We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #24 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

From start to finish this hotel was excellent. We had just arrived from Koh Phi Phi islands feeling rather grotty and hot so this was heaven. The entrance hall was beautiful and we were asked to wait while the lady at reception filled in all the check in details for us so we didnt have to lift a finger! We were then escorted to our room and our bags arrived shortly afterwards. We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was the cheapest and total heaven. The bed was huge and really soft, the marble bathroom was stunning and we had a nice view of the courtyard/pool. We opted not to have breakfast at the hotel as this seemed overpriced but got some smoothies and fruit and parstries at the Siam Paragon (huge shopping center) opposite. Throughout our stay the staff were wonderful and very helpful with recommendations for dinner and sights and we were helpfully given a card with the hotels address on it in Thai - the taxi drivers speak very little english so this was extremely useful.
The pools (there are 3) were rather cold but just what you need in that heat and very comfortable sun loungers with 2 large towels. We didnt have time to try the spa sadly. Bangkok as a whole I didnt find that special but I would probably go back/stop over just to stay at the Kempinski.

Room Tip: deluxe room was great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    422
    94
    36
    35
See reviews for
600
729
79
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Siam Kempinski Bangkok, Cabana Room in February 2012. Hotel is about 45 mins away from the airport and if you take a metered taxi from the airport, it will probably cost around THB 700 per trip. We took a limousine taxi from the airport and it costed us THB 950.

In general, this is definitely a great place to stay in, conveniently located to all malls - ie, Siam Paragon, Central World etc. We even walked to MBK and Siam Discovery Centre which is about 20 mins away by foot. There are also a few clean, decent Thai massage places nearby the hotel, about 10 mins walk.

The buffet selection is pretty decent with sufficient variety to choose from even if you do not order anything from the ala-carte menu. I personally do not find the ala-carte menu impressive though.

The Cabana room will be great for families with young kids as it is attached just beside the pool. All rooms come with a Lavazza coffee making machine.

Complimentary WIFI Internet is given to only 1 device per room (single-basis), or 2 devices for twin-sharing rooms.

Like all previous reviews, the hotel staff (from front desk to concerige to restaurants' service personnel and more..) are all very friendly and converse well in English.

Definitely will be back again in Siam Kempinski during my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KuroroMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gander, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is my third stay at this hotel. Each visit has been for between 2-3 weeks so you get to know a hotel pretty well. You can't fault this hotel for what is is and offers. Luxury, service location. It is expensive so I can't say that it's good value for money when you look at it's competitors. The decor and layout are ultra modern and the glass walled bathrooms may not be evryones cup of tea. (But there are curtains). You are however in a Kempinski, which could be in any city of the world, and I know that is exactly what a lot of people like. There is no Thailand past the front door. The only two slightly negative comments I would say is that the free form pool doesn't suit me, as I like to swim lenghts each day, but that's a personal view and I'm sure many others will love it. The other question is its location. Next to Paragon Centre right in the centre of the shopping district, it is great for that, shopping. For an extended stay in Bangkok, where you might like the odd day of rest I would lean towards to Shangri-La, on the river and 10 minutes train ride to the shopping centres.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big enough verandah to sit out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our second stay was even better than the first one.

We used the hotel car for the transfer from the airport to the hotel; excellent driver and car.

Upon arrival we were upgraded from an executive to a deluxe suite.

The deluxe suite was huge and simply gorgeous. The lay-out of the suite was perfect and everything was in perfect order; extremely comfortable bed. The only negative point is the very limited surface to put things in the bathroom.

We only used the executive lounge for breakfast. The lounge is beautiful and it is so much more relaxing to have breakfast here compared to the much more hectic restaurant on the ground floor.

The pool/garden area is fantastic, a great place to escape the stress of Bangkok.

The fitness facilities are fabulous.

Everything about this place is fantastic. The only minor annoyance is getting to/from the hotel by car since traffic is very chaotic around the Siam Paragon mall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A superb hotel, located next to the Sian Paragon shopping centre, and within walking distance to a few other shopping centers.
This is a fairly new 5 star hotel, with excellent service and facilities throughout.
I stayed in an executive suite, that offered all the facilities one can expect, for a business traveller, and more.
Excellent attention to detail in all areas.
A beautiful room. Very good presentation and range of amenities.
Friendly staff who remembered your name, several restaurants and bars to choose from.
I truly enjoyed my stay, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtaragao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Given the wealth of choices of five-star hotels in Bangkok (all really a bargain comparing their rates, service and overall quality vs those in other cities like Singapore, Hong Kong and Tokyo, not to mention New York or London or Paris), I actually wanted to sample another hotel since my wife and I have stayed at the Kempinski before. But she insisted, and of course I obliged. And how glad I was to have gone along with my dear wife's choice.

Since we only had 24 hours in the city we didn't want to waste our time on the legendary Bangkok traffic. Kempinski was definitely the right choice: close to skytrain, next to the best shopping in town with a wonderful foodcourt, nearby a decent massage place... All amidst beautiful resort surroundings with a free form pool and palm trees.

But what stands out is the service. Everything handled so efficiently and with a genuine smile. From front office and bell captain to business centre and breakfast buffet, we just felt that our issues and concerns became their issues and concerns, so were all handled the best they could.

If I were to find fault in the system, probably just the size of the room (decent enough but nothing deserving a "wow") and the breakfast made to order items (eggs benedict and pancakes) falling short of my expectations. But they barely cause a dent in my overall impression of the hotel.

Perhaps as my wife said when we were in the taxi after checking out, we really desire no other place to stay in Bangkok. And trust me, this is really is the biggest compliment one can give in this city (please refer to my first paragraph above).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yau Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a wonderful 5-day stay at Siam Kempinski. We have tried a few other 5 stars hotels in the City before and this might be the best so far.

Situated just next to Siam Paragon makes shopping and dining very convenient. And it was just a short walk to the bts station via Siam Paragon.

We were deeply impressed by the chic and graceful lobby. There were flowers in every corner and the arrangement in the centre was especially gorgeous. The adjoined pools in the heart of the property and the meticulous garden was the best spot to chill out. We felt like in a resort rather than in the hustle and bustle city centre.

Our executive suite was spacious and comfy. The two big closets was an exception in a city hotel! The only negative here was the disproportionately small bathroom with very little space for our own toiletries and hanging clothes.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There was even a golf cart service to take guests to the Central World Plaza so we did not have to walk over there under the heat.

Tea at T lounge was a pleasant experience. We enjoyed the music very much!

When it comes to food, we had very delectable room-serviced lunch on the first day then a very nice breakfast on our last. However, they definitely needed some improvement in the buffet breakfast provided in Brasserie Europa. The food tasted bland and some hot dishes even overcooked despite the wide variety of choices. The situation was even worse in the executive lounge. The waiting staff kept forgetting our coffee and needed to be reminded several times. Our dinner at Sra Bua was pricey and disappointing. The food was unpalatable.

Regardless of the unpleasant dining experience, this is still our first choice of stay in our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starbo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 871 in Bangkok
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 871 in Bangkok
3,179 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Address: 991/9 Rama I Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe's oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious "resort within a city," boasts 401 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing