We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”
Review of De Arni Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Arni Bangkok
Ranked #446 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 16 March 2013

a great little hotel. if you are looking to be on top of the night market, this is it, right across the street. after a ruined reservation at the Siam Heritage, walked here for a room and was warmly welcomed. despite walk-in, rate was very reasonable. room large, with a private balcony, sitting area, comfy bed, and plenty of space all around. old CRT TV, but one can always watch TV at home. bathroom also large, good water pressure, shower with glass sliders (no moldy curtains here). everything meticulously clean. staff's friendliness is outstanding even for Thai standards. breakfast buffet more than adequate, in a pleasant restaurant. wifi was strong and reliable, and unlike other reviewers, cannot confirm that furniture or bedding was in any need of repair, all looked pretty new.

can only highly recommend to those who'd rather pay a third the going rate for the Meridien next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

good locaton
nice rooms
cheap prices
friendly staff
only complaints, room smelled full of smoke
mould shower curtain
very handy to shops, eating, bars, etc.
5 minute walk to skytrain
taxis and tuk tuks at the door

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

A small hotel relative to other hotels in the area, de arni is conveninently located close to shops and metro/skytrain. I stayed there only for a one night stopover, and it was more than adequate for that purpose. Room with a kingsize bed on the top floor was very well appointed. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. A great affordable option for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Plus points: Friendly and helpful staff, generally clean and spacious room, free wi-fi in room, cable tv channels cater to both foreigners and locals, a good value-for-money hotel. good location - close to BTS and MRT stations, convenience stores, nightlife venues, restaurants and street food stalls.
Minus points: Shows sign of age (4 years) especially the furnitures (will need to be reupholstered) and bed linens have holes and/or threadbare, sometimes wi-fi signal unreliable, AC rattles noisily sometimes, room facing the main street can be quite noisy. No swimming pool.
Despite the minus points, De Arni is acceptable and can be recommended without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms at back (not facing Suriwong Road) is quieter but a bit drab. If you don't mind the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ModernDayNomadFoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

a fastidious guest will sooner or later notice that some areas of the room speacially the bathroom are not as clean as they appear to be. a few of the housekeeping staff (that means not all) do a lackluster job - i observed them work a few times to be objective about this comment...

now the good points: excellent location - a few steps away from patpong night bazaar, "little tokyo" road, silom soi, and less than a ten minute walk to the nearest BTS (mass transit system) station "sala daeng". surawong road itself where the hotel is located is pepper-potted with restaurants, massage houses, street food stalls (specially evenings) and other business establishments. taxis are easily hailed right at the hotel's doorstep. the more popular shopping areas are between 60 & 70 bahts away by cab.

rooms are done simply, glass windows allow plenty of natural light, wi-fi and flat TV with twenty channels. the bed just right for my liking - firm with enough back support.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coltranedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have spent 3 night in this hotel, and would gladly return there.
The main advantages of this hotel: Great location - 2 minutes walk from Patpong, Stuff are very friendly, polite, and well speaking English ,Large Room, Very good bathroom (bathtub, good stream of hot water), good breakfast.
The only minus I found: The mattress is too stiff for my taste. On the other hand - I did not find yet in Bangkok a soft mattress in any of the hotels I was in - I guess this is their taste in BKK...

Let's start with the room: It gives a spacious feeling - large bed, a small tble with two chairs and a large desk. My room was facing the main street of Surawong Road, but was quite, and there was no noise from the main street. The bathroom was nice - big enough, large bathtub that could fit two people together ;) and hot strong stream of water.Room also have a new LCD TV (I think 32") but not too many stations to watch.

Location: It is adjacent to the Le Meridian Hotel (If coming from Rama IV - It is right after the Le Meridian) - So if the taxi Driver don't know to find it, tell him to go to Meridian which is very big hotel. Patpong is about 2 minutes walk, BTS is 5 more minutes. You can always find a Taxi near the hotel, as this is the main road and Taxi pass there all the time.

Staff: Very very friendly, and well speaking English. First morning, I came down at 10:10 and asked about breakfast times. The reception clerk said it is between 7-10 but said wait a second, called the dining room, and told me - you can go there now (although 10 minutes after closing time). Came there, and although it is a buffet - they told me take my time, eat as much as you want, do not hurry. When I had to check out, I asked for a late check out, since I was supposed to leave to airport only at 9PM and wanted a shower before I leave to the long flight. They could offer a late checkout of 2 PM, or to stay until 6 PM and pay a half day price, of their minimum promotion rate - either stay at my standard room and pay 1000 BHT, or move to a single room and pay 650 BHT.

Breakfast: Surprisingly low price: 230 BHT for a buffet breakfast - more or less same as you will find in the street restaurants... You get two eggs prepared for to your request (fired, scrambled, omelet with bacon, tomatoes, onions according to what you choose), toast, yogurt, jelly, variety of corn flakes, bacon, and more and more. Also have Thai style food (fried vegetables, rice, soup) - I enjoyed the breakfast and ate there the 3 mornings I had.

So in conclusion - I was very happy from this hotel - The only reason it didn't get a 5 points grade is the mattress is too stiff for my taste. But if this is how you like it - consider it as 5 points grade! It definitely has an excellent value for the price it takes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This lovely new little boutique hotel centrally located is a delightful find. Scrupulously clean, everything in good order and condition and the most helpful, nice and courteous staff we've ever found in many years of travel. We loved it so much that we'll be making this our base for each of our subsequent trips to Bangkok.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor facing Surawong Road but it was very quiet so I don't think it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 891 in Bangkok
908 reviews
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#236 of 891 in Bangkok
903 reviews
Silom
Le Siam Hotel
Le Siam Hotel
#262 of 891 in Bangkok
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#449 of 891 in Bangkok
267 reviews
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#266 of 891 in Bangkok
509 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Arni Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Arni Bangkok

Address: 68 Surawong Road | Si Phraya Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £34 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Arni Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Arni Bangkok is the newest boutique hotel located on Surawong Road (Patpong and Silom Area, a short walk to skytrain or subway only 5 minutes by walking). The location is in the prime area of Night Market Patpong and Suanlum Night Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Arni Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing