We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Ranked #361 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not the worst”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Arrived at the airport in the morning but the arrival was jam. I've paid for the shuttle service and was afraid it had already went off. However, they are still there even I was late for 30 mins. This leave a good impression of The Cottage.

The frontdesk staff was friendly and polite. Every morning they will open the door and greet me without fail. They thought I am Korean and even greet me in Korean which make me laugh out loud. The taxi driver from the hotel was friendly too. House-keeping staffs were nice too. They cleaned my room nicely and asked if I am happy with their cleaning. Generally, their customer service is up there. Thumbs up!

The only disappointing thing is their location. It is convenient to Paseo Community Mall and the airport but far from the city. Taxi drivers from the city tried to rip me off by asking 400 to 500 baht back to The Cottage.

Overall The Cottage is a comfortable place with a cozy feeling. I will rank it positive other then the location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaceDarren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear JaceDarren K:

Greetings from The Cottage Suvarnabhumi. I would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you during your stay and that you had a memorable time and that you had quite a few great laughs with our staff.

Do not worry about the delay as it is our job to wait for your arrival and transfer you to the hotel safe and sound. I am also delighted that Housekeeping department arranged the room up to your standard along with checking up on your satisfaction. Although I am sorry the taxi driver from the city tried to avoid the meter service and attempted to charge you wholesale.

Overall, I hope the accommodations and service you experienced fits your liking and that you were satisfied as our motto is “We provide beyond your satisfaction!”

Please note that any dissatisfaction regarding your stay I apologize for and that you may inform me therefore we will improve for your next stay. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,



Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    253
    169
    49
    27
See reviews for
97
247
94
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
steambaot springs co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel was very nice in itself. I decided to stay here after traveling around Thailand for a month because it was close to the airport. Well that was all it was close too! the taxi driver from the hotel charged me 1,800 Baht for a ride into town and back. That is completely unreasonable, the following day I took a different metered taxi and took the air-train, in quicker time and was only charged 600 baht both ways. They charge you for internet usage by hour, if you don't log out on their site it continues to use your internet time. As I'm waiting for my airport shuttle now I decided to write this review because I was just charged 300 Baht for a dirty towel in my room. They told me that I could keep the towel, but what need do I have for a dirty towel. Out of all the hotels I stayed at in Thailand this was the most disappointing to me. I wasn't charge for such things at any other place that I had stayed in the 30 nights I was in Thailand. Take my advice stay closer to the city, you wont regret it and you'll def get your moneys worth. Not a good way to end my trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Katherine m
Thank you for the critical critique. Your comments are important to us and I thank you for informing us therefore we will take into improvements as we try to provide beyond your satisfaction. I am extremely disappointed about what happened and that you are not satisfied.
The round trip taxi into the city is considered a tour price and that they are to help you avoid getting lost or confusion on your way around. This prevents our hotel guests from getting lost or being confused with Bangkok directions not to mention there may not have been an English speaker out there to assist and comprehend guests. Such case has happened before therefore a lot of guests prefer tour counter.
The internet package in this hotel indeed is not included into the room charge as the booking website you’ve booked from state “charges apply”. Some hotels that do not have charges may have used a different system from ours in which our hotel internet packages is separated by floors. Sharing Wi-Fi throughout may reduce internet speed not to mention non hotel guests may have access and slow down your connections. Logging out of your internet package will actually save you usage time and that you may restore your session.
The towel that’s been charged is considered not washable or restored and could only be replaced with new ones as the one guest used is allowed to keep.
A department meeting has been arranged and all stated details from your critiques have been discussed and that we will improve your satisfaction.

I would like to personally discuss more details with you as we will take it into improvements of any mistakes. Please contact me at fom@thecottagebangkok.com

Once again thank you for comments and I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely yours,
Shawn Siriwatana
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Only planned to stay one night but I stayed two after a 13hour sleep.clean quit comfortable.next time I have to travel through Bangkok will defiantly be back to the cottage with airport transfer so if you are looking for some were to stay close to the airport this is a hotel for you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank buddlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear TomBaul:

Greetings from The Cottage Suvarnabhumi. I would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you during your stay and that you had a memorable time.

I hope the accommodations and service you experienced fits your liking and that you were satisfied as our motto is “We provide beyond your satisfaction!”

Please note that any dissatisfaction regarding your stay I apologize for and that you may inform me therefore we will improve for your next stay. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,



Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Arrived on a morning flight into Bangkok, so needed to check-in around 8am and had made no special request in advance. Nevertheless, I was put straight into a room. It had excellent wi-fi, a big comfy bed and was spotless. Just what you need after a long flight. Had a swim in the afternoon which was pleasant enough and a beer on the balcony. Good room service. All very welcoming and comfortable, which makes getting over jet lag a bit easier.
I found the airport transfers okay. To be fair, the rep took a while to find in the airport. But, if you ask at an information desk they point you to him. He took my bags loaded it up and I was straight on my way. All very smooth and efficient and a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomBaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear buddlefish

Greetings from The Cottage Suvarnabhumi. I would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you during your stay and that you had a memorable time.

I hope the accommodations and service you experienced fits your liking and that you were satisfied as our motto is “We provide beyond your satisfaction!”

Please note that any dissatisfaction regarding your stay I apologize for and that you may inform me therefore we will improve for your next stay. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,



Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

1.The airport transfer person was not there to pick us up at the first place, however when he turned up after 20 minutes of waiting, he did not have our name listed on his list. He made us wait for another 15 minutes, and it was only after we threatened him to catch a taxi, he arranged us a car.
2. People at the restaurant hardly spoke any English and ordering from the menu was as difficult as kissing your elbow. Later on when I ordered an English breakfast tea for room service, I was given earl grey tea with no sugar or milk.
3. If you think this was enough to make it a journey that left a bad taste in our mouth, you would be wrong, because the worst was yet to come. We had requested an airport transfer next day in the morning at 8-30 am. Next day, they started calling us from 7 am that our taxi was ready to go when we. Needed, and by 8-30 am they had called us 6 times. They even knocked at our door several times to ask us out. When we reached the airport, we realised that all this fuss was because they had to pick up some other passenger at around the same time.
If I have to rate their service out of ten I would not be able to give them more than one, that too one for giving us the room. In totality, it is just a place to sleep in for the night, however their poor service and shear lack of customer satisfaction makes them a place worth not to be associated with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HnMtripdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear HnMtripdiary

Thank you for the critical critique. Your comments are important to us. I am sorry you experienced little satisfaction during your stay.
I have investigated what happened.

1. The information counter at the airport informed my staff that our guests are waiting at Floor 2 Gate 3. The standard picking up area for hotels is Floor 2 Gate 4 next to the AOT booth. Indeed we did not have your name on the list because we did not receive your flight detail. We then inform our staff to go find you at your current location. The hotel shuttle takes approximately 15 minute to the airport as it is traffic hour late afternoon before evening.

2. The restaurant staff did speak English lower than expected and I agree and apologize on that part. An English training has been scheduled on a weekly basis and I am disappointed this did not happen before.

3. Your airport transfer was scheduled for 8.30am and that your wake-up call was at 7.00am. The airport shuttle departs at each schedule half hour. Late transfer would result in catching the next shuttle at a later time in which may result in catching flights. Staff will only knock on guest’s door when approaching transfer time and that guest have not come down for a check-out. At the airport there was a guest waiting to be picked up. This guest did not inform us of their flight number as well. Departure guests are to be dropped off first before picking up arriving guests.

I would like to personally discuss more details with you and answer any questions. You may contact me at fom@thecottagebangkok.com

Once again your critiques are important to our improvements.

Sincerely yours,
Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Not large rooms but a good place for an airport stopover. Only a 15 minute 75 baht taxi ride from BKK. Located in a quite area so sleep is no problem and the price is right. Staff was friendly and speak good English. Did not try the breakfast but it looked good.

Room Tip: It's a quite area so any rooms should be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BongoSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear BongoSlave:

Greetings from The Cottage Suvarnabhumi. I would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you during your stay and that you had a memorable time.

I hope the accommodations and service you experienced fits your liking and that you were satisfied as our motto is “We provide beyond your satisfaction!”

Please note that any dissatisfaction regarding your stay I apologize for and that you may inform me therefore we will improve for your next stay. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,



Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while transiting through Bangkok. Check In and Check Out process was super quick. We pleased with cleanliness and everything in the room was functional. We ask for 4:00 a, wake-up call and 5:00 am shuttle bus service. Both arranged as per our request. They have nice little swimming pool and restaurant to eat. Front desk staff was very friendly. It took less than 10 mins to airport in early morning.

Room Tip: Let them know the pick up time and drop off time in 24 hours advance to arrange shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage S, Front Office Manager at The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Pankit S:

Greetings from The Cottage Suvarnabhumi. I would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you during your stay and that you had a memorable time.

I hope the accommodations and service you experienced fits your liking and that you were satisfied as our motto is “We provide beyond your satisfaction!”

Please note that any dissatisfaction regarding your stay I apologize for and that you may inform me therefore we will improve for your next stay. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,



Shawn Siriwatana
Front Office Manager
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
0.9 mi away
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
#284 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#310 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
#2 of 5 in Racha Thewa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#283 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sinsuvarn Airport Suite
Sinsuvarn Airport Suite
#688 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Suvarnabhumi Hotel
Regent Suvarnabhumi Hotel
#699 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Suvarnabhumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Suvarnabhumi

Property: The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
Address: 888/8 Latkrabang road | Suvarnabhumi International Airport, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottage Suvarnabhumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a reasonable price and a relaxing place to stop over near the airport after a long flight or to catch an early morning flight? Or looking to stay away from the busy streets of Bangkok? If yes, then The Cottage Suvarnabhumi is your hotel of choice.The Cottage Suvarnabhumi is a brand new 3 stars airport hotel, located only 5 minutes from Suvarnabhumi International airport and only a few minutes away from Bangkok airport link in to downtown area. The Cottage Suvarnabhumi offers 96 rooms and 3 suites in a two low rise building designed in tropical modern style. All rooms and suites have their own balcony and 7 rooms have their own pool access. The swimming pool is situated in the heart of the land so most of the rooms have the view of the swimming pool and landscaped garden. Our guiding principles are to provide all our customers with excellent products and services by using the most convenient, secure, and efficient way possible.Location and near by attractions: Conveniently located within 5 minutes from Suvarnabhumi Airport and just a few minutes' walk to The Paseo community mall with 42 outlets including 24 hours Tesco Lotus, MacDonald, Pizzeria, Hairdresser, Karaoke, Dental, Optical, and fashion zone.Date of Opening: March 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottage Suvarnabhumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing