We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately needs renovation”
Review of Golden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden House
Ranked #476 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
“Desperately needs renovation”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here for a week after reading
the reviews. Booked directly with the hotel they have a no refund policy. The rooms are small and very old. walls are dirty this is like a 2 star hotel overpriced. better value elsewhere nearby. Location is good and staff friendly. Never again though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephineandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    52
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
27
40
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

stayed 1 week the location is good near Chit Lom BTS but the price is very expensive for this very old and run down hotel, room was tiny, shower kept blocking, sliding wardrobe doors kept falling off, wifi was terrible could not connect or stay connected most of the time, staff were very friendly and responsive, however for the price can stay somewhere far nicer, never again

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonynray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights here. As expected, the biggest plus point is the location. It is just next to Chitlom BTS.

Pros:
- location, short walk to BIG C supermarket, Central World shopping centre and the whole of Pratunam market where all the bargains are! Shop till you drop! :D
- 5mins walk to famous 4-face buddha, Erawan shrine
- Room is generally clean
- located in a quiet alley, ensures you have an undisturbed sleep at night.
- air-con and water heater are all individually controlled.

Cons:
- the price is a bit high compared to other beautifully renovated boutique hotels in the area. However, if you consider it is just steps away from holiday Inn, meaning you share the same convenience of the location, but pay slightly more than one-third the price ...
- breakfast, I agree, only eggs cooked in different styles, 2 slice of toast, I do not know if you can ask for more ... anyway it is enough for me.
- TV is old crt type, but that is not the problem, it says cable tv, but very limited channel, then again who goes to bkk to watch tv? lol
- do buy your drinks/beers/snacks probably at BIG C first before going back to hotel, this is one rare location whereby there is no 7-eleven nearby, I did find one, about 10-15mins walk away further down.


In conclusion, I will still consider this hotel when I go BKK again. It is the cheapest hotel you can get at this right next to BTS location. Rooms is generally clean but there is a smokey smell.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoseidonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I had book a 3 nights stay with them on a Double Room Suite which is located inside Renaissance hotel (Condo Building). Could not comment on the room yet as my trip there is on Nov. But the pre arrival services they provided me was way above the "Budget" hotel standard as all emails that i send was replied in less than 5 mins.

On the booking of the room itself, I had given the wrong credit card information which causes the transection failed. They had made it a point that they emailed me that there is an error and will be calling me soon. And soon enough i received their call and clear all the mistake.

As the Suite room was not located in the main building (It is located opposite the main building, roughly 10mins walk), they had promised that they will be waiting for me at the main lobby of the suite room to handle my check in. They had also provide me a location map just in case I'm using any taxi service. Well done to the front desk team.

I shall comment the room after my stay with them!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deltor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It is a great location for the proximity to the malls for those into shopping. Being by the Sky Train really helps to navigate the city as well. If you are into more nighrtlife there are other hotels with bars nearby, besides access to the Chit Lom BTS. Rooms are real basic, but who stays in the room in Bangkok? If you wants a lot of conveniences, pool, kid friendly activities this will not be the place.
I found the staff to be Bangkok friendly. They are reserved until you start warming up to them and they were very helpful in all of my requests.
As noted it is off the main street so please have the address ready with you at the airport and see if the hotel will fax a map location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed here for a few nights and booked it because my friends were staying there. It's good location, directly across the road from Chitlom BTS, lots of shops in walking distance. It was a bit hard to find at first because it doesnt sit right on Ploenchit Rd, it sits down an alleyway so watch out for that.

The rooms themselves were average price. I've stayed in much nicer rooms for the same price around the Silom area. We had a twin room, had all the basics, TV, decent en-suite ect. I found the staff to be quite rude which I find to be a real put off...

The breakfast was also quite poor... eggs was the only thing on the menu - fried, scrambled, or omelette but always just eggs... There was some juice and coffee also available.

After a few days I ended up moving to their Silom property which was more like a condo than a hotel. We mpved because the Silom property offered 2 bedroom apartments (with a total of 5 beds) at 1000TBH per night, much cheaper than the Chitlom hotel. As i said the Silom one was a condo and not really a hotel, there was no reception or room services. Basically we rented the condo and were given the keys to get in and out of the building.

Probably wouldn't stay at the Chitlom on again, only because I've stayed in much nicer places for the same price. Would definitely stay in the Silom one though, especially if sharing with friends as it was really cheap and quite a large condo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

On the weekend before my conference/workshop in Millennium Hilton Bangkok, my sister and I decided to book ourselves in Golden House in the central part of the city. This is absolutely my favorite hotel in Bangkok, and I stay here all the time whenever I'm vacationing in Bangkok.

It's affordable (THB1,500/room/night for single/twin occupancy, or USD50), has kind and accommodating staff, and the best part is that it's near everything! Once you leave the hotel, you're literally 10 steps away from the Chit Lom BTS station, which lets you easily zip to Siam or National Stadium stations to shop in MBK or Siam Paragon.

Golden House is also 5-10 minutes' walking distance to big shopping malls like Central World, Central Chidlom, Gaysorn, Big C--and Platinum Mall. This hotel is really a hidden gem, and my friends and sister love its location as well.

There's a money changer right across the hotel entrance and this money changer offers the best rates I've seen so far--better than the ones in the shopping malls, and loads better than the rate found in Suvarnabhumi airport.

Breakfast, which costs an extra THB100, is not exactly great; I wouldn't recommend having breakfast there if you're a picky breakfast kind of person. It just consists of juice, coffee, toast, jam, eggs (cooked the way you want them), and some small sausages. The service is slow (only 1 person cooking everything)--so I usually skip breakfast in the hotel and have it elsewhere. Besides, I'm not a big breakfast person, so Golden House's breakfast meal isn't really an issue for me.

Room is clean, simple and odor-free, with fresh towels and free wifi. But please don't expect anything fancy--it's a budget hotel after all. But whenever I'm here, I feel really at home. Staff are incredibly nice. There was an instance where I had to check out late (2pm), and normally, the hotel charges late check-out fee of THB100 per extra hour after 12nn. But the staff people were nice and waived the fee for me. All in all, fantastic service. I can't wait to stay here again the next time I'm in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if they could put you in a room fronting that nice little park beside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickgalvanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#326 of 866 in Bangkok
316 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#117 of 866 in Bangkok
1,406 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#242 of 866 in Bangkok
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape House, Bangkok
#68 of 866 in Bangkok
649 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#746 of 866 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House

Property: Golden House
Address: 1025/5-9 Ploenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#134 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the city center side by side with international chain hotels such as the Grand Hyatt, Holiday Inn and Intercontinental. The BTS Chidlom sta. is only 50 meter away from hotel (1 MIN WALK), and near major shopping center such as Central Childlom,Central World,MBK center and the most respected Erawan shrine are all within walking distance. We are a boutique hotel with 27 charming rooms with full facilities such as TV and Wi-Fi internet (free of charge) are available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing