We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible service.”
Review of The Londoner Brew Pub - MOVED

The Londoner Brew Pub
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible service.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Walked in on a Sunday when it was almost empty and tried to sit down, was moved by a waiter into a booth behind the bar. That was the last we saw of him.

Had to get the attention of the bartender or walk over to the bar everytime we wanted something. Condiments not provided with cheesy chips. Bartender didn't speak any English at all, eventually grasped we wanted ketchup and pointed to a corner with HP and Chilli sauce (no ketchup).

The main course brought for me was wrong. When I asked the waitress she told me Steak and chips was same same as a steak sandwich, when politely asked to change it she came over after 5 minutes and snatched it off the table with no apology. 25 minutes later my dish arrived meaning the two main courses effectively arrived 30 minutes apart.

The food:
- cheese and chips. 190 baht for overcooked (from frozen) chips with way too little cheese. If you want ketchup you may be out of luck
- Cheese and ham sandwich. Ok. Served with overcooked chips. Coleslaw served with it is excellent.
- Open faced steak sandwich. When you eventually get it the sandwich is pretty damn good. Nice beef with a generous serving. Accompanying chips were overcooked but the coleslaw was good ;)

I've been here a few times before and the service is always patchy but this time it was absolutely terrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimBailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    51
    24
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Come early and its a nice quiet pub. Later its full of people and energy. Very good mix of locals and expats. Their cream bitter, a favourite of mine, is brewed on site. Food is well above average and the Thai food is pretty good. Have been a regular over the years and have really enjoyed this pub.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Although I just gave a poor review to the hotel portion of the Dubliner Empire, I will give a good review for the Brew Pub. I've only had breakfast here, but have always found it to be both good and hearty. The price is a bit more than the nearby Royal Oak, and the food is about the same in quality and taste. I have always found the staff to be good, and I will eat here in the future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamCA93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A good niche”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Londoner is a great place to go to eat with friends or someone special. Most of the time it is quiet and tables are spaced far enough apart so your conversations can be somewhat private.

The design of the place can quickly make you forget you are in Bangkok. Seeing it is below ground and there are no windows, you can quickly feel you are in London with just the way the place looks. The only giveaway is the Thai staff.

As for the food, I would just have to say everything on the menu is worth a try. Although the menu is not as extensive as other places, it is on par for a pub brewery. If you are a big eater like myself, you may find the main meal portions just short of filling, but adding and appetizer or desert rounds out the meal. The down side to that is the cost goes up leaving you at about 600 to 750 Baht for your meal. There are cheaper restaurants, but if there is something on the menu you particularly like and can’t find in another place, it is worth the extra cost. I would also say that much of the menu items border on gourmet, and those meals tend to have smaller portions. But all and all it is still worth checking out and make you own decision on how often you will return.

Because they brew their own beer, sometimes it packs a bit more punch and just adds to the setting and can quickly mellow out the rest of the day. But that is what helps to make the Londoner unique and not a copy of another person’s idea.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcos de la Frontera
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“busy but soleless”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

a large area inside with a central island bar. no craic from the bartenders or waiters. various special beers available and the food was nothing exceptional with some high tables to eat off. not an exciting place to go too but it seems popular with expats

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iberia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Londoner Brew Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing