We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely small boutique hotel in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mini R Ratchada
Ranked #259 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely small boutique hotel in Bangkok”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed twice at this little hotel - once for a week & then again for 3 nights.
Mak, the hotel manager, and Anna at reception, went out of their way to make out stay enjoyable.
Our standard twin bed room was large & bright & very clean. Our room was modern with fresh white sheets on large beds, plenty of cupboard space, good bathroom with shampoo etc, a desk & good TV reception. We chose American Breakfast which was quite adequate - juice, bacon, ham, egg toast & fruit - coffee/tea facilities & water are complimentary. It is not in the thick of Bangkok, but as it's situated between 2 MRT stations, it very easy to get around & taxies to most places is only 100/150 Bahts. Plenty of 7 Elevens & Department stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
20
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My daughter and I were booked in here for 7 nights as we were attending the dental clinic next door. Unfortunately the service is very poor, they only person who speaks english sometimes is the receptionist.
House keeping is non existent, we watched plates outside a persons door for 2 days, our room was not made up each day...we had to ask...they forgot our breakfast 2 mornings in a row after that we didnt bother to even try and have breakfast, The Big American breakfast was very small and the bacon was the size of their smallest coin and the omelet was just that egg...nothing else in it, so the flavour was really bland.
Whilst sitting at my computer the fluro light just fell down in front of me hitting my laptop, and hanging by 2 wires, when a guy came to have a look the other fluro also fell down so now we had 2 hanging down by wires...nest day they sent 3 electricians( and I say this lightly) to fix the problem, whilst my daughter had just had 2 teeth removed and lying in bed she had 5 men in the bed room trying to screw in 4 screws to hold the lights up....so not funny!!
To each side of us are "Massage" places and NO not the feet ones...so alot of people coming and going.
I definitely would not recommend for travelers with children or someone who would like a relaxing stay..no pool...no internet if you don't have a laptop, and little tiny ants in everything, even your bed...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libby1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Holyhead
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Visiting Bangkok International Dental Centre (BIDC) next door made this a convenient place to stay. It turned out to be much more than that. Helpful staff, clean well equipped rooms (I was upgraded to a large) with a very comfy bed, fridge and WiFi (free in all rooms) made this an enjoyable place to stay.

Anna on reception was great with tour advice as well as directions to the the local laundry service (there is none in house). MBT rail stations are close by as well as shopping malls (Robinson's and Carrefour; called Big C). You don't have to go far for anything.

A cafe (Maxi's) on the ground floor provides great coffee and a varied diet of Thai, Italian and pizza.

I'll definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We are spending SIX nights in this hotel and we have two separate reservations. We booked for S size room for first 3 nights. For the last 3 nights, I decided to go for M size room to make ourselves more comfortable. We had just moved into our new M size room last night and we found out that the windows were broken. They simply use the tape (the tape you use to tape your boxes!) to tape the window and it was already not sealed. It was opened! The worst is the room is facing the front street and yes, we woke up at 7 am when the traffic got busy and the politicians had their van coming out with loud speaker to advertise! I talked to the front desk lady a moment ago (yes I'm writing in the lobby right in front of her!) about this and she said we are sorry and smiled to me. I asked for change in room she told me 'it's all full.' Then another customer came to pay for check out (he came after me) and that lady ignored me and went ahead to deal with the payment first! (so money first, customer second!) I'm still having another 2 nights here and she told me she can only talk to her manager tomorrow because it's holiday today for her manager! I'm surprised to know that there is no manager on duty for a hotel like this. SHAME ON YOU MINI R. We are staying here right now because of good reviews given by my cousin, but NO, you are not getting any more business from any of my friends that visit Thailand frequently. I'm spending my precious shopping time here in the morning to write this review and you should know why.


Avoid this and go stay near Sukhumvit or Silom. It's more happening and you will not have to pay for MRT for BTS transfer and you wont have to walk through all the awkward massage places at night. This is FAR from any of the shopping places.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the worst M size room. Avoid this room, or perhaps avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

W cose this hotel only based on its location next to BIDC where I went for dental treatment. upon arrival we were asked to pay a deposit for 3 nights. the room was a bit small and dated and there was no significant window behind the drapes - it was a just a wall with two smal windows on either side! The a/c was giving off a really bad smell . the hotel is in is a low rise building so lots of noise coming from the main street below.
We decided to leave, I stayed in the room while my husband went to scout for a more decent hotel. We requested our deposit money back but they refused citing that we sat on the bed! We ended up at the Emerald Hotel 3 minutes walk away. Management decided to keep one day's worth of the deposit after much bickering! Please make sure you request to see the room as the deposit is apparently nonrefundable otherwise find another hotel closeby tha will give you dicounted pricing as a BIDC patient!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you pay the non refundable deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Mini R is the only place to stay if you are getting dental work done. It is in the same complex as the dental hospital which means a 30 second walk to your room after treatment. I had multiple appointments per day due to my short stay and would not have been able to cope if not for having the Mini R close by to have mini rests during the day.

The hotel itself is clean; the rooms are large and staff friendly. I found the beds extremely hard; however find this to be the norm in asia. Included breakfast not so great. There is a nice restaurant down stairs who are understanding to the fact that most patrons have had painful dental work done. I had their soups and soft pastas. Train Station is close by. It is a little hard to get taxis to and from Saigon Square (Shopping Complex). Most taxi drivers refuse to take you. Before you leave, ask the receptionist to write both your destination and return address down in Thai as most taxi drivers do not know the attractions and hotel by English names.

In summary, it is the only place to stay if getting dental work done, however I would choose somewhere else next time if going for a shopping/sight seeing trip due to location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balibride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very far from the malls and most of the cab drivers do not know where is the mini ratchada hotel even though we've given the address of the hotel in thai words for them. We booked 3 nights but we cancelled the rest after 1 night stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovediving123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Park Residence @ Bangkok
#452 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Praso@Ratchada 12
#349 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Din
The Palazzo Bangkok
The Palazzo Bangkok
#629 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
S3 Residence Park
#115 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mini R Ratchada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mini R Ratchada

Property: The Mini R Ratchada
Address: 161 Ratchada Rd. | Dindaeng, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mini R Ratchada 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini RIts new contemporary stylish and all rooms are well decorated with Flat Screen LCD Television and funky blue lighting in parts. You can enjoy complimentary high speed internet and Computer is also available at the lobby for customer to fulfill your business requirementThe Mini R located at Ratchada Road, the district with full of life - loads of culinary, shopping centers, pubs, bars and spas. The location also makes things convenience; it takes only 10 minutes walk to Thailand Cultural Centre Station & Huaykwang MRT subway Station. City centre as well as tourist attractions are easy traveling by train ride away with the underground serving area. You are surrounded in style and convenience as soon as you step into The Mini R.Mini R provides highly exclusive Aromatherapy Body Massage with private environment in guest room with our professional therapist who has many years experience in international body treatment Institute. And we do have additional package with Thai Ticket Major, only buy any ticket and reserve room in advance with The Mini, we guarantee best seat by Thai Ticket Major and upgrade room to L size.Maxi’s pizzeria and Restaurant open daily from 11:00 – 23:00 hrs at first floor. The restaurant provides choices of Traditional Thai and American breakfast. Guest can order to have bed & breakfast in guest rooms or at the restaurant as required.With all 29 stylish guest rooms are in exclusive hip design with fully equipped room amenities ensuring your most satisfaction entire your stay for the best memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mini R Ratchada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing