We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #47 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bangkok Hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Another option for Marriott reward guests. This hotel has an excellent location. Close walking distance to many shopping malls and restaurants as well as train system. We stayed at the club level where the staff provides excellent service and can provide any assistance needed. Breakfast offering is good and the evening cocktail hour offers nice snacks along with drinks. Hotel rooms are modern and clean. Overall good value.

Room Tip: Room on the east side gives nice view of sunrise through city landscape if you get a room at the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the overall feel and design of our hotel and that our team of hotel ambassadors have looked after you so well.

Like many reviewers have mentioned the hotel has indeed an excellent location and our club lounge does get in general receive very good reviews on its services provided, the variety of food and beverage daily offerings, its overall benefits and the excellent views the lounge offers.

I like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to provide you with the same experience during your next stay,

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the best wishes for the upcoming Festival Season with lots of prosperity, happines and good health,

With regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    810
    151
    32
    39
See reviews for
550
991
263
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is realy good, 5 mins walking to BTS and some department store close by. The hotel restaurant is expancive than Renaissance Phuket. I went to chinese restaurant and want have their famous beijing duck, but I have to reserve in one day advance for the beijing duck.so pity!!! But i find a very nice Thai food restaurant very nearby.
This was my last 2 day honeymoon trip in thailand, I have mentioned upon check in and request a nice room, the room has been arranged a nice room and a cake has been sent to room next day, this was surprise.
I went to hotel poor every morning and evening, the poor is nice, but the water is extremely cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Congratulations on your honeymoon, I like to thank you for your nice review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the overall design and feel of the hotel and the guest rooms besides the service provided by our hotel ambassadors.

Fei Ya, our Chinese restaurant, is indeed a very popular and an award winning restaurant, and due to its popularity, at certain days depending on the number of reservations made our most famous dish "our Lychee roasted duck" may need to be ordered one day in advance as it takes several hours and dedication for roasting and the chef will not compromise his standards. Therefore it is best to make a reservation at least one day prior for the Fei Ya restaurant.

I like to thank you for celebration your honeymoon with us and we look forward to your return in the future so that we can offer you the same experience,

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the best wishes for the upcoming festival season with lots of prosperity, happiness and good health,

With regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This property asks its customers to review it on TripAdvisor. There was in-room printed requests, as well as, email follow-up I received after my stay asking for a review.

It seems to me that a survey is a better way to gain customer opinions and improve or modify your product and services accordingly. This asking for public reviews is more like asking for free advertising than a customer's opinion.

How many times does a potential customer need to read that the hotel is close to the BTS to believe it? Yes, it's close to the BTS!

I reviewed several Marriott properties in Bangkok from stays in April, 2013, from the vantage point of a Gold Elite Member. I hope that this information can help other Elite Members. Non-elite Members can believe what they have already read: the hotel is conveniently located, nicely maintained and staffed by friendly professionals.

My stay here in November 2013, was four nights. The entire stay was on points and a certificate. I had booked a regular room. My reservation was easily made on a few weeks notice with the assistance of the 1-800 staff. This property is 25K points per night and a category 5, which represents a great value and bang for your buck in my opinion.

While checking in I was advised I had been upgraded to the Executive Level. I was escorted to the Executive Lounge for check-in.

During the check-in process I was advised of the perks for guests on the Executive Level. These perks are more than those received by Elite Guests. Of course Elite Members get access to the Executive Lounge, but guests staying on the Executive Level get some free laundry, 15 minute massage in the spa. Things like that. With the written list of perks, were the rules. My favorite. NO CHILDREN allowed in the lounge after 16:30. So, when the booze comes out, the kids have to stay out. This makes happy hour adult time, like it is meant to be.

My room on the Executive Level was a good size and very comfortable. The rooms was always cleaned promptly after I left and I enjoyed coming back to a clean room. If you want to ensure this happens to you, assist the housekeeping staff by simply turning on the "make up room" light. I enjoyed the nightly turn down service. Now, I don't need someone to literally turn down my bed linen, but in reality this service offers a second daily room servicing. The housekeeping staff while in your room for the turn-down, will refresh the towels, empty the waste baskets, replace bottled water.

I bring back a lot of street food to my room and take a lot of showers. So to have the smelly food containers taken from my trash and my many used towels replaced is a very pleasant offering.

I took full advantage of the Executive Lounge breakfast and happy hour. The service and offerings were wonderful. Breakfast in the morning, high tea in afternoon and happy hour in the evening with open bar, as well as all-day snacks and non-alcohol drinks.

The staff in the Executive Lounge were always pleasant and available to assist. One morning there wasn't an available table for breakfast. They offered me the buffet in the main restaurant as an alternative. I felt that was very good customer service. However, I elected to just read the newspaper in the waiting area and wait for a table to open up. They served me coffee while waiting and made sure I got the next available table. This was even better customer service.

The amenities and staff on the 23rd level (pool and gym) were very nice as well. I spent hours reading poolside and enjoyed excellent service and attention from the staff. Many people were swimming in the pool. So, it might be cold as some reviewers mentioned, but other guests seemed to be enjoying it.

People, property, location it's all great. Believe what you read.

I would consider purchasing a room on the Executive Level, you will get your money's worth!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDavis206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

I like to thank you for your detailed review and nice comments, and I like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your review, which is much appreciated. I am particular pleased to read that our team of hotel ambassdors have looked after you well during your stay and I will be sure to make mention of your comments to the team.

I would like to re-emphasize that the hotel has its own guest satisfaction survey in place which is more generic, which is sent out via Marriott International Hotels, of which the Renaissance brand is part, to our guests via a random selection and you may receive this in the coming days ahead.

Refering to the header of your review, with social media becoming more and more popular for guests to write and importantly to review travel reviews, we do follow strictly the guidelines set by tripadvisor.com on obtaining guest feedback which are listed by tripadvisor.com on its webside.

I have to emphasize that we do not offer to any of our guests any form of rewards for providing any feedback on social media. We appreciate the time our guests do take to write reviews on social media and therefore I do reply to all of these guest replies, or the hotels Director of Rooms in my absent, since we value our guest feedback since it enables us to improve on our services.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and your support to Marriott International Hotels and I look forward to your future returns so that we can provide you with the same experience,

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the best wishes for the upcoming Festival Season with lots of happiness, good health and prosperity,

With regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been visiting Bangkok couple of times, every year, over the last 3-4 years and have stayed at Renaissance all the time. My experiences have been very consistent - modern well appointed rooms and excellent customer service. When I visit, I know exactly what I can expect and the warmth and friendliness of the staff makes me feel at home.

I am in general particular about the bed, shower pressure, decor and cleanliness. I have to say that my stay feels perfect in all these aspects - very comfortable bed, very good water pressure, modern rooms, very clean and bright, fast internet and quick response for any requests.

Being a platinum member, I have access to the lounge and after so many visits, know most of the staff at the lounge and it feels great to see them when ever I come back. Because of health issues, my diet was restricted couple of years ago but the chefs have accommodated all my
requests. It starts right at the top from the Executive Chef Jose who stops by and talks to guests frequently. He has tremendous experience and is extremely helpful. I am glad to have known him, along with the other staff members - Nawaporn, Wachira, Sunipa, Orasa, Chaiwat, Ramphai, Anunya, Jeeranan, Nichipat among others.

The Gym, Pool and spa are on the 23rd floor with great views of the city. The equipment is very new and clean. The trainers are very helpful, especially Sontaya.

The hotel is located in the center of shopping area, walking distance to Siam Paragon, Central World, Central Chitlom, MBK among others. The BTS (sky train) is couple of minutes walk from the hotel. If you are staying for more than a week, you can get a BTS card and charge it for 15/25/35 trips onto the card, based on your length of stay. It is very convenient and less expensive to pay for those trips ahead of time. However, do note that those trips need to be completed within 30 days. After that, they will expire.

For those who love a good chicken biryani, I would recommend the restaurant names 'The Terrace' which is on the 6th floor of 'Central Chitlom' shopping center, which is a block away. The dish name is 'Khaw-Mok-Gai' (the spelling may not be exactly right).

For the best currency exchange, I recommend 'Vasu Exchange' which is right next to BTS stop 'Nana', located at the beginning of Soi 7/1.Have a wonderful stay. The 'Land Of Smiles' will leave you with many great memories...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice and detailed review which is much appreciated. I am particular pleased to read, that you have taken the time to highlight some of our talented hotel ambassadors and they are all truly an asset for us and I will be sure to make mention of your comments to them.

We appreciate as well your support to Marriott International hotels and particular the Renaissance Ratchaprasong hotel and that you have made our hotel somehow "your home away from home" when travelling to Bangkok, that alone is the best compliment we can get from any of our repeat guests and makes me feel proud.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your ongoing support to our hotel and we look forward to your future visits to offer you the same experience,

I like to wish you and your family all the best wishes for the upcoming Festival Season with lots of happiness, good health and prosperity,

With warm regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Location is its biggest selling point. Walking distance to BRT station and several shopping & dining facilities. Breakfast choices are plain but lunch buffet is better. Staff are most friendly and helpful. A 5-star business hotel up to expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for you comments and the hotel has indeed like many reviewers have mentioned an excellent location, just opposite the Chitlom BTS station which connects you with all what Bangkok has to discover and within walking distance of all of Bangkok leading shopping centres.

I am particular pleased to read that our team of hotel ambassadors have taken good care of you during your stay and will be sure to make mention of your comments to the team

I like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return so that we can offer you an even better experience

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family members the best wishes for the Festival Season with lots of prosperity, happiness and good luck,

With regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was floored by super arrival experience right from airport to my room in impeccable experience. The hotel is well designed and nicely located for business and leisure trip. We had conference over here, the entire team worked together to make it a success. Have most pleasant experiences right from check in, to housekeeping doing the room, to breakfast experience and finally the banquet team doing commendable job. Most friendly staff and always helpful the concierge help in local area visit was much appreciated. Staffs go out of the way and are very warm, cordial and welcoming they are always looking to help guests.

Room Tip: Room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice comments and it is good to read that you enjoyed the overall design and feel of the hotel and our guest rooms. I am particular pleased to read that our team of hotel ambassadors have looked after you well, the hotel ambassadors are definitely an asset for us.

Renaissance as a brand signifies a deep belief in "Live Life to Discover" and our team of navigators (concierge) will be delighted to tell you all about the Bangkok local discoveries.

I like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return so that we can offer you the same experience,

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family the best wishes for the festival season with lots of happiness, prosperity and good luck,

With regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

A pleasure from arrival to departure. breakfast excellent and a very varied menu to suit every taste.
The hotel is located very conveniently by one of the BTS Stations which makes for ease of access to the rest of the city and sky train for the main international airport bkk.
Don't forget to bring your swimming gear to avail of the pool or gym on the upper floor giving you great panoramic views over the city.
Lovely all round, staff friendly, room clean, linen clean and fresh each day. Loved the generously sized glass walled shower room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, General Manager at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and it is particular good to read that our team of hotel ambassadors have looked after you so well, the ambassadors are definitely an asset for us and I will be sure to make mention of your comments to the talent.

I like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to giving you the same experience on your next stay,

May I take this opportunity to wish you all the best wishes for the festival season with lots of prosperity, happiness and good health,

With warm regards and safe travels ahead,

Mark van der Wielen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
#38 of 858 in Bangkok
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing