We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Ranked #137 of 1,337 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here twice and both times the rooms were spot on. It's right next to the train station and MRT line. It's about 5 stops away from Siam Square and 7 stops from the airport link. The rooms were spacious,clean and good value. The rooms had aircon, TV, a fridge and even roomservice. The relax and TV room are the common area and downstairs is a little restaurant. There is Free Wifi as well. The perfect spot to explore Bangkok or on your way to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location - Good food - Good Value for money - Great chill-out space - Interesting views.

Pros
Cost, location, convenience, onsite laundry, food

Cons
Privacy is questionable, doesn't feel like the most secure place to stay

Top Tip
If you find a space few hours, make use of the TV/Film/Relaxing room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no windows, or a room with a view. Avoid the rooms with windows and no view (see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A few steps to MRT Hua Lamphong and Hua Lamphong Railway Station, this is convenient for those travelling to Ayutthaya and nearby attractions. A bus stop is located at about 20 meters from the hotel, which stops by the Grand Palace and Khao San road (fare is only 8 baht).

The rooms are basic. Since I stayed in a 6-bed dorm type, I expected it to be just okay. The locker can fit a large backpack, but not a trolley. There are 2 shower rooms and 2 comfort rooms. I found that the CR of room 207 is not that clean :( The exhaust in the shower is also dusty. Regardless, there is hot shower, a comfortable bed, and wifi in your room. Of course, I got what I paid for, and it just fits my need. (a place to sleep and store baggage at that).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauriceEspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I loved this place and always came back to stay here whenever I was in Bangkok.

Pro's:

Reasonably priced
Friendly and helpful staff
Comfy rooms
Individual lockers in the rooms big enough for your backpack
Use of computers (at a charge)
Free wifi
Small common room
Rent a dvd from Reception if you're having a night in
Meet other travellers 18-30yrs
Very very close to station
English breakfast and tea (and of course other meals from the restaurant!) Reasonable prices

Cons

Not too close to the main areas e.g. Koh Sarn Road
Wifi doesn't always work in the room

I just liked the vibe in there as well as the french / country style interior design feel! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and booked a standard single private ensuite. Room (305 is next to fire exit and also connecting to one of the dorms) was extremely hot. Windows cannot be open. You should keep aircon on at all times. However, be aware that when you sleep, cold air will blow directly onto your face and turning it off may not be an option for some as the room will become stuffy during the night. Wash basin only has one tap which gives lukewarm water. Thankfully this is Thailand and not UK! Sink plug doesn't work so washing clothes was a bit of a challenge. They offer laundry service but I only had a few small items so didn't use it. It would be helpful to have more hooks on the walls to hang clothes, wet towels etc. Drain pipe in the bathroom is slow and somewhat blocked, so be careful not to have a long shower. No or extremely weak WIFI inside the room so advise you to sit in the dining area on the ground floor. They have computers but you need to pay. Forget having a lie-in as the sound of cleaners and other guests walking pass at 0630 will wake you up. Hostel isn't as lively as I thought, but I used my own initiatives to make conversations with other guests.

Ending with a positive note. Good if you need to catch a train or bus from Hua Lamphong train station. There is 7-Seven (convenient shop) nearby and plenty of street food stalls. Hostel reception staff were helpful and even wrote down the airport name in Thai so that taxi driver knows my destination. That was definitely useful!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank m_smlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I only stayed for one night and given the price I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised however. The location is great, right outside the subway station and across the road from the train station. I had my own room with ensuite shower and toilet, tv, safe, air con and fridge. The bed was clean and comfy and they even provided a towel and washing lotions. Downstairs there is a cheap cafe which has everything from breakfast to currys. I had Thai red curry and chips and the quality was great. This place had everything I needed and was far better than the hotel next door. Don't be put off by the word 'hostel' and it was much more like a hotel. There is free wifi and computers to use and all the other residents were quiet and mature. I had a great night sleep and would really recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank BecG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very clean place, fairly spacious rooms. Stayed in 4 different rooms coming and going out of Bangkok. Reservations made online and through the hotel were all honored. Easy metro access to/from airport and train station.
Check out the street vendor outside selling the banana crepe things - delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaStrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#328 of 887 in Bangkok
226 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#105 of 1,337 in Bangkok
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#405 of 728 in Bangkok
83 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#134 of 1,337 in Bangkok
112 reviews
Silom
Old Town Hostel Bangkok
Old Town Hostel Bangkok
#15 of 1,337 in Bangkok
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road | Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,337 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing