We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of O Bangkok

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O Bangkok
Ranked #758 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August 2014, costs 621B for a double bed room. The mattress felt like it was carved out of stone and there was no hot water in the shower. We made a deal with the reception-guy (around 6:30 AM) that we could leave our bags in our room while we made a day trip that would last beyond check-out time. Ended up paying another 300B for checking out to late, no discussion possible with the reception woman on duty at 14:00, who was not aware of this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert-Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend you stay somewhere else. The receptionist was surly and unhelpful. She clearly disliked westerners. The WiFi didn't work properly in my room so I has to keep going to the lobby and the staff were not interested. In fact the receptionist wouldn't even look up from her desk to speak directly to you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstentimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Wifi wasn't working, staff not approachable, loud, no ac-not good for price. It was clean. Only stayed one night because I arrived in Bangkok at 1 am and just crashed. Quickly changed accommodations as there are many more options in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a great place to stay that's not too far from Khao San Rd., there's also a "shortcut" you can take that cuts the walking distance by half! The street vendors, 7-Eleven and pharmacies nearby suit any traveler's needs! The Wi-Fi signal reaches to all the lower rooms, so you might have some issues if you're on the 3rd floor and up! The only downside is this place doesn't have an elevator, so make sure you get a room on the lower floors if you can!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeCheeseMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We've checked out and stayed in a number of places in the Khao San area and this is without doubt the best value for money.

Newer and cleaner than most surrounding hotels of a similar price.

The free waters and decent wifi are a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a average backpackers place. I have stayed a three times here over the last 3 years when I went only for a night, wanted to stay very close to my office on the river side. It is just at the south western side of the Wat Chana Songkhram Rachawora Mahawiharn. Among the few places I have stayed in this area, this is the most quiet place that I can have a good sleep without the hustle and bustle of Thailand. The other three sides surrounding the Wat is very busy through out the night. I usually stay in the second floor in a double room facing the road with air conditioning. The internet is provided free, with a couple of water bottles. It costs around 900 THB. The hotel staff are not helpful in getting your bags or providing any service, but for the price and the peacefulness it can be tolerated.

Room Tip: I usually stay in the second floor in a double room facing the road with air conditioning. This room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeevaduraisamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed for one night in late March, $22 USD/night. Initially the wifi wasn't working in the room and the staff wasn't very helpful but the manager was great and fixed the problem. The room was mostly clean, the AC worked well, hot water temp fluctuated a lot but the water pressure was good. No in-room safe. 300THB key deposit. Overall it was one of the more pleasant places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#531 of 894 in Bangkok
132 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#368 of 894 in Bangkok
458 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#338 of 894 in Bangkok
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 894 in Bangkok
1,493 reviews
The Best Bangkok House
#713 of 894 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Paragon Inn
#346 of 894 in Bangkok
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Bangkok

Address: 28/1 Soi Ram Buttri | Chana Songkhram, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 342
Also Known As:
o Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing