We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon in this hotel and it was breathtaking! After a longhaul flight, we arrived into its cool, expansive lobby to be greated with cold towels and assigned a 'lady in red' who would check us in, show us around and would be on hand should be require anything throughout our stay. Our huge room was on the 7th floor with a balcony providing fabulous views over the pools, gardens and Bangkok's skyline. We were surprised that in the centre of such a busy city, our surrounds were calm and peaceful and a welcome retreat after long days of sightseeing!

The rooms are equipped with all mod cons and we wanted for nothing. The breakfast buffet is a must, but when we overslept on the first morning, we were invited to dine in the Club Lounge on the top floor of the hotel -what a view! We found the overall service to be of the highest possible standard. The concierge was always on hand to direct us around the city, call taxis and provide umbrellas when it rained.

The location is perfect too - next door to the Siam Paragon shopping centre with its neverending food court and easy access to the Skytrain.

A short walk away is Jim Thompson's House which I would recommend for an easy afternoon's visit, we ate lunch in the cafe there too which was delicious and great value.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will guarantee a peaceful night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    422
    94
    36
    35
See reviews for
599
729
79
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

new hotel with nicely decorated rooms with high end materials and hardware. hotel is quite due to it's location and the rooms are also noise insulated against the any type of disturbance. this is a real plus!!

f&b is at an average 5 star level, related services depends on who you are dealing with.

BKK has a lot of competition, it is hard to cross compare. Rate it at the upper end of the 5 star category.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel has attracted interest and was busy. The "coldness" has been replaced by people and this has made a positive difference. Its still large enough not to lose its "discreetness". But having more people tested the hotel's services, and in some respects it showed its lack of experience

Check-in was marred by the suggestion that only one of two rooms were available at 2pm. There was a feeble attempt to persuade me to accept both rooms at 3pm! My request for a late checkout met with a "we will call you back" and they did not call me back

The boys at the entrance were nowhere as polished as one finds at The Oriental. They need more training

The Premier room configuration this time was a disappointment being the standard straight from door to balcony with room positioned on the side. Too many mirrors and glass actually had us bumping into mirrors and glass! Not great if one has infants.

I did not use the F&B facilities as the dining options 10 seconds across the road at The Paragon were good and cheaper!

Overall, it is still the best option for those wanting to have easy access to Paragon & Siam Square and its environs. Hopefully the software gates more training and improves to make this a true winner

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My stay at the Siam Kempinski was faultless. The hotel is great but the service is what makes it really special. Loved the saxophonist in the lobby too. Am planning another trip back in October.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Excellent hotel, PERIOD. The staff is well trained and friendly. Apparently, the management is committed to run this as a 6 star services hotel and they have succeeded. From the way they check you in to all the requests and queries you have on restaurants or places to go for the staff and their respond, the quality of amenities provided by the hotel, definitely this is a 6 star service on 5 star price. So the value is well above its costs. I also like the big piece of grass area in the centre of the pool area which is a great balance to a hotel right in the centre of the city. And don't overlook the convenience of this hotel and the shuttle service to Central World nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMSPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

It is ridiculous to wait an hour for the room to get ready as we pay in full in advance for booking and we are checking in at 3pm. The reception girl said she is trying to prepare a higher floor room with better view if i can wait for an hour. We come back an hour later she give us a room at 3rd floor??? We then ask the girl is the room ready an hour ago is in ground floor?? She just keep apologize but she can do nothing.
The room was tiny and not even has an area for you to unpack.
The services was terrible and the hotel is full of louding talking peoples around the lobby and restaurant.
If i traval to bangkok again i will definitelt go back to penisula or mandarin oriental.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KateMorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Summary:
Excellent hotel. I would definitely stay there again if I had to book a hotel in Bangkok. Very clean, spacious, excellent facilities and the Siam Paragon shopping centre is just across the road (about 15 steps door to door). My fiancé was quite impressed with the hotel and she's very hard to please.

Long version:
We stayed in the Residences area of the hotel as we were there for a week. Residences rooms have basic cooking facilities which might be of interest to long term visitors. But there is plenty of cheap yummy foods within minutes walk from the hotel. The room was very spacious with ample room for two people to stay comfortably. We had a room facing inwards towards the pool which was very nice. Breakfast at the hotel was really good. There was a wide selection of oriental and western breakfast options. Breakfast items seemed to change daily so there's plenty of variety there.

I was quite impressed with how pretty the hotel is. The lobby area is very well decorated with a Thai theme yet it's still very modern. The pool area and garden areas were very well maintained.

Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless.

The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were nice.

All the staff were very nice and friendly.

My fiancé noticed the bottle of sparkling wine on ice at breakfast. One of the staff members must have noticed her noticing the wine and brought her a glass without her asking. He continued to bring her a glass every morning for the rest of our stay. That's a really nice touch I think.

One thing to take note of: Make sure they provide you with new bottles of water in your minibar as the tap water in Thailand isn't safe to drink. We had a couple of days when we weren't provided new bottles of water. This is quickly remedied by a quick phone call to the reception.

Internet:
There was free internet in our room. Although it was only 256kb. If we wanted the faster connection it was 600baht per day.

Taxi:
I had to make a number of trips to the airport to collect people and found that taxi's to/from Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok's new airport) cost me between 260 to 350 baht. I found it was cheaper to not take the tollway at 3am in the morning. Not sure if this is the same during the day. If you do take the tollway it will cost you 70baht extra for the toll.

Food:
Siam Paragon has a very large food court with lots of different cuisines. But I always like hawker food. If you are after some "street" food then there are a couple of stalls just east of the hotel. Take the road which runs between the hotel and Siam Paragon and head east (turn left as you exit the hotel (side entrance not the front lobby entrance)). It's less than a 100m walk. You'll see some stalls. It's all very nice food. I especially like the soup noodles.

Room Tip: Residences are cheaper but require you to make bookings of 6 or more nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 866 in Bangkok
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 866 in Bangkok
3,172 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Address: 991/9 Rama I Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe's oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious "resort within a city," boasts 401 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing