We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Style Hostel, Really Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Ranked #134 of 1,304 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was hesitant to stay in this place at the beginning since it offers anything but Thai atmosphere, yet I ended up staying there a few times, and it was always pleasant.
It is a friendly place with all the amenities you might look for in the higher end budget hostel meaning that it is a typical western style and attitude place. Well it feels nice to have all you need in one place once you get tired after months in Southern Asia, and it is a good value too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oidipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I chose this hostel due to its proximity to Hua Lamphong train station - the station is literally on the other side of the road. So if like me you intend to catch a night train to Chiang Mai, this is a very good choice. It's also right next to a subway station and therefore should also be a good place to set off for some sightseeing.

I had booked a single room with ensuite and the room I got was perfectly adequate. It was fairly small, but that really didn't matter. It had a single bed, fridge, safe, small flat screen tv, bathroom with shower (no shower pod though - just a shower head fixed to the wall) and aircon (really welcome in the Bangkok heat).

The only real draw-back of the room was that it was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator. Getting all my luggage up there was a bit of a battle. Also the room was at the end of the corridor and there was a door to an outside stairwell which wasn't locked and which might bother some people. But other than that the room was very good value for money.

I also tried the hostels restaurant and was quite pleased with my pad thai.

Overall I would recommend this hostel to anyone who will be taking a train from Hua Lamphong station as it's just so incredibly close to the station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australienkenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

the hostel is perfect for a overnight stop and also for a few days. our room was small but very nice and modern decorated and the walls were painted in fresh colours.our bathroom had a shower and a western toilet, everything was brandnew. the washbasin was not in the bathroom but very stylish integrated inside the room. the lobby is small, colourful and also furnished in a modern style, but there is no elevator. the staff is very friendly and helpful in any case of your interesstings. they offer also tourist tours in and around bangkok and residents have free wifi. also computers for checking the internet are available.unfortunatelly our room had only singleglas windows and specially at night it was a little bit noisy, because a real big street is infront of the hotel. the hostel further offers laundry service and meals around the whole day. we had braekfast there and it was prepared fresh and very good. a mrt station is directly in front of the hostel and important shopping or amusement areas are easy reachable.
we had a pleasant stay at hua lamphong and can recomment this "high class" low budget hostel very much.

Room Tip: for everyone: try to get a room on the backside...its much more quiet! for older people : try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Very good hostel. Nice clean and compact rooms, excellent cafe which serves really tasty breakfast, very good location (MBK mall, eat street) is nearby. Staff is friendly and will guide you in case you need any help. Tuk tuks are available right outside the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GauravVarshikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Good central location, opposite the main railway station and 5 min walk from some tourist attractions as well, but our room was still quiet, perfect for a sleep after a long day.
The room had air condition, fridge, safe, bathroom with toiletries. At the front desk you can get hairdryer, travelers adapters...., also free WiFi and internet corner, self service laundry available. They offer tours and transfers as well on really good price.
They have a lovely restaurant/bistro for whole day dining. The menu is contains Thai and international foods, drinks cocktails, smoothies. Prices are quiet high compere to local prices, but still reasonable.

Highly recommended for a short stop over to see Bangkok.

Don't deal the tuk-tuks who`s waiting at the front of the hotel, they are tooooo expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I spent three night at this hostel, in a twin room with private bathroom.
The room was basic, but clean and tidy.
The bathroom was not so beautiful but ok, with towels and shower.

The restaurant of the hostel is INCREDIBLY GOOD!! Very nice breakfast and delicious dinner.

The position is excellent. The mrt is 1 min from the hostel.

It is definitively very good for the price I paid, i.e. 30 SGD per night (for a twin, so 15 SDG each)... very cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margheritavestrucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Basis but ok. The grumpy ladyboy checked us in... Ants in my room but it was clean... Nice Ladies at bar for breakfast or smoothies Good location to take train. Bus 53 stops at highlights for less than ten bath....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#330 of 885 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#95 of 1,304 in Bangkok
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#399 of 710 in Bangkok
82 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#116 of 1,304 in Bangkok
107 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#111 of 1,304 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road | Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,304 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £9 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing