We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapphirtel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sapphirtel Inn
Ranked #758 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst ever hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I travel the around the world about half a dozen times a year and have been to amazing places and great hospitality and nothing would ever take me back to this hotel. When I arrived I was checked into a corner room which was virtually falling apart. The lift did not work correctly, there were "frozen" ants or bugs in my fridge and the place looked like it belonged in the ghettos of Silom Road, Bangkok. A dirty room in a dirty hotel with food that looked and tasted like rubber. The only upside to this place was the location. The rooms were noisy you could hear people flush and do all sorts of things in the toilet next door. We had booked it as a group booking and were planning to stay only for a couple of days after being "recommended" by one of the people in the group. Though we had booked for 2 nights with a gap for a trip up north, (which was cancelled due to flooding), we ended up having to stay in Bangkok for another night. In the morning, we were told we will need to have room reshuffles and I was asked to share a room with another person in the party which I declined. In the morning whilst I asked for confirmation of room arrangements, they assured me that everything was going to be okay. When we got back in the eveing after a really big day at the jewellery show, I asked for the keys and what was happening to the room that was pre allocated. The guy at the reception spoke almost no English and had no idea what was going on. They made us wait for 15 minutes whilst they served other customers and when I asked the reception who did speak some english, she made no comment and was trying to avoid any questions I had about the room. When confronted on 3 occassions, she said that it was the owners issue and she could not call him because he left his phone behind at the reception. Apparantly he had not told the staff the arrangements before he left. I then asked her what was happening and she chose not to response. Therefore no apologies, no response, haughty rude behaviour and most of all exceptionally unhelpful and made it feel like it was our problem. After 1/2 an hours of just disgusting behaviour, I went upstairs and packed my things and let the rest of the group know that I was not paying another dollar for terrible service and terrible accomodation. All I did was walk another 2 minutes down the street, met a courteous, well spoken and clearly empathetic young man from Narai Hotel who said that they had a boutique hotel just next door, priced slightly higher but can I tell you, it has the best service, great clean decor and good amenities. Most of all internet wifi was free and the room was quiet. After a horrendous few days, I am thankful that I have ended up in a better place after all.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go somewhere else. Try Triple Two Silom down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    12
    0
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I've stayed at Sapphirtel Inn 2 or 3 times a year for the past 5 years.
I like it's small size, personalized service, clean rooms and central location. The friendly staff always go out of their way to sort out even the smallest problems.
There were problems with my room this time. The top floors are undergoing a complete refit which resulted in problems with water leaks, television reception etc but all was sorted when my room was changed to the opposite end of the building from where the builders were working. Work on these floors is close to completion so a room on the 6th or 7th floor will be the best option if booking from August 2011.
Best to book online. Staff offer the tarrif as stated by the owner and do not have acces to the online agents rates.
They are hoping to have free Internet in the rooms soon and it is available now from their computers downstairs. I bought a data sim for my IPad at the airport on in the arrivals level 2 from AIS. This worked well but was slow and very flakey when there was heavy rain. I supplemented with the hotel wifi when necessary. Don't expect speeds like those available in Europe and the US. Thai broadband is slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPorteus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This was not the best hotel in the world, but for Bangkok, it was good value. Our room was a little tired, but this was made up for with a comfy bed, decent view, and helpful staff. Our air-con started to leak, but they were up quickly to fix it. The breakfast was fine, but we did skip it a couple times because the food in Bangkok is so good! We thought it was fine for the three nights we were there, and found the location to be great. It is on a Soi just off Silom Road, so the Skytrain was close and the area was safe.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

I found this hotel after searching for a better hotel as close to some SkyTrain station.
First advice: book through internet, because I walked in there and the guy asked a price 150 bhat more than listed online. He told me "we have few promotional rooms" !! :) I came back to my old hotel booked online and shifted there. So, their prices vary a lot, but to stay competent they can't raise much.
Also ask for one with better view on higher floor. You'll get a nice view from the large wall-wide windows, room was large spacious, bath room was clean and decent. There's mini fridge you can keep your stuff (I didnt use their content in minibar)
I'd rate it 4.5 out of 5.

Their attached restaurant is crappy and open for very short time. But you wont mind there are better places to eat out there. Their small internet cafe often didnt work, again theres internet just outside open till 11pm. So ... if you got a positive attitude and not the kind who always complain about everything, you'll love this place and hotel :) Its close to some good nightlife area and shopping.
And the most important part for which I liked this hotel, the staff was nice enough to listen to my custom request. The air-condition goes off as soon as you leave the room and takeout the key card from its slot. But when you return the room is so hot and humid and takes long to cool after you insert the key to turn on main switch. When I explained this, and old man from hotel staff came and fixed this by providing a dummy card which solved my problem. I replaced that everytime I went outside. They were not bound to accommodate such request of mine (I wanted the air-condition on even while I was out of hotel), given it would increase their electricity bill, but thanks to them they helped me. I kept the air-condition turned for continuous 5 days of my stay.

I stayed there for 5 days. I think its not costly, specially if you are not alone.
Enjoy !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avikpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Me and my Friend visited in early Jan, stayed about 4 nights. The images on the website look fresher than the rooms actually are. However in saying that, the rooms were amazingly clean, and bathrooms (big issue for us) we up to standard. Sure the water temp/force wasn't that great, but it was better than some of the other places we stayed.
The one thing I must acknowledge though, is the SERVICE. The staff are so helpful. they let us make international calls, use the internet, and eat for free when we ran into some trouble regarding a tourgroup who left us behind- and thus ruined our day. Very thankful to them.

Location is good, close to the skytrain, and other big malls etc. And very quiet, infact it seems a bit dodge now- but we didn't see any other people there but staff.

All four of us would recommend this place and def return

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerBanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

I have stayed at Sapphirtel Inn in Soi Silom 22/1 Silom Road, Bangrak 4 times and am about to return. On my first stay in 2007 the room was a little tired but since then the rooms have been clean and well maintained at all times. Minor problems with hot water and Air con were fixed within 2 hours.
Run by a family who are friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to help with any request. Internet connection is cheap and has reasonable speed.
Hotel is quiet at night. Basic breakfast is included.
Position is perfect for my business as well as a holiday place in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPorteus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Silom Avenue Inn
Silom Avenue Inn
#696 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#426 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#512 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Silom
Nantra Silom
Nantra Silom
#630 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#193 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphirtel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphirtel Inn

Property: Sapphirtel Inn
Address: 282-282/1-2, Soi Silom 22/1 | Silom Road, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphirtel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sapphirtel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing