We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Golden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden House
Ranked #449 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It is a great location for the proximity to the malls for those into shopping. Being by the Sky Train really helps to navigate the city as well. If you are into more nighrtlife there are other hotels with bars nearby, besides access to the Chit Lom BTS. Rooms are real basic, but who stays in the room in Bangkok? If you wants a lot of conveniences, pool, kid friendly activities this will not be the place.
I found the staff to be Bangkok friendly. They are reserved until you start warming up to them and they were very helpful in all of my requests.
As noted it is off the main street so please have the address ready with you at the airport and see if the hotel will fax a map location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed here for a few nights and booked it because my friends were staying there. It's good location, directly across the road from Chitlom BTS, lots of shops in walking distance. It was a bit hard to find at first because it doesnt sit right on Ploenchit Rd, it sits down an alleyway so watch out for that.

The rooms themselves were average price. I've stayed in much nicer rooms for the same price around the Silom area. We had a twin room, had all the basics, TV, decent en-suite ect. I found the staff to be quite rude which I find to be a real put off...

The breakfast was also quite poor... eggs was the only thing on the menu - fried, scrambled, or omelette but always just eggs... There was some juice and coffee also available.

After a few days I ended up moving to their Silom property which was more like a condo than a hotel. We mpved because the Silom property offered 2 bedroom apartments (with a total of 5 beds) at 1000TBH per night, much cheaper than the Chitlom hotel. As i said the Silom one was a condo and not really a hotel, there was no reception or room services. Basically we rented the condo and were given the keys to get in and out of the building.

Probably wouldn't stay at the Chitlom on again, only because I've stayed in much nicer places for the same price. Would definitely stay in the Silom one though, especially if sharing with friends as it was really cheap and quite a large condo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Channy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

On the weekend before my conference/workshop in Millennium Hilton Bangkok, my sister and I decided to book ourselves in Golden House in the central part of the city. This is absolutely my favorite hotel in Bangkok, and I stay here all the time whenever I'm vacationing in Bangkok.

It's affordable (THB1,500/room/night for single/twin occupancy, or USD50), has kind and accommodating staff, and the best part is that it's near everything! Once you leave the hotel, you're literally 10 steps away from the Chit Lom BTS station, which lets you easily zip to Siam or National Stadium stations to shop in MBK or Siam Paragon.

Golden House is also 5-10 minutes' walking distance to big shopping malls like Central World, Central Chidlom, Gaysorn, Big C--and Platinum Mall. This hotel is really a hidden gem, and my friends and sister love its location as well.

There's a money changer right across the hotel entrance and this money changer offers the best rates I've seen so far--better than the ones in the shopping malls, and loads better than the rate found in Suvarnabhumi airport.

Breakfast, which costs an extra THB100, is not exactly great; I wouldn't recommend having breakfast there if you're a picky breakfast kind of person. It just consists of juice, coffee, toast, jam, eggs (cooked the way you want them), and some small sausages. The service is slow (only 1 person cooking everything)--so I usually skip breakfast in the hotel and have it elsewhere. Besides, I'm not a big breakfast person, so Golden House's breakfast meal isn't really an issue for me.

Room is clean, simple and odor-free, with fresh towels and free wifi. But please don't expect anything fancy--it's a budget hotel after all. But whenever I'm here, I feel really at home. Staff are incredibly nice. There was an instance where I had to check out late (2pm), and normally, the hotel charges late check-out fee of THB100 per extra hour after 12nn. But the staff people were nice and waived the fee for me. All in all, fantastic service. I can't wait to stay here again the next time I'm in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if they could put you in a room fronting that nice little park beside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kickgalvanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

reasonable price with clean room & nice staff :) really great location, with a second walk to Chit Lom station & all other Siam area shopping mall!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed from 1-6 April and the experience with this hotel was great, The location is super and it is easy to access to hotel by BTS and closely to main town area. The Central and Big C super is nearly by.
I am really impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location. Golden house near all main shopping malls and near train station. In front of the hotel there is money exchange with best rates in Thai. Floor in the rooms need repair.

Room Tip: Near main malls. Near skytrain stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The location is great, the staff was as nice as they used to be this time, but still OK. The breakfast definitly needs improvement. You only get nescafé and cheap toast, and if there are than 2 couple having breakfast you will have to be patient

Nevertheless have breakfast outside and enjoy the hotel

Room Tip: Good location jut next to sky train and main shopping centers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok City Inn
#757 of 894 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#310 of 894 in Bangkok
328 reviews
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#787 of 894 in Bangkok
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#230 of 894 in Bangkok
430 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#117 of 894 in Bangkok
1,470 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#412 of 894 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House

Address: 1025/5-9 Ploenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#131 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the city center side by side with international chain hotels such as the Grand Hyatt, Holiday Inn and Intercontinental. The BTS Chidlom sta. is only 50 meter away from hotel (1 MIN WALK), and near major shopping center such as Central Childlom,Central World,MBK center and the most respected Erawan shrine are all within walking distance. We are a boutique hotel with 27 charming rooms with full facilities such as TV and Wi-Fi internet (free of charge) are available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing