We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$229
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
US$185
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$241
Okura Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
101
199
86
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
199
86
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsingle roomchiang mailuggage storagegolden buddhabusy roadrestaurant downstairsstayed here for one nightconvenient locationcable tvrooms are cleanexcellent locationcouple of nightsstreet foodpad thaithe riverchinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this hostel is new, excellently located and a good bargain. This review reminds the unwary traveler of another aspect of travel in a strange country, that probably applies to all establishments, not just the one under review. If, for any reason, you find yourself in a quarrel with the management, it can get very scary, very fast. And since you probably don't know the local language and regulations, you will imagine the worst. The fuse of the management in Hua Lamphong was, in my case, a very short one, and I was threatened with Police action almost at the start of the argument. It made my blood run cold then, and even now would make me think twice about staying anywhere that I could not argue my case with the police in the local language. We foreign travelers are never as far as we would like to think, from being Locked Up Abroad.

Room Tip: Lift is slow, so a lower floor might be quicker
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreenName60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here after a long haul flight to Bangkok. Super easy to find, it's the last stop if you travel on their underground (MRT) it's also a 30 second walk to the main train station for travelling around the adjoining Asian countries (We got the train to the Poipet border for Cambodia)! The staff are really friendly and helpful, giving good directions and places to visit. Clean rooms, nice common room and if you're feeling lazy then they do good food too :) it was a little noisy at night, but that's to be expected in a capital city. We were so tired from the flights that it didn't affect us much though. Good value for money too

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This review is a bit late, but Hua Lamphong Hostel is such a Gem, I can't go without sharing our experience there with others. I thought I had written this review earlier, my husband and I travelled to Bangkok in January and February 2011 as part of a journey through South East Asia.
We stayed at Hua Lamphong at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. We seriously could not have asked for anything better! The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, always greeting you with a smile and happy to help you find your way through the maze of Bangkok.
We booked a private room with an en suite bathroom. The shower is typical SE Asian styles meaning it drains onto the floor of the bathroom; wasn't hard to get used to at all and surprisingly the water was relatively contained. The room was great- comfy bed, TV with international news, desk for writing back home, Wi-Fi and even a little balcony looking out to the street. Traffic was crazy but we didn't hear a peep through the sliding doors.
There's a restaurant on the main floor of the hostel, SUUUUPER good food, we still rave about it to this day (yes, 2 years later). When we were there, the food was prepared by a nice Thai lady who also cooked and fed her family there (so you know it's good!). Beautiful little garden patio for eating outdoors with an eclectic collection of furniture and books in multiple languages. They also serve cold beer for a price we couldn't beat anywhere else in Bangkok. Public computers with reliable internet connection on the main floor for very reasonable rates. Location is ideal; a few feet away from the metro (public transit) and right across the street from Hua Lamphong train station for train journeys elsewhere in the country. Very close to the Chao Phraya river as well.
We recommended this cute boutiquey hostel to a few friends who have since travelled to Thailand and they had excellent experiences as well. If we ever go back to Bangkok, it's safe to say we'll be staying again at Hua Lamphong! Thank you for a WONDERFUL stay :D
Kap Koon Kah

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistika16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here twice and both times the rooms were spot on. It's right next to the train station and MRT line. It's about 5 stops away from Siam Square and 7 stops from the airport link. The rooms were spacious,clean and good value. The rooms had aircon, TV, a fridge and even roomservice. The relax and TV room are the common area and downstairs is a little restaurant. There is Free Wifi as well. The perfect spot to explore Bangkok or on your way to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location - Good food - Good Value for money - Great chill-out space - Interesting views.

Pros
Cost, location, convenience, onsite laundry, food

Cons
Privacy is questionable, doesn't feel like the most secure place to stay

Top Tip
If you find a space few hours, make use of the TV/Film/Relaxing room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no windows, or a room with a view. Avoid the rooms with windows and no view (see photos)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews