We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best French dining experiences you can have”

Water Library Chamchuri
Ranked #213 of 10,774 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$150
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Siam
Description: A restaurant as an ideal, is an open place. Open for new impressions, great food and beautiful wines...good friends, smiles and laugher accompanying a meal. At Water Library Chamchuri we want our guests to experience all that by offering fine cuisine and attentive service, without any stiffness and formality, but in style and with class. In the heart of Bangkok's Business district, next to the famous Chulalongkorn University, Water Library is the perfect location for your business lunch or a dinner with friends. Led by German Chef Mirco Keller the kitchen offers a set lunch, and a la carte as well as tasting menu for dinner on highest level of contemporary fine dining. General Manager Oliver Kramny ensure a perfect and yet personal service, and a wine list with over 370 labels, mostly offered at retail prices, will make your dining experience remarkable.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best French dining experiences you can have”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had a perfect dinner today. Great ambience, authentic and high quality food, excellent presentation, and super service by very knowledgeable staff. Had the 5 course set meal - each course was fantastic. The wines are remarkably good too.

One of us was vegetarian and even he had an excellent 5 course meal - very creative chef.

Hats off to the entire team. Strongly recommend for a business or casual meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinay-shwetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    52
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After reading reviews on TA, we decided to enjoy our dinner at Water Library. The menu was full of interesting dishes. And wine list is really a heaven. The seafood was so fresh, we ordered Tuna Nicoise, Chillean Seabass,..all of them were so tasty, and the dessert was good either( we tried chocolate dessert and Apple tarte tatin). The staff is friendly and well-trained. A little pricy but i think it's worthy for good dinner. Overall, great choice, We will go back again on our next time we visit to Bangkok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience, and very-very good food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have been to the Water Library four times, and the food never fails to amaze me each time. The ingredients are the very best available, and they are very fresh. I've had the fish every time I visited, simply because the fish is *that good*! The croissant is freshly baked, and served with very nice garlic butter. Besides the excellent taste, the presentation of the food is good, and the ambience, excellent. Bottles of water from all around the world are arranged in a circle to form a water chandelier, and the effect is very romantic. For those who appreciate wine, Water Library has a very large selection of wines from around the world. The waiters and waitresses are very attentive, and the service is impeccable. Overall, Water Library makes for a great gastronomic experience! If you are in Bangkok, a visit to the Water Library is a must.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ascklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unusual Name but Fabulous, Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Tucked away in a mall, is a fine dining experience in peaceful surroundings. The food and service are both hard to match, even in Michelin starred restaurants. The set lunches and dinners are a true dining experience. The creativity of the chef and warmth of staff are truly a winning combination. The ala carte menu is extensive, and the wine cellar ranks with the best in Southeast Asia.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank templetongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband turned 35 while we were in Bangkok and we wanted to have a special dinner. Through Tripadvisor, we decided to come and enjoyed Water Library.
Food just on US42 and with wine, water and tax it came in a little under $80... worth every cent!!
If you're into good wine, then this place has a real extensive wine collection. And one more, if you are in Bangkok, this is one of the must place you should visit with your partner or family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Library Chamchuri also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Water Library Chamchuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing