We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Tonaor Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonaor Place
Ranked #731 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Avoid this place at all costs. We stayed here for 2 nights in July. 650 baht a night - way overpriced. The hotel staff are fairly useless - they're good at taking your money but that's about it. The bed is extremely hard - sleeping on the ground is preferable than sleeping in these beds. I've been traveling in Asia for 10 years and I have never come across a harder bed. We asked the reception for an extra blanket and were told it would cost an extra 100 baht. Wireless is not free - 150 baht for 10 hours. Restaurant is overpriced. We asked for a fork and spoon to eat a meal that we had bought elsewhere and were promptly refused.

The hotel is located on Soi Suttisan - about 10 minutes walk from the MRT. Warning - this is one of the busiest streets in Bangkok and is not very safe to walk down - motorbikes are whizzing by and there is always a ton of traffic. For the price of this hotel, you can stay in much nicer accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't book over the internet - it's much more expensive than just walking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank durianfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and would want to share some experience about this place. Firstly, this is not a hotel so don't expect it to to have a hotel-level professionalism. The reception is nothing other than that of an old supermarket. The staff don't seem to be familiar with what they have to do. We've booked for 2 double rooms but they gave us only 1 room (Of course, we have to ask for another one). Secondly, the rooms are not very clean: hairs, dust, spots on the wall, dirty fridge. Their pictures over the Internet may make this place looks modern, but no! The rooms and its setting are rather old. The WORST thing is that this place is VERY NOISY. It's located just off the main road (Suttisarn-Vinitchai) which is a busy road and stay noisy all night! Ask for newly renovated rooms, that will absolutely be better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaan_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We travelled as a couple from Europe, arrived 31/7/11. Staff were friendly gave us key for room 23 on 2nd floor. The room did not look like what we saw on line but it was clean. We found out that the A/C wasn’t working so we asked to be moved to another room. We were offered one without a fridge so we refused to take it and we were eventually given room 26 which had a fridge and air conditioner was working. Room was very clean. However we found out that 2nd floor was a bit noisy because traffic was heavy and only eases for few hours of the night then resume very early as Bangkok is a twenty four hour city. Next time we will try to be on the top floor. There is no spa or fitness center at this hotel.
They try to serve what they think is English breakfast but it was basically a very dry bacon, a somewhat fried egg, two baby sausages, two slices of bread and a cup of very strong coffee.
Hotel location was perfect for us as it was our first visit to Bangkok, on a business trip. We did not expect too much as we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel. It is just a basic hotel with easy access to taxis. The underground train is ten minutes walk which took us straight to chakucha market or change to sky train for Pratunam market in Siam.
Only problem we had was when the cleaner left our room open by mistake otherwise there is no problem at this hotel. We had a lovely time and will be back.

Room Tip: Most rooms on your left as you walk on the corridors up stairs have balconies unlike those on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I would certainly recommend Tonaor Place if my friends are going to Bangkok. It is a very pleasant hotel with nice and friendly staff. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. There is no problem to sleep since the hotel is located in a quite calm area. It is an easy walk to the metro which can take you to the centre of BKK in 30 min. All in all, Tonaor Place has been great and I can certainly recommend it to fellow travellers!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

this is a very nice hotel. The room we had seemed to be in a new wing. The coffee counter is very nice. The noodle shop next door is helpful. Walked to nice restaurant down the street and there were others as well. We needed to be near the bus terminal and this hotel worked well for this need. If one is there on Sunday, the Sunday Market in not far away. Public transportation is good. One can also easily get a taxi. The drug store next door was very helpful. All in all, this is very nice small hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bee4120105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I was disappointed when I went to my room and noticed that it was not new (or renovated). I searched a few websites prior to booking and the photos looked nice, and the place even advertised that it was a new facility. I have been to several places in Bangkok for similar prices that were new (or renovated). So expect an older place.

One strange item is that the room has glass panels near the top of the wall. You can see them if you search online for photos. At night the hall lights, which are fluorescent, light up the room so you need to wear eye-shades. Luckily I brought some.

Other than that, the location is questionable for those that want to see Bangkok. I would suggest a place on Sukhumwit or near Siam Square where you can walk outside and you are in the middle of the tourist spots. For a similar price you get the same quality. And don't have to walk a long ways from the main road. If this is your first time to Bangkok, stay close to Sukhumwit.

WIFI is extra. About 200 baht for 10 hours.

The benefits include a friendly staff. The room didn't come with a remote control for the TV, and the staff found one downstairs.

If you want to experience a new area of Bangkok, and don't mind really immersing yourself into the back roads of the city, give it a try. I would suggest this to people that have been to Bangkok and want to see other places other than Sukhumwit. You will have to be comfortable with walking down a street that may seem unsafe and dirty, but it is really not that bad once you get used to it. You can explore Ratchadaphisek which has a nice trendy mall.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnBoardSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PanitaM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
CK2 Hotel
CK2 Hotel
#405 of 894 in Bangkok
30 reviews
Buddy Place
#618 of 894 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#302 of 894 in Bangkok
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aiyapura Bangkok
#572 of 894 in Bangkok
94 reviews
Vabua Asotel
#490 of 894 in Bangkok
203 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#292 of 894 in Bangkok
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonaor Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonaor Place

Address: 67/2 soi Chareonsak | Sutthisarn-Vinichai Road, Huaikwang, Bangkok 10310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £14 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tonaor Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance is the Sutthisan underground station, Sutthisan MRT station, which can quickly help transport guests to the Chatuchak Weekend Market, the entertainment district of Silom, and to the city's shopping districts. Also easy to access from this area is the magnificent Siam Niramit, Siam Park City and Safari World. All guest rooms are air conditioned, and come with en-suite bathrooms, television, and internet access. If you are looking for basic accommodations at affordable prices, then Tonaor Place is worth considering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tonaor Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonaor Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing