We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you are attending Bangkok International Dental Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mini R Ratchada
Ranked #213 of 655 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect if you are attending Bangkok International Dental Center”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Mini R is the only place to stay if you are getting dental work done. It is in the same complex as the dental hospital which means a 30 second walk to your room after treatment. I had multiple appointments per day due to my short stay and would not have been able to cope if not for having the Mini R close by to have mini rests during the day.

The hotel itself is clean; the rooms are large and staff friendly. I found the beds extremely hard; however find this to be the norm in asia. Included breakfast not so great. There is a nice restaurant down stairs who are understanding to the fact that most patrons have had painful dental work done. I had their soups and soft pastas. Train Station is close by. It is a little hard to get taxis to and from Saigon Square (Shopping Complex). Most taxi drivers refuse to take you. Before you leave, ask the receptionist to write both your destination and return address down in Thai as most taxi drivers do not know the attractions and hotel by English names.

In summary, it is the only place to stay if getting dental work done, however I would choose somewhere else next time if going for a shopping/sight seeing trip due to location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balibride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    52
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
20
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very far from the malls and most of the cab drivers do not know where is the mini ratchada hotel even though we've given the address of the hotel in thai words for them. We booked 3 nights but we cancelled the rest after 1 night stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovediving123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the MINI R Hotel as I was in Bangkok for dental treatment at Bangkok International Dental Centre next door.
The hotel rooms are well equiped for a budget hotel with funky modern decor. There was a mini bar with reasonable prices, a room safe and the expected bathroom amenities were provided.
Free Wi-Fi was provided which is a must for the modern traveller. The room was quite spacious and well laid out.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
There is no swimming pool at the hotel.
The location was great for my purposes but a bit away from the main central shopping area around Siam Square and other Bangkok attractions, although these could be reached via the nearby Thailand Cultural Centre MRT underground station which connects to the BTS Skytrain at Sukhumvit/Asok stations.
A small breakfast was provided and served in the room.

The main problem for me was the bed. It was extremely hard; I am used to firm beds in Asia but this was ridiculous, I might as well have slept on the floor!
The other problem was noise, first the traffic noise from Ratchadapisek Road then secondly when the occupants of the room next door arrived back at 1.30AM and started to party!

Unless you like really hard beds and are partially deaf, I could not recommend staying here. I certainly would not stay again for these reasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road for less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brecker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were planning to stay at another guesthouse but it was full and were recommended here by the taxi driver basically! Turned out to be a great turn of events, check in was easy and they accommodated us without a reservation for 6 nights at 1750 baht a night (about £35).

The room is modern and of a boutique nature, with a large en suite, flat screen widescreen TV, desk, big wardrobe, kitchenette area with sink and fridge and a little dining table for breakfast. The double bed was very comfy and the turn down service also very good.

The reception desk helped us with numerous enquiries and numerous phone calls, they couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

The location of the hotel is amazing, it has tons of restaurants, malls, street food and a big night market as well as 2 MRT stops all within a 5-10 minute walking distance. The hotel is on a well known road and next to a well known hotel called the Emerald so its easy to get taxi's r tuk tuks to the location as well.

The one negative I have is that the traffic outside our room was noisy early in the morning so was hard to sleep in - earplugs were necessary!

I would stay here again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Though I have not stayed at the Ratchada location, I have stayed at the Thong Lor location multiple times. It is in a nice residential area, close to the Thong Lor Skytrain station, and surrounded by great japanese and korean restaurants.

The hotel is actually on the fourth and fifth floors of a small building, above a pretty good hamburger joint (if you're so inclined).

The rooms are quiet, very clean, and there is free wi-fi internet service. Free breakfast from Au Bon Pain is delivered to your room every morning.

Thong Lor is a very safe neighbourhood, and somewhat trendy. The Villa Supermarket is one soi over if you want to grab some groceries, but the myriad of nearby restaurants are of great value.

Unlike hotels in the Silom or Sukhumvit area you can be assured you will get a good taxi ride to the airport (around 200 baht) without fear of being ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malo-ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had appointments at the BIDC, which was literally next door. Very convenient for early morning appointments and lots of shopping nearby. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.The subway is about a ten minute walk away and taxis are always available. There is also a nice little restaurant right next door as well.All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soulmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

a very cosy and remarkable hotel. located near mrt stations. near by carrefour and robinson. great hotel, comfort stay at affordable price. a little noisy as my room is facing the main road but still acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawrenceKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#366 of 863 in Bangkok
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
The Palazzo Bangkok
The Palazzo Bangkok
#676 of 863 in Bangkok
279 reviews
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#160 of 863 in Bangkok
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mini R Ratchada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mini R Ratchada

Property: The Mini R Ratchada
Address: 161 Ratchada Rd. | Dindaeng, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 655 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mini R Ratchada 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini RIts new contemporary stylish and all rooms are well decorated with Flat Screen LCD Television and funky blue lighting in parts. You can enjoy complimentary high speed internet and Computer is also available at the lobby for customer to fulfill your business requirementThe Mini R located at Ratchada Road, the district with full of life - loads of culinary, shopping centers, pubs, bars and spas. The location also makes things convenience; it takes only 10 minutes walk to Thailand Cultural Centre Station & Huaykwang MRT subway Station. City centre as well as tourist attractions are easy traveling by train ride away with the underground serving area. You are surrounded in style and convenience as soon as you step into The Mini R.Mini R provides highly exclusive Aromatherapy Body Massage with private environment in guest room with our professional therapist who has many years experience in international body treatment Institute. And we do have additional package with Thai Ticket Major, only buy any ticket and reserve room in advance with The Mini, we guarantee best seat by Thai Ticket Major and upgrade room to L size.Maxi’s pizzeria and Restaurant open daily from 11:00 – 23:00 hrs at first floor. The restaurant provides choices of Traditional Thai and American breakfast. Guest can order to have bed & breakfast in guest rooms or at the restaurant as required.With all 29 stylish guest rooms are in exclusive hip design with fully equipped room amenities ensuring your most satisfaction entire your stay for the best memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mini R Ratchada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing