We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised service and attentive advice”
Review of Merlin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merlin Lodge
Ranked #788 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The best part of this hotel stay was the host, Ken, who was always on hand to share local knowledge and provide recommendations for ways to spend time in his city. I had a problem with a dodgy money change deal and Ken kindly accompanied me back to the office the following day to translate and intervene on my behalf. This hotel is a work in progress, being renovated currently. It's a little out of town but there's a new skyway station literally at the doorstep, so an easy commute. The hotel rooms are basic but clean, with hot shower and 100% reliable free wifi in the room. Try to get a room further back in the hotel, because the ones on the main road are noisy. Overall, good value and guests are made to feel very "at home". If you stay less than 3 nts and are not entitled to the free hotel transfer, you can arrange with Ken to collect you at the airport for a moderate charge only.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel - quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

I spent a couple of nights here in Feb 2011. The hotel is very much a work in progress Project. The internet cafe is being set up along with the shop nearby. Once the sky train is extended it will benefit Merlin Lodge as a stop from the extended line is right outside. Until then the nearest stop is On Nut a 15 min walk, in Bangkok heat.
I booked via the internet and received prompt reply from Ken who came and picked me up along with my luggage. Both Ken and his wife are friendly and helpful. The hotel is basic rooms have a TV and shower and air con and as near a main road can be a little noisy. However given the price is better than some other guest houses nearby.
In summary you get what you pay for and I found at that price reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cavey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The Merlin Lodge is an old building but has experienced some major make-over and everything looks new. The dining room is warm with family atmosphere and the sofa in the bar section is heaven after a long walk in the heat of Bangkok. The owner, Ken, picked us up from the airport and he is the nicest host I have ever had in my "guest house" experience. Ken and family even threw us a farewell dinner.

We booked a family room with 2 queen size beds which were perfect for the 4 of us. The room is a bit small but we didnt need a big room anyway. The bathroom was small but good enough especially with the hot water. A TV also available in the room. Not to mention free wifi which we're lucky enough could enjoy from our bedroom.

Merlin Lodge is located on the road side and might a bit noisy. Merlin Lodge will open their own convenience store soon which is located on the 1st floor. Siam Paradise Night market is within a walking distance (10-15 min) and you can find a very decent eating place. But we chose to cross the street (from Siam Nite Market), and indulged our appetite with local food which were so delish. There are some small local restaurants a few meter from Merlin Lodge but all are closed during the night. If you take the bus to the nearest BTS station (On Nut - 7 minutes), you'll also find a place full with food stalls and it was the best place to eat (which was our choice for all our dinners while in Bangkok).

The only downside is that it will need to take a 7 minutes ride with the local bus the nearest BTS station. Any nonAC bus will take you there. BUT, it wont be a problem starting from August 2011 as the new BTS station will be open just in front of the Merlin Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dugong-on-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I've travelled to Bangkok so many times over the years and have always stayed in the same place because its great,,, this time we thought we would try something new ,, just because...
We found Merlin Lodge on the net and their communication was fast, courteous and to the point. When we arrived at BKK airport we were met by Ken (an Indian Thai guy and owner of Merlin Lodge) He was immediately likeable and over the few days we stayed there he was always available and full of helpful local information,,, far more than the standard tourist stuff (which I have done to death) Ken was really helpful when I needed to get some electronics repaired, he even took it to the service guy for me. I really can't fault Ken as a host, hope to see him again some time.
As for the lodge it was a work in progress but getting very close to completion. The area wasnt tourist central which was good for us. If you are disillusioned by Khao San then you will like it here. There are some really nice mid range Thai restaurants just up the road but not too much street food unfortunately (at least we didnt find any)
The room we stayed in was right on Sukumvit and it was pretty noisy from first thing in the morning which may bother some people, but there are plenty of rooms back from the road which would be alot quieter. Our room was really good value, big and clean.
Cheers Ken!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank david_hartono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natty2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 891 in Bangkok
8,754 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#84 of 891 in Bangkok
2,806 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Lodge

Address: Sukhumvit Soi 64 | Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £17 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERLIN LODGE is a small 20 rooms hotel for budget travellers Located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit road next to the BTS (skytrain) station. Its Cafe'and restaurant serves fast food, french bakery, and a minimart - all open 24 hrs. "3 star accomodation at 1 star price" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Merlin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing