We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city trip to Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
Ranked #43 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Considering a city trip to Bangkok or just a short lay over? Consider the Renaissance at Bangkok's city centre Ratchaprasong. Convenient location next to major international shopping malls, close to the park and sky train station right in front.
Fantastic hotel with great atmosphere, service and customer oriented staff and attention to small details. As as Marriott member, you are being pampered till the very end of your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Every single member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful.
The pool on the 23rd floor was relatively small but had a great view of the shopping district.
The breakfast buffet offered a broad variety of dishes from various cultures (from Indian to Continental to Thai). Waiting time to be seated ranged between 0 and 20 minutes, which was the only downside.
It takes an hour to get there from the airport when there is heavy traffic.
All in all, a large and stylish boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors provide better view obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 484yannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location.
It takes just 2 minutes walk to Chit Lom BTS Station.
Breakfast is delicious and rich in variety but it is surprised to see flies in the dining room.
The room is clean and comfy except there is a mass of hair right over the shower nozzle.
The hotel staffs are friendly and mostly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlanquitaLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Getting there : We took a regular meter taxi from the airport which was quick and hassle free and at a very reasonable 360B. Rail is an option but not advisable if you have luggage ( negotiating stairs ) though it is about 150 meters from Chitlom BTS.

Check In: Though we arrived very early in the morning we were offered a room. Since we were particular about taking a high floor room, we opted to wait for a room to be free. We were offered use of the Club lounge which allowed us to freshen up and have a breakfast before stepping out to explore the city. This gesture was most appreciated.

Location : In the happening section of Sukhumvit - a short walk gets you to the Chitlom Station and the skywalk that provides easy access to all the big department stores ( all within walking distance ). Easy walk ( 10 mins ) to Platinum mall and street shopping at Pratunum. Chatuchak is a straight BTS ride to Mo Chit without any change of trains. Most other attractions are within easy reach by taxi at vey reasonable costs - in fact at times cheaper if there are 2-3 persons travelling together - only downside is that it may take more time due to traffic. Lots of dining options from street food, street food equivalent at very reasonable prices at Siam Paragon Food Court to a plethora of restaurants in Central World mall and stand alone restaurants. I found the "navigators" at the hotel invaluable for advice on all matters..

Club option: Recommended and well worth the additional cost. Open from 6am to midnight located the 21st floor provides a great view and breakfast, high tea and evening drinks and cocktails with enough finger food to see you through dinner. We were always made to feel welcome.

Room : Comfortable with all required amenities - the quality of bed linen was exceptional which always helps provide a good nights rest.

In short a great place to stay !

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gurgaonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After many weeks in S.E. Asia this place made me feel like home. The cleanliness of this place is impeccable. The staff were more than helpful. They helped me located some places to have fresh squeezed vegetable juice. Super fast internet connection. Yes this is a big time hotel so don't expect the boutique style stay but amazing place. The beds are perfect. Extremely nice decor and leaves you feeling refreshed.

A++++++

Room Tip: Try to pick one with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is very centrally located, right in front of the train station. You can walk nearly to all the big malls in Bangkok. They served lavish breakfast with so many options. Since there's not many cafe outside the hotel, taking the breakfast is a must.

The room was very good. Good internet connection. Nice bathroom. It is pretty average sized room but the glass wall makes it look quiet spacious.

However, as I arrived pretty late but before midnite, no one welcomed us at the lobby, we have to wait for a few minutes before someone appeared on the hotel desk. No one show us our room like other 5 stars hotel. Maybe we arrived at the wrong timing.

On one of my 3 days stay, i have to call for the housekeeping to clean my room and that was after 2pm. No welcoming drinks, no complimentary fruits. Therefore, for a 5 star hotel, i would rate this hotel as average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank zalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkvanderWielen, Asst. Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear zalss,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about our hotel during you recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that you like our location, our breakfast, our room, and our internet.

However, it's quite sad to hear that your experience at check in didn't meet your expectation. Also our housekeeping service that we didn't manage to get it done before 2pm.

Please be informed that our management team is aware of the incidents and we have taken them very seriously. We appreciate your comments so we know what we are doing well and what we need to improve. We ensure you that we will take the necessary steps to improve our service as you mentioned this is a 5 star hotel.

Please let us welcome you back to Bangkok and our hotel in the future. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Thanida P.
Asst. Director of Rooms Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is set back from the main road and behind another building so it's a short walk to the BTS which is a godsend when traffic is backed up.

We checked in late and they ran out of non-smoking rooms, so we had to switch rooms the next morning. We were out most of the day and when we came back, our luggage had been transferred to the new non-smoking room. Great service there. House keeping staff seem to like depriving us of towels. They took away the hand and face towels and didn't replace them so had to request at the reception which had towels sent up promptly. The following day, we were missing face towels again.

Beds were very comfy and I slept well on all nights. Spacious bathrooms have see through - glass walls. Thankfully there are electrically operated blinds.

There is a tiny fridge with beverages in it. There is a price list for the items. No microwave in the room so was not able to warm up any snacks, though the bellboy said the room service kitchen would warm up food on request. Electric kettle available for making hot beverages.

Weighing scales were provided in the room which is thoughtful and we needed to weigh our luggage to make sure we didn't buy too much while shopping. Battery for the scales needed to be replaced and they came very promptly.

Lobby staff were always helpful and courteous and we enjoyed our stay. Would have rated 5/5 if we did not have to endure the strong smell of smoke the first night. Room was prepaid 2 weeks in advance and they should have allocated a non smoking room prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deepslumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 896 in Bangkok
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £86 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing