We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The St. Regis Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had such a fabulous experience from the moment we arrived at the St. Regis Bangkok. The staff was incredible, our room was beautiful, and every detail was taken care of flawlessly. Their breakfast, oh their breakfast! The best ever! We will stay there every time we are ever back in Bangkok. The connection to the skytrain in incredibly convenient as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    324
    86
    47
    20
See reviews for
299
616
139
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October. Having stayed at the Puerto Rico St. Regis earlier this year, we had relatively high expectations. Pick-up at the airport was seamless, and checking in the hotel went very quickly. We were escorted directly to our room. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the recreational park and pool. The location of this hotel is fantastic, in an upscale neighborhood, and connected to the sky train. The design, decor, layout, etc. of this hotel are all top notch. We paid for the buffet breakfast each morning which was amazing! Food and service in all of the restaurants was great and what we expected. We really enjoyed the 6:30PM complimentary champagne service. We also had some friends staying at the end of the street at the Intercontinental. We did not care much for the design/décor of the hotel and rooms, but their service was outstanding. One thing that we noticed right away about their hotel staff was that they had memorized our friends’ names and the cocktails that they liked on day one. Also, their gym was much nicer with staff to assist with towels and instructions for the machines. They also had classes. Also, we were supposed to have a "butler," but nobody ever introduced themselves?!? Given the reputation of this hotel, they really need to take it up a notch on service. Everything else is just too perfect to let that part slip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bzambito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The St Regis is certainly a 5 star property in the heart of Bangkok, as is to be expected under this name and this price. Absolutely no complaints with reference to the property or the service. However, as there are numerous properties in Bangkok at this level of service and price we will try elsewhere on our next visit. This is not to say the St Regis is not an excellent hotel, but when a city has so many hotel options, why would you stay at the same place twice?

For those that are interested, we travelled with our 5 month old son and this did not prove a problem for staff. The butler service were able to sterilise bottles, dummies etc. on request, even late in to the night. Luxury transfers to/from airport provided top range car seat and were good value, considering the level of service (includes personal escort from gate to car).

A special mention to front of house staff who safely stored our bags on property during our 4 day trip to Khao Lak (our stay at the St Regis was on either side of this trip). Our bags were also stored between free late check out and our flight, where we were also invited to use the excellent pool facilities during out wait. Much appreciated service, which may convince us to again choose the St Regis if we find ourselves in a similar situation during our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

St Regis is a nice hotel, any complaints are trivial (such as a very confusing system for controlling room lighting). The issue is that there are many hotels in BKk at a similar level. So my recommendation is to only stay at st Regis if they offer a good deal, otherwise try one of the many others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Is that it promotes an expectation of SUPERLATIVE service and experience, when clearly so MUCH of it's offerings are ripe for DISAPPOINTMENT.

Check in was slow, meandering and morose. I arrived at exactly 2 PM, and you would think that this is the standard time for check in; it took 45 minutes for them to get me into my room. Beautiful, admittedly. Rich, lush, new--every appointment you might expect available. Butler service seemed sincere and helpful--and I had the opportunity to test it.

There is free wifi in public areas, but one needs a code. It worked at the onset, but once you leave the pool area and return, you have to reset it once again. Here is where my major debacle began. The pool attendants were quick to help even if it was obviously beyond their capacity. Someone from front desk promised to come up and help--20 minutes later, no one. I finally went back to my room because it had turned dark and just attempting to get the free wifi by the lobby or poolside was impossible. In due course, THREE people attempted to make it work, altogether taking TWO hours and still nothing. My smartphone was left useless with all sorts of new programs and the St. Regis had taken on a sour note because I had missed two appointments. A terrible beginning.

I will say this though--the three personnel who attempted to help were truly apologetic but when the hardware doesn't work in a hotel of this calibre--there really is no excuse. Still, they were kind enough to offer a complimentary massage at Elemis and yes, that did ease the rub.

Dinner at Jojo was mediocre at best--I had the foie gras and wagyu special. Overly salted foie, so so wagyu. Dessert was a disaster--a molten chocolate concoction that was overcooked like a brownie. I pointed it out to the server and they were kind enough to take it off the bill.

The problem then with the St. Regis is that it claims to be all these wonderful things and yet fails utterly in so many points like good food and dependable wifi. All the bowing and kowtowing and apologies become irritating after awhile because no one is getting the simplest of expectations right--even if the flowers are beautiful in the lobby, even when the apologies are sincere.

Yes, it's central. Yes, it's new. The pool is nice but too small. The gym is large but sparse. The spa is excellently bedecked and world class. Breakfast is rather raucous and not as refined as one might expect.

Perhaps the best way to enjoy the St. Regis is by toning down your expectations. However for the price point they ask for, for the advertising they extoll--you are made to expect highly. Be prepared to be disappointed and you just might enjoy it yet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVATravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 7 nights with wife and 3.5 old daughter at the St. Regis Bangkok in the St. Regis Suite.

I generally do quite an extensive research on hotels in the location where I'm staying. In Bangkok there are so many 5 star hotels that it's difficult to choose. However checking out other reviews on Tripadvisor and looking at the pictures, many of the hotels are getting rather dated. I like the modern design hotels and the St. Regis was the only one that qualified (checked out the Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental, Shangi-La amongst others). I've made the right choice!!.

I liked everything about the hotel, room was very spacious and well equipped with beautiful design. Gym has all the needed equipment (I'm a "sports freak") As others already mentioned, location is ideal having the Sky Train at the 2nd floor of the hotel. With Bangkok being such a busy city, the SkyTrain is THE way of transport across the city.

We arrived early and hotel personnel made all efforts to prepare the room prior to the official check-in time (15:00 pm) and they also gave us a late check out. From the minute we arrived until our departure the stay staff was helpful and did their best to make our holiday as comfortable as possible. They really made the difference.

Improvements??? Only thing I can think of is the (orange) juice during breakfast. Think it gets mixed with canned juice to make it taste a bit sweeter or some suger is added. Maybe people generally prefer that? During In Room Dining I specifically asked for fresh pressed orange juice and I did get it. Perhaps something to consider as option for breakfast as well. Considering that that was the only improvement I can think of, it says enough about the quality of the hotel and our enjoyment.

Next time we're in Bangkok, we will definitely stay at the St. Regis again.

Room Tip: Would book the room early as the rates are cheaper and go for the Suite. Good rates for the Suites c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimvh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a very unpleasant stay at St. Regis Bangkok recently. Four of us booked 2 Executive Deluxe rooms for 27th – 30th October 2012. We were extremely disappointed to find out at check-in, none of our simple requests were met. Prior to arrival, we emailed the hotel to make the following arrangement:

1. 2 connecting rooms
2. Twin beds in both rooms
3. Late check-out

I am sure everyone will agree that these are not over the top or unreasonable requests especially when we are talking about St. Regis, a top notch hotel. They were infact rather basic requests. We received positive email confirmation from the butler and sales manager.

Three of us have stayed at St. Regis Singapore on separate occasions and all had a wonderful experience. So we arrived with excitement and fully looking forward to a fabulous stay ahead but only to be met with a disastrous check-in encounter. At check-in, we were first told there were no connecting rooms followed by no late check-out. Imagine our sheer frustration when all we heard was “No, no and no” especially when we had email confirmation saying otherwise. We refused to check in to our rooms and asked to speak to the sales manager. Ten minutes later, we did not meet the sales manager to our disappointment but the front desk officer told us we could have the late check-out but the connecting rooms were not available. Instead, they offered us 2 rooms opposite each other. We tried to be nice and thought perhaps for this room category, there were no connecting rooms. We checked with the front desk officer and she said so hence we let the case rest as there was no point beating a dead horse. The officer also pointed out that our butler mentioned on email they will give us adjoining rooms which was different from connecting rooms. Here’s a kind English lesson from the hotel – adjoining rooms simply means side by side and not connecting. Pardon our English but when we asked for connecting rooms and the email reply simply said adjoining rooms without any further explanation, we took it that both adjectives mean the same thing. We were proved wrong obviously. English aside, the hotel had failed to give us the adjoining rooms they promised. Not to prolong our unexpected annoyance further, we accepted the rooms opposite to each other. Throughout the whole session at the front desk, we also had to struggle with an officer who did not have good English competency. I fully understand English is not the first language in Thailand but when you are in St. Regis, the last thing you should worry about is a language issue!


Just as we were all ready to put our disappointment behind us, a new wave of frustration set in right away. We reached our rooms only to learn a new meaning to the word “opposite” which to the hotel means 4 doors away from the other room. Upon entering the room, we saw a king bed to our utmost disappointment. We asked for twin beds before we flew out and how hard is it to understand this basic request? One cannot believe but ask how hard could this be, really??!!?? We were in St. Regis Bangkok for goodness sake, not some far flung backward city! We were so close to simply walking out to the Four Seasons next door or the Grand Hyatt further down the street. We called the front desk and they sent a senior butler, Mr. X (Paron Piya-A-Roon) who was very nice and empathised with our bad fortune. We told him this was just unacceptable and we had wasted way too much time sorting out the rooms when we had everything confirmed prior to arrival. We decided to proceed with our itinerary so we told him we would be back at 630pm and they should have the right rooms ready by then. One would have expected the hotel to offer a complimentary room upgrade for making their guests go through such a continuous chain of hiccups but no, this did not happen.

When we returned in the evening, Mr. X was waiting for us and brought us to our new rooms. When we entered the room, guess what was the first thing that greeted our eyes? A connecting door to the next room! Didn’t the front desk officer tell us this room category has no connecting rooms? Obviously, she did not understand us when we asked the question at the front desk which brings me back to the English competency issue mentioned earlier. The twin beds were there and the rooms were opposite each other in the right manner this time. We requested Mr. X to check for connecting rooms and were unfortunately told we had to pay an additional THB16,000 per room night (SGD640 or USD520) as only the suites have availability. We were paying THB6,000 (SGD240 or USD200) a room night so to pay more than double additionally just for connecting room was ridiculous. We feel this was a really simple request and it was pure bad planning by the hotel that let us down. The connecting door became an eyesore as every time we walked past it, we felt the disappointment all over again.

We had pre-booked our 60-minutes in-room massage for the first night through email. The hotel has accommodated our request for 1030pm whereby their last session was 10pm. This was a nice gesture. From the first email to the arrival of the masseurs, we were not told of the massage nor pricing choices so we thought it was standard pricing based on the duration. Next morning, we wanted to be sure so we checked with the front desk and to our annoyance, we were charged the most expensive option! The front desk told us to speak to the spa desk. We learnt subsequently the 60-minute massage ranges from THB3,500 to THB5,800. I had a foot massage which had only one pricing option so no issue with that. My friends wanted Thai massage which cost THB3,900. The price difference was SGD76 or USD62 before taxes. We explained the situation to the spa desk officer who told us she would speak to the manager to have the charges amended. We would expect such a stunt from seedy low-grade joints but definitely not from reputable hotels like St. Regis. We felt terrible. The next morning, we dropped by the front desk to ensure the bill has been revised. It was not but we were no longer surprised anymore at this stage. So, we had to go through another round of explanation. Seriously, it should not be this difficult. We were glad it was our last day as our patience was running narrowly thin.


We also found the housekeeping standard not up to par. On the second night, my friend found a new toothpick on the couch. The toothpick wrapper was from a restaurant we had not visited hence we knew for sure it was left behind by the previous guest. The tissue box in my bathroom was not topped up and ran out on the third morning. On the second day, the rubbish bin by the writing desk was not fully emptied. There should be 4 glasses, 2 tall and 2 short in each room. The used short glasses in my room were not replaced on the second day. They merely took away the used glasses without replacing with 2 new ones. All these pointed to shoddy housekeeping standards not expected from a first class hotel. One other thing to mention which was not major but would be expected of a top hotel – the electrical cord of the hair dryer remained as I had left it on Day 1 instead of being nicely coiled up.

The complimentary coffee and tea service was good. I particularly enjoyed the cappuccino and my friend liked the black coffee too! The staff at the main entrance was lovely. They were always polite, efficient and full of smiles. Twice we returned during the day to request them to bring our many shopping bags to our rooms as we continued on to our next destination. The bags were neatly placed in our room and the request to have the food bag put in the fridge was also adhered to. One of them was Mr. Teerapon and another was a lady whose name we did not manage to get.

Our room included breakfast. The food was alright but the spread was not fantastic. On the third day, Eggs Benedict came to mind. We did not expect this would be included but asked nonetheless. To our glee, they did serve it so we ordered 2 portions. Mine was disappointing as the egg yolk was totally overcooked like a hard-boiled egg. The best part of having Eggs Benedict is to cut through the egg and see the yolk oozing out. Unfortunately, it was only disappointment that oozed out that morning. We were rushing for time hence I did not ask for a fresh portion. I am not sure which is more disappointing – to be told they did not serve Eggs Benedict or be served a poorly cooked one. Not all the waiting staff in the restaurant spoke English so there goes another demerit point. There is one waitress worth mentioning. Her name is Pavika. She remembered our orders for coffee and juices from the day before which made us feel special. It is extra touches like this that set top hotels apart from the pack.

On the last day, we returned to the hotel in the afternoon for the late check-out. We were flabbergasted to find out the room keys were not working. The front desk failed to program the late check-out into our keys. I was in urgent need of using the bathroom and was thankful to find a housekeeping staff nearby who opened the door for us. To sum it all up, it was an awful experience from start to end when we had expected the best.

Room Tip: Triple confirm all requests on email prior to arrival, even then this may not guarantee the hotel fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank maychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bangkok

Property: The St. Regis Bangkok
Address: 159, Rajadamri Road | Lumpini Sub-District, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent St. Regis Hotel is a paean to timeless elegance, stately situated in Bangkok's most coveted address along Rajadamri Road, the city's key commercial corridor where major corporations and elite financial institutions make their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing