We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, great value”
Review of Charoendee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charoendee
Ranked #743 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Located just off Khao San, this is a great place for backpackers who want to enjoy the chaos and entertainment of Khao San. Rooms are very basic, with excellent, clean beds. If you take one with a shared bathroom and no aircon you pay 300 Baht (£6) a night for a single room and 450 for a double.

Staff is friendly and helpful. Has (sometimes slow) wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    27
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
2
20
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Clean, Cheap, Spotty wifi, On Khao San. I stayed during songkran festival and it was noisy til 3 or 4 am. But still worth a stay. Staff was nice and helpful also.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mose1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were very pleased with the place. We paid 20 a night for a double room, which was expensive considering what we are used to but, considering it included breakfast and free wifi and it is Bangkok, the price was alright.

The room was clean, quiet and cool, though our one was downstairs without windows. The breakfast was simple (coffee and toast) and the wifi had good connection in our rooms.

The staff were really polite. When we came back to Bangkok, we couldn't get a room there (Khao San is always busy) but they gave us use of the wifi regardless, twice!

They also have a nice nook at the front with a tv, DVDs and books if you have been without entertainment or just want to relax.

Finally, they are pretty central in Khao San road, but are insulated somewhat from the noise through being removed, accessible through a hallway arcade.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttomanScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights last November and I would recommend it to anyone who wouldn't mind the noise from the pubs on khao san road. the noise ends at about 3am but charoendee offers earplugs (for free) to its guests. it isn't right smack along the pubs (like a lot accomodations on khao san) so the noise here is a little less and would probably be the one of the best places to stay if you're thinking of staying at khao san.

we found the place by chance and luckily they had rooms available the day we arrived (thursday) because it was fully booked the next two days - so book a room early if you're planning to be there on a weekend.

the rooms and toilet/bathroom (shared) are very clean. the room is basic with just a small window but that's not a problem if you dont plan to stay in the room all day anyway. the place is very cosy and there's even a little place by the reception desk where you can sit down and read books or watch tv. toast and coffee/tea are provided every morning. the staff are great too.

this place is definitely value for money and i'd definitely go back the next time i'm in bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneKC412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jember, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

backpacking to bkk?i suggest u stay at charoendee hostel,strategic hostel in Khaosan Road, backpacker's road!just 550 THB for triple room, u can get discount if stay >3 night.
free wifi,breakfast... i miss it

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hastimagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We actually stayed here 3 different times within a month (had to travel to and from Bangkok several times because of a visa application), which means we really liked it :)

Rooms: The rooms are bright, clean and very nice. I love the interior in the whole place. Not too big, but plenty enough for two people. We stayed in a different room every time we were there, but I liked them all. Two of the rooms did not have aircon, only fan, so that was a little hot, but on the last stay we did have aircon which was nice. Clean beds and sheets.Windows that make it bright.

Sleep: A bit loud from Khao San Road, but it's farther away than many other places which is located directly on the street. It usually quiets down after 2 am, so not a big deal if you don't plan on going to bed at 10 pm.

Bathrooms: Shared bathrooms on 2nd floor, very clean and nice. Looks newly renovated and nothing like public bathrooms in Thailand tend to be. Private bathroom on 1st floor rooms, pretty much the same as the shared ones. Small, but functional. Nice hot showers.

Staff: Not the most helpful, but they do their job. Not always attentive to your needs, so you might need to remind them of your question if it seems like they have started doing something else than helping you.

Breakfast: Included in the price and consists of toast, jam/butter and tea/coffee. Basic, but fine. We bought yoghurts in addition, because two small pieces of toasts doesn't really keep you going for that long.

Internet is also included, wireless in the rooms or computers in the reception.

A bit hard to find, but it is located right next to a (family?) mart, so look for that. We passed the entrance several times, even after we checked in.

If I ever go to Bangkok again I would stay there again. Just love a place that is as clean and bright as this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisselSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#116 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House BKK
Green House BKK
#61 of 632 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Banglamphu
Center Point Plaza Hotel
Center Point Plaza Hotel
#463 of 1,188 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Crown Guesthouse
Crown Guesthouse
#784 of 1,188 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Banglamphu
At Home Guest House
At Home Guest House
#431 of 1,188 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#20 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charoendee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charoendee

Property: Charoendee
Address: 189 Khao San Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #743 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Charoendee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing