We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, clean, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Ranked #121 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“central, clean, quiet”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we stayed in the 6bed dorm which we would highly recommend, since it was very clean (maybe except the basins which could have been a bit cleaner), cheap and has 2 ensuite toilets and 2 showers so you will not collide with bathroom times.
It is located across the street of the main railway station and major bus stops and close to chinatown but still quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    189
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
155
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Not so easy to find actually, as I informed the guest house when we arrived as trip advisor suggests it is much further away from the main train station, when actually it's virtually opposite.
A helpful suggestion. Go directly to main train station Hua Lomphong, go down the escalator and go through bag check, then walk 2 mins ( basically under the wide main rd). Follow exit signs 1&4 to Mahaphugkaran rd, go up the escalator then when you are out on the path, turn around to go back on yourself 25yds. Then you reach the guest house.

Clean room, good facility with fridge and two bottle of cold water in twin room. A large safe, easy to fit iPad in and more. You set the safe combination to your own code! Very impressed with that as it saves taking wads of money and passport around in a money belt.
Overall, good as we took rooms 203 & 204 2nd floor opposite stairs. Reasonably quiet considering people are coming and going.
Excellent for what we needed, early rise for train to Cambodian.
Beds firm, which I like, but no soft pillows available, which was unfortunate.
Air con and security I felt was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Modern and contemporary hostel, 5 minutes walk for those looking to take the train to other places. Room was basic but clean! Wifi was great! Enjoyed my stay here and there were lots of delicious street food located around the hostel. The only minor complain was that the lift is so slowwww. Great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markgoh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This place feels more like a hotel then a hostel. Big double bed, flat screen tv. En suite shower and toilet. Fridge and a Safe. Very close to the train station so great for morning trains. Also close to china town and the grand palace. Bus number 1 back from the palace stops by the station.Staff are very helpful and polite.
Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank martinn180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Clean room, good TV, bed, shower... The free wifi mostly didn't work for me, tried several connections.

The guest before had locked the safe, but fortunately I had my own safety equipment so I could go out and quickly buy food (cerfuw in Bangkok at the time).

I didn't see the Hotel sign in the dark evening when I arrived, I had to go inside if I had really come to the right place.

Nice employees, only met two though...

Room Tip: For being Bangkok it was great value. Easy to find, near subway travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed at Hua Lamphong on 4 separate occasions now.Although I've shopped around and looked at lots of other hotels in Bangkok, I keep coming back here every time. It's a great budget choice with good transport links on the doorstep and I just haven't found anything else to match it on location and overall value.

Particularly like:
- It's right next to the MRT station - no long walks down a dark soi after a night out. You can also walk to Pier 4 on the river (through Chinatown) in around 10 mins
- Helpful staff on the front desk.
- Good, clean simple rooms
- Generally nice vibe about the place.
- Some great little street food stalls and cheap restaurants nearby - don't miss @Siam's in the run of shops directly opposite the station - a great little thai eatery which turns into a fun bar later on, we had a great night with the staff there one evening!
- Laundry shop next door
- Family Mart Convenience store 2 mins walk away
- Bank with ATMs right next to the MRT entrance

I'll be back, no doubt!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melp2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located fairly far out from the main tourist attractions this relatively cheap hostel does have easy access to the main train station and it is still a fairly OK walk to the main temples and palaces (however taxis are reasonably priced - DO NOT TAKE A TUK TUK, SERIOUSLY... taxis are cheap enough and won't mes you about!)
Distance wise we travelled to and from both airports to the hostel and the taxis were very good:
From Suvarnabhumi it took an hour and cost under a tenner.
The journey to Dom mueng airport took half the time and was about a fiver
(Note: you will need to pay the toll gates in both direction but this is the equivalent of a pound)

Now to the hostel itself:
We went for a dorm room and which included two ensuite showers and bathrooms between 6 people which was easily enough access to facilities and they were all kept nice and clean.
Your bed also comes with a large storage locker which could fit a large rucksack and also had shelves for personal items and clothes. You are also provided with a towel and shower gel etc.

They have a 24hr reception and were able to deal with our early morning check out even in the midst of a military coup.

There was a good WiFi network and you were able to connect from your rooks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theroamingdrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#318 of 858 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#342 of 645 in Bangkok
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#104 of 1,195 in Bangkok
97 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#129 of 1,195 in Bangkok
29 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#106 of 1,195 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Property: At Hua Lamphong Hostel
Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road | Mahaphruttharam, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing