We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap price nice location”
Review of Charoendee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charoendee
Ranked #843 of 1,413 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

A very basic room with cheap price. I got the no window room. So, there was a funny smell in the room. All I did was opened the room door and sprayed some mosquito repellent, and the funny smell was gone. The location which is in an alley helped to reduce the blasting sound played in khao San road middle of the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed here for one night, is a shame all the noise that was coming from the party scene of Khasoan rd, was a bit hard to fall as sleep, but kahosan rd is a place to party so if you want to be close to the action this is the place to be.
with the price of a single room and shared toilet/shower you get linen, bath towel and breakfast(tea or coffee with 2 toast), wifi internet is free to but you only can pick it up from the reception area. there's a nice patio to enjoy the soft wind and umbrellas to be away from the hot sun. The facilities and rooms are spotless. Well ventilated, there is windows in all rooms.
the only negative thing I have to say is that the night time receptionist girl was rude and not smiley at all. When I want it to take a shower about 16:30 (after walking around all day in the heat) she say that there was no water available until 6pm because "technical problems", she say it in a not very friendly way considering that Bangkok is 35C all day and I was really needing a shower...The guy in the morning when i done my check in was nice do, but that girl in the night time could have a change of attitude!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The place is in the middle of Khao San road but to get there you need to pass a corridor between two buildings and you will get to a patio where Charoendee is located. That means you are close to the street but away from noise. The room was rather small with double bed and private bathroom. A window was there but going out to the wall of next house. Air condition worked well. On last day of our stay the toilet stuck and it smelled terrible but we managed to survive till check out. Free WiFi at lobby, simple breakfast included.

Just an average place, close to Khao San attractions, nothing bad, nothing great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senor_Delgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I really don't like leaving bad reviews, however there isn't much point in leaving feedback unless it reflects the truth. Firstly, I would just like to point out that this hostel is in a great location, easy to find, on Khao San Road, but not right in the centre (access is up a small alley between two other buildings) which I found to be an advantage as we weren't affected by noise at all. Other people have commented that the place is far too noisy, but I'm quite a light sleeper and the only noise I was disturbed by was the air con unit.

I was also surprised to discover that people viewed the rooms at Charoendee as "clean" and "excellent". This definitely wasn't the experience that I had. We arrived at around 6pm and were told to take a seat for 15 minutes to wait on our room. Not a great start - having pre-booked 24 hours in advance, why would you have to wait for your room to be cleaned?!

We were handed a key and large padlock and shown to our room on the ground floor - very small, claustrophobic and dull with the smallest bathroom I'd ever seen and the smell of the drainage was very unpleasant. The small window in the room (with bars on the outside) overlooked a narrow gap between the two buildings with a washing machine and piles of laundry! A jail cell would probably have been more cheerful.

The mattress on the bed was so badly stained that you could see the dark marks through the fitted sheet, and the pillows were covered in mould! I was reluctant to sleep in the bed but we were very tired, having just travelled 10 hours from Cambodia to Bangkok.

Overall value for money is poor, but Charoendee gets away with charging the prices it does due to it's location. The staff are friendly and there's also free wifi in the reception area and rooms, and tea/coffee and toast on offer in the morning (which we missed due to an early departure) - but none of this makes up for rooms with bars on the windows and pillows with green mould on them!

Room Tip: Pay an extra £5 and you will get far superior accommodation, on Khao San itself or nearby Rambuttri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I arrived to Bangkok with no plans, and recalled the hotel name from a review, so I just walked in and booked a single room, next morning I walked out.
It was way too noisy, it was literally party in my room. Cheap, clean, close too everything, but...no beauty sleep:)
Breakfast is only coffee and toast. Friendly staff.
The room itself was a bit like a bathroom, tiles everywhere, but I had similar one in another hostel, maybe this is common:)
It is cheap, but there are other hostels for the same price and less noise just off Khao San.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed two nights. They say you get breakfast but it is just coffee and toast. But that is good to start off the day until you can find something else later.

The inside of the room is lined with vinyl siding and the lighting is the outdoors type. So just imagine you are sleeping on the porch outside.

Earplugs help if you do not stay out until you pass out.

Cheap and very clean

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patthebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Located just off Khao San, this is a great place for backpackers who want to enjoy the chaos and entertainment of Khao San. Rooms are very basic, with excellent, clean beds. If you take one with a shared bathroom and no aircon you pay 300 Baht (£6) a night for a single room and 450 for a double.

Staff is friendly and helpful. Has (sometimes slow) wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
All In One Hostel
All In One Hostel
#182 of 1,413 in Bangkok
51 reviews
Banglamphu
At Home Guest House
At Home Guest House
#404 of 1,413 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 894 in Bangkok
6,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charoendee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charoendee

Address: 189 Khao San Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,413 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £8 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Charoendee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing