We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not dealt with honestly”
Review of Merlin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merlin Lodge
Ranked #787 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we confirmed a price with owner by e-mail, and upon arrival (and carrying our heavy bags across the city) the price increased by 100 baht per night over and above what he quoted to us by e-mail. We showed the proprieter the e-mail he sent us, but he would not acknowledge it, even though it was there in black and white. We were not comfortable dealing with the proprieter if he was not going to be honest with us. We stayed elsewhere, closer to the center of the city at a similiar price. The lounge area was filled with clutter. A very disorganized establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobinRockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

The establishment is clean but very untidy. The entrance looks like a recovery from a natural disaster. We had dust on surfaces in our room and water marks on furniture from bottles/glasses. There was no soap or shampoo and when we asked for some, received a shampoo/conditioner bottle - impossible to rinse from the body. When we asked to buy water from the fridge in the common area, the staff did not have the key. That was the bad. Ken is a very helpful individual who is full of good advice, willingly given. He has a wealth of knowledge that proved correct and useful on each occasion that we asked. The access to the Skytrain and bus system is excellent and convenient.

Room Tip: Spartan but acceptable 2-Star accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

i was there in the Bangkok for three nights and i stayed in this hotel and its was excellent in service and cleanliness ...I always advice this hotel for the people who like to spend their time in bangkok , as it is the best hotel with Good haspitality with lowest price

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chsamuelreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights and the owner Ken is a wonderful guy! Very basic in accommodation but you are only in your room to sleep anyway...Ken is refurbishing the downstairs area, so it will be great when it is all finished....the BTS is right outside the door and McDonalds and Subway is just a walk up the road! Ken even gave us dinner on our last night! What a fantastic host, always ready with maps and information....thanks for a great stay Ken!

Great for the cost and its location!

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor as the steps are quite steep and lugging your bag up and down them may be a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrorbull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The best part of this hotel stay was the host, Ken, who was always on hand to share local knowledge and provide recommendations for ways to spend time in his city. I had a problem with a dodgy money change deal and Ken kindly accompanied me back to the office the following day to translate and intervene on my behalf. This hotel is a work in progress, being renovated currently. It's a little out of town but there's a new skyway station literally at the doorstep, so an easy commute. The hotel rooms are basic but clean, with hot shower and 100% reliable free wifi in the room. Try to get a room further back in the hotel, because the ones on the main road are noisy. Overall, good value and guests are made to feel very "at home". If you stay less than 3 nts and are not entitled to the free hotel transfer, you can arrange with Ken to collect you at the airport for a moderate charge only.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel - quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I spent a couple of nights here in Feb 2011. The hotel is very much a work in progress Project. The internet cafe is being set up along with the shop nearby. Once the sky train is extended it will benefit Merlin Lodge as a stop from the extended line is right outside. Until then the nearest stop is On Nut a 15 min walk, in Bangkok heat.
I booked via the internet and received prompt reply from Ken who came and picked me up along with my luggage. Both Ken and his wife are friendly and helpful. The hotel is basic rooms have a TV and shower and air con and as near a main road can be a little noisy. However given the price is better than some other guest houses nearby.
In summary you get what you pay for and I found at that price reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cavey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The Merlin Lodge is an old building but has experienced some major make-over and everything looks new. The dining room is warm with family atmosphere and the sofa in the bar section is heaven after a long walk in the heat of Bangkok. The owner, Ken, picked us up from the airport and he is the nicest host I have ever had in my "guest house" experience. Ken and family even threw us a farewell dinner.

We booked a family room with 2 queen size beds which were perfect for the 4 of us. The room is a bit small but we didnt need a big room anyway. The bathroom was small but good enough especially with the hot water. A TV also available in the room. Not to mention free wifi which we're lucky enough could enjoy from our bedroom.

Merlin Lodge is located on the road side and might a bit noisy. Merlin Lodge will open their own convenience store soon which is located on the 1st floor. Siam Paradise Night market is within a walking distance (10-15 min) and you can find a very decent eating place. But we chose to cross the street (from Siam Nite Market), and indulged our appetite with local food which were so delish. There are some small local restaurants a few meter from Merlin Lodge but all are closed during the night. If you take the bus to the nearest BTS station (On Nut - 7 minutes), you'll also find a place full with food stalls and it was the best place to eat (which was our choice for all our dinners while in Bangkok).

The only downside is that it will need to take a 7 minutes ride with the local bus the nearest BTS station. Any nonAC bus will take you there. BUT, it wont be a problem starting from August 2011 as the new BTS station will be open just in front of the Merlin Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dugong-on-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,641 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 891 in Bangkok
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Lodge

Address: Sukhumvit Soi 64 | Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #787 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERLIN LODGE is a small 20 rooms hotel for budget travellers Located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit road next to the BTS (skytrain) station. Its Cafe'and restaurant serves fast food, french bakery, and a minimart - all open 24 hrs. "3 star accomodation at 1 star price" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Merlin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing