We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Siam Kempinski is perfectly situated if you are a shopper. Siam paragon is opulence itself with every upscale shop imaginable. In addition, within a few minutes walk, there are about 3 other malls with wonderful shops of all sorts. It is also located right on the BTS which will whisk you anywhere most want to go.
Now, to the hotel itself: it is divided into 2 sections depending on your length of stay. There is the hotel proper and the residence which is for longer term stay (1 week plus). The rooms are large and well appointed although the bathroom amenities could be upgraded. I found the service to be pleasant and attentive. The breakfast buffet is nice and offers a selection of western and Asian items. Their Thai restaurant is fabulous. I highly recommend the tasting menu but allow plenty of time.
The pool I goes around the edge of the garden and is enclosed by the hotel's building. The setting is lovely and peaceful, it feels very removed from the hustle of Bangkok. The gym is very well equipped and offers all kinds of good classes from cross training to yoga.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbp59716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    395
    90
    34
    34
See reviews for
565
703
76
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a great time during our stay here. The property is made and maintained well. Staff is helpful & friendly. It is in walking proximity to two big malls. The rooms are good but could have been a little more spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnMyTravels_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here 4 nights for our honeymoon in Jan 2014. We had an amazing stay here from start to finish. I recommend paying the extra for the executive club rooms on the 9th floor as the view and extras included and access to club lounge are second to none. All the staff(lady in Red, Porters, door men, staff in the Club Lounge, waiters, reception, everyone) are warm,courteous and ever so helpful but more importantly couldn't do enough to make your stay an excellent one. Food is wonderful and so is the spa and gym facilities.
The location for us couldn't be better as I didnt want to be on the river as there is more to see and do in downtown Bkk and all wlking distance, skytrain or taxi ride away. (tuk tuk are more expensive). The hotel recommended BodyTune, for a massage (if we didn't want to use their spa), 2 stops on skytrain (real easy) and an excellent Thai massage. We went twice!!! It is easy to visit all the main attractions from Siam Kempinski as Siam Station (skytrain) is a 5 min walk through the Siam Paragon Mall. Then from the main pier Satthorn you can do all the wonderful main attractions on the Chao River express boat (orange flag 15 baht only) or the tourist boat (150baht) but here you get on and off your boat as many times as you wish.
This stay made our jet lag bearable and all the facilities and gardens, pools to recover a pleasant relaxing joy and you are right in the middle of everything. A little peace of heaven in the heart of Bangkok. A huge thank you everyone and we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: I truly recommend the Club Lounge and all its benefits on the 9th floor. The restaurant for the club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelanieWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stated here for 4 days
The room is nice but the toiletries are of poor quality
The club lounge offers good quality food and drinks and the service is excellent
The food at breakfast was of a good standard and sparkling wine was available

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have recently stayed in Bangkok at the Kempinski and it was a truly wonderful stay. Staff, the rooms, the hotel, the service simply everything.
Especially the breakfast buffet is great, the Executive Lounge offers a large range of food and drinks.
Absolutely enjoyed as well the pool and Gym area.
GREAT hotel!

Room Tip: The cabana rooms are just GREAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at this great hotel several times and written a review of it before and had said that despite its lovely infrastructure and location, the hotel's management is often arrogant and rigid. During my last stay I had pre-paid for a Premier Room and was inexplicably downgraded upon check-in to a lower-priced Deluxe Room but was not informed of this. I discovered this by chance a day before I checked out and when I complained, they admitted that I had paid for a Premier Room in the Garden Wing but had been downgraded to a cheaper room in the Royal Wing. When I asked that I be credited for the price difference, I was told this was not possible! I had to demand to meet with the hotel manager before they grudgingly credited my card.

My latest stay was from Sunday 19 Jan to Thursday 23 Jan 2014. This visit coincided with the huge anti-government demonstrations that have seen a few people killed and the Thai Government has just declared a state of emergency. The roads around the hotel are all blocked by demonstrators and barricades and getting to and from the hotel in a taxi or car is a nightmare. As such the hotel, like many in the Thai capital, is suffering from the lowest occupancy in years— the Kempinski is at only 20% according to staff I have spoken with. You would think that at such a time, when a guest asks for a late checkout, that request would be easily granted. But not here. As with other times, the hotel prizes its rules more than its relationship with its guests and giving a guest a late checkout—even at a time when only 20% of the rooms are filled—is against the rules. This is a bizarre inflexibility and arrogance that does not build loyalty for the hotel. Despite its world class facilities and excellent location, the hotel's management style and culture just leaves guests with a bad taste in their mouths.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eaststar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I spent only one night there
The hotel is good but a bit overrated in my view
The staff is not particularly kind, but overall professional
My room was pretty large and on two levels and overall clean
Breakfast was not impressive
To sum up: a good hotel, too large may be and "impersonal"
There are better hotels in the city with astonishing view from the room for the same price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#17 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Address: 991/9 Rama I Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe's oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious "resort within a city," boasts 401 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Destinology, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing