We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxe stay with great location and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Luxe stay with great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Prior to arrival, I had several correspondences with the Chief Concierge Khun Theerasak to request for restaurant recommendations, assist in making reservations and requests for bike tours in and outside of Bangkok. I was very impressed with the information and service provided. I also had correspondences with the Duty Manager, Khun Jaruwan who was very helpful and informed me of the cooking class offered for kids in the Kid's Club, which we signed up for.
Upon arrival, I was very pleased with the warm welcome and prompt check-in. The rooms are fabulous. Very high end, clean and comfortable.
Housekeeping was very good. They added little touches like changing our fruits everyday, leaving cookies and milk before bedtime for my 2 boys, etc...
Location is very good. Close to the Siam BTS which has 2 lines. Being very central, traffic is very congested around the area, especially coming in. BTS is recommended!!
We were there during a very busy time (after Christmas to New Year) and the breakfast was very crowded and busy. They opened the Thai Resto as an alternative breakfast place which was more quiet, subdued and had better service.
The gym is very complete, clean, nice and great service too! Check with the hotel for the schedule of classes.
I would recommend that they re-look at what they have to offer for New Year's Eve. It would need a little more excitement and she-bang. It would also help if the hotel provided hats and horns in the room on the 31st of Decemer to add to the atmosphere.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and won't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    382
    87
    33
    33
See reviews for
542
677
73
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

You cannot beat the location unless you want to stay right at the river, but this hotel is very centrally located. The giant Siam paragon mall is literally a 2-minute walk from the hotel, yet the hotel is surrounded by luscious gardens on one side and is very calm despite being in the hub of Bangkok.
New and modern rooms, impeccable and clean! The rooms are really comfortable and amenities are of top quality- what you would expect from a very good Kempinski. Nice reception and lounge area and the gym is very good and functional. Internet was perfect throughout the hotel.
The pool area is very nice and once seated you get a cold towel, a bottle of water and stick of fruits- yummy. You want to choose your pool seats carefully since the sun disappear early in the afternoon from parts of the area due to buildings that block sunlight around the pool.
The rooms as I mentioned were very clean and you almost never see the cleaning staff althoug the room seemed to be ready and clean the minute we walked in and out!
Now come two points I did not appreciate and they are probably both linked to the same reason:
1/ The receptionists that welcomed us kept telling us about welcome drinks that will arrive, but they never made it although we were sitting and waiting for our rooms in the lounge area for a considerable amount of time.
2/ The breakfast area in the morning was so packed it was intimidating and the service was very poor: cold coffee after waiting for a long time to be served, very crowded buffet and an agitated staff that is obviously under stress from the dozens and dozens of huge families that flocked together for breakfast. I should point out that I stayed at this hotel just after the new year, so it appears that they hotel was at full capacity and that the services could not follow. So I really recommend that they train their staff to handle a very large breakfast area and because it was holidays the amount of people was significant so I sympathized with the staff. The very next day I started having my breakfasts at the lounge/club floor and it was like night and day- perfect and up to the standards of services expected.

Room Tip: From the sixth floor, probably fifth too, and above you have very nice views of the sky-line and try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The Lady in Red Concierce service was wonderful. Jia arranged with the chefs(who came out personally to talk with me) to have gluten free fare at the hotel restaurants and the breakfast buffet. She also printed a card in Thai describing the gluten free diet to present to outside restaurants as well.
I am very sensitive to gluten and did not get "glutened" at all during my stay there.
This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and was told by our local Thai team that this hotel claims to be 6 stars... I believe it! From the car service in 7 series BMW, to the check-in in my room, to the lovely touches (like fruit in the room and a free minibar), everything was tasteful and luxury. I even loved my in-room toiletries. The staff were extremely professional and accomodating- and I loved the sleek uniforms that included a cape for the women. The included breakfast buffet was delish and i only wished I hadn't been on a business trip so I could have spent some time at the restful pool. Next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdb1127104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star experience - from hassle free check in, beautiful rooms and bathrooms, restaurants, swimming pools, kids club, and the overall service we received including the "little extras" - giving my daughter a silk elephant toy upon arrival, lots of fruits everyday in our room, a chocolate sculpture and other nightly things they put in our room, choice of pillows for your bed, free mini bar, breakfast til 11:00 AM, and the option of having it in the coffee shop or at the Sra Bua restaurant. They also provide a golf cart for your use during your stay.
We also had a wonderful dinner at Sra Bua. One of the best dining experiences I've ever had and well worth the 2,500+ baht per head. I think this is a must for all foodies.
The Paragon Mall is across the street from the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Mostly all the rooms face the pool. There are some rooms with balconies and some without. So do make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We pre-arranged a BMW 7 Series airport transfer for 2,800 baht and was swiftly driven to the hotel in comfort (the in-car wifi was especially convenient). Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and shown to our Executive Room on the 9th floor for an in-room check-in.

The entire check-in process was very efficient and everything we needed to know about the hotel/room was explained to us. Taking a step back, the first impression of Siam Kempinski is simply stunning, the extremely tall ceiling, grand lobby and fine detail to the decor adds a luxurious yet comfortable feel to the hotel.

Our room was spacious, clean, modern, everything you'd expect from a true 5 star hotel (certainly at the upper-end of 5 stars). The private balcony overlooking the pool was a nice addition. Fresh tropical fruits were provided each day as well as complimentary mini-bar. High-speed wifi is also free for Exec Rooms (otherwise 600 baht per day).

Breakfast at the Executive Lounge on level 17 was partially a la carte together with a selection of food in buffet style. The lounge itself is comfortable and doesn't feel too busy, staff are attentive. If I really wanted to pick on things, an area for improvement would be the selection on offer at breakfast, the food was the same for all 5 night stay and even breakfast at the lobby restaurant offered the same food as the lounge.

The gym is extremely well equipped and opens 24 hours. Separate male and female steam, sauna and spa is available in the changing rooms. Even though the gym is opened to paying members as well as hotel guests, it doesn't feel busy at all.

Siam Paragon is literally next door, 1 min walk to the Ground level next to the car park entrance. Shops open from 10am (but most after 11) and there are plenty of food options. The hotel offers buggy service to Central World which is about 5 mins away, or walking on the sky bridge will take no more than 15 mins. Siam Centre was closed for renovations, re-opening in Jan 2013 but you can walk through a car park from Paragon through to Siam Discovery. There are plenty of shops around Kempinski and we never had to step out of Siam.

The on-site thai restaurant Sra Bua is definitely worth a try. The 10 course meal was fantastic - thai food at its best (just under 2,000 baht for hotel guests), add another 950 for cocktail pairing. Definitely comparable to the likes of Sala Rim Naam over at Mandarin Oriental.

The Spa on level 7 was alright but not convincing enough to justify the much higher price compared to other spas around. Definitely worth a go but my recommendation would be Spa Cenvaree over at Centara Grand.

Overall, of the 16 mainly 4-5 star hotels I've stayed in 2012 around the world, Siam Kempinski wins the best overall hotel for me personally. Will be very happy to stay here again on our next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Opt for the Executive Room or if budget allows, the Cabana Rooms with direct access to the pool. Bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was very comfortable. A beautiful bathroom with glass window into the room and a separate toilet (with a door for privacy). The bathroom has electric blinds you can lower so you can put the light on for night visits to the loo! The bed was very comfortable and large with lovely soft pillows. The breakfast is served either in the garden or bistro and is freshly cooked to order. There is also a great choice of a huge variety of foods from the buffet. We ate lunch in the restaurant once and that too was lovely and reasonably priced. The pool in the garden is a lovely place to relax after the busy city and they provide you with water to drink and towels. With the Siam Paragon shopping mall opposite, which has many places to eat, the sky train 5 minutes walk away and Siam Square very close the hotel is well located in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garforthsoulmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 845 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 845 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Address: 991/9 Rama I Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe's oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious "resort within a city," boasts 401 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Destinology, Holiday Gems and Southall Travel so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing