 4 time Thailand champion bartender. We focus on making great indigenous cocktails using local ingredients which I hope you enjoyed.

Hope to see you in the hotel again on your next visit to Bangkok.

Safe travels and kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#18 of 891 in Bangkok
3,293 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £105 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing