We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for a good price~” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden House
Ranked #506 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a good price~”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the convenience of its location as it is in the center of our destinations (Siam Niramit, Grand Palace, Chatuchak, etc) There is spa beside them but we didn't go there. The breakfast was ok as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank designgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    48
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
26
40
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room size, equipment, furniture, amenities are all in good shape. What gets me is that the doors are thin plastic and you can hear everything going on in the hallway and possibly other rooms. The doors shut so loud too. it is a small thing that the owner could remedy with little cost, but sadly does not.

Housekeeping seems quite lazy as well. Everyday I returned to my room in the afternoon (3pm-4pm) and found my room still not cleaned. I had to request them to clean my room everyday. I put the water in the fridge so I could have cold water when I returned and they had cleaned out the fridge and thrown my water out.

Internet on floor 2 never worked. We used the one from floor 4 when it would connect.

For $50 USD/night (no breakfast), you could do much better in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is living proof you get what you pay for. Well situated and affordable but certain items are standard and one of them is a wardrobe! ... We were ony two people and travelling light but the room after a while looked like a bomb had hit it. We were only staying one night, so people with family's and allot of luggage would struggle to cope. It is off the main street and be warned there is NO PARKING FACILITIES!. The check in was fine and reception was polite but the hotel has some work being carried out and it was unbelievably noisey during the day (would have been nice to have been warned before we booked!) and in the evening it was so noisey from the outside it was difficult to sleep. Breakfast was either boiled, scrambled or fried eggs and asking if anything else was on off I was offered an omelette! !... So you are screwed if you dont like eggs. The room was clean with a good shower and clean towels. Mini bar had 2 tins of over priced beer and a couple of equally overpriced sodas. Check out was uneventful.
I have stayed in way better hotels in BKK for less and sorry but would definitely not return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marrmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This has a great location if you are wanting to shop in Bangkok. Small but tidy room, very dated decor and bathroom could do with a good clean. Basic breakfast is included.

Plus - location, cheap
Minus - free WiFi didn't work, lukewarm shower, translucent curtains, noisy street traffic from 5am onwards

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbootsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room is not very large but comfortable. The massage at the first floor is my favorite place after all day traveling. The best thing of this hotel is the location is very damn cool, it's super duper close to bts'train (almost in front of it) and just 5minutes away from central world (by walking)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sincrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want to stay right in the middle of busy Bangkok with big shopping malls while wanting to escape the monotonous 4-5 Star hotel stay, then this is the best location and stay. A value for money and peaceful stay but only a stone's throw away from Chitlom BTS. A short walk on the skywalk would find you at big shopping mall on both direction of the skywalk and either side of the skywalk. And walla...by night fall, the street markets are on...

The hotel sits on a dead end road hence no traffic and street hawkers/market within the street. Though a bit old but the room was clean and comfy. I think the hotel is going for renovation son, so expect a better upgrade soon.

I'll definitely stay at this hotel again since the location is superb. The hotel also give out a discount to the massage place next door to the hotel. A good place to relieve those stress and worries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezhamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Pretty disappointed in general as I paid a lot to book a room for a night's stay. This hotel looks like its been around for a while. The furniture and floor looks worn out. Wallpapers look musty and the room smells funny. Not to mention the floor feels a little bit sticky and a dodgy looking walkway to the room.

Really old TV set, poor workmanship on installation of air-con and shower units. It turns me off to see bad English on the signages really.

I really wanted to spend my last night in Bangkok closer to the city center and was hoping that it will give a good night's rest but could hardly sleep well. We checked out first thing after waking up, and decided to skip the complimentary breakfast that everyone here says is average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#343 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#104 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#260 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok City Inn
#710 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House

Property: Golden House
Address: 1025/5-9 Ploenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#137 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the city center side by side with international chain hotels such as the Grand Hyatt, Holiday Inn and Intercontinental. The BTS Chidlom sta. is only 50 meter away from hotel (1 MIN WALK), and near major shopping center such as Central Childlom,Central World,MBK center and the most respected Erawan shrine are all within walking distance. We are a boutique hotel with 27 charming rooms with full facilities such as TV and Wi-Fi internet (free of charge) are available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Golden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing