We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for price”
Review of Charlie House

Charlie House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie House
Ranked #237 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good for price”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

very good location and cheap accommodation in bangkok,staff very friendly and good restaurant,what else????

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xaarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
13
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

They charge for an overnight 'guest' if that is what your taste is.

One disadvantage of staying here is that they put the shutters down at night and you have to ring the bell for the night porter to come out and pull up the shutters again.

OK for maximum of 2 nights but no more. Hard to find as not so visible so do not expect a taxi driver to find the hotel. Just get off at Soi Ngam Duplee and walk around the next lane.
Watch out for the rats at night crawling in and out of the trash bags.

Room Tip: Walk 15 minutes to the Underground station (Lumphini)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Zagreb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Since several years ago we've very much enjoyed staying in Charlie House Pin Klao, we thought this one would be similar. What a mistake! The location itself is great, not too far from metro and Lumpini park, close to fabulous Soi Polo restaurant (cheap, filled with locals and has greeat food). But the room! Like an elongated corridor with no window-all right, there was a tiny one in the bathroom which was a bit claustrophobic, definitely no frills, but one the other hand, it was cheap and we stayed just for one night so it served its purpose. Not too bad if you're just passing through.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZagrebLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohang, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed at Charlie House Lumphini in July of '10 for 30 days when I was doing my CELTA in Bangkok.

The building itself was aging a little bit, but the rooms were clean and air conditioned. Some of the rooms have windows and some don't. Upon check-in I was to have a room without a window, but the staff showed be both rooms and I was allowed to change with no additional charges. The rooms are small, but but functional. There was a small TV with Cable, but I had to settle for Fox News as there was no CNN.

There was no pool at this Charlie House, which I found confusing because at first I thought there was. If you're looking on their website, I think this one issue they need to clarify.

The staff all seem to speak enough English to get by and be helpful, and they are happy to do housekeeping every night, even if you're there for a long stay.

They have a laundry service that I utilized about once a week.

The restaurant at Charlie House is fantastic, even though you can find slightly cheaper food at nearby restaurants or from the street vendors if you are on a budget. I highly recommend the green curry soup; indeed, every thing I ate there was delicious. For breakfast I would almost always have the Charlie Breakfast for 100 Bhat: 2 eggs, 2 pieces of toast, some fresh tomatoes, coffee is 30 baht extra. They have a covered porch looking out onto the street, and it was relaxing to sip a coffee, smoke a cigarette and watch the morning traffic go by. Right next to the porch is a Thai Noodle restaurant that also has superb food.

Wireless internet at Charlie House was extremely unreliable, but that seems to be the case in most of Bangkok. I found it worked best in the mornings, but was usually down in the evenings. Also when it rains the Internet usually vanishes.

Bangkok is an extremely safe city for tourists, and Charlie House seems to be extra secure. However, I thought it was a drawback that they locked their doors at a certain hour (10:30 on weekdays and midnight on weekends), and the only way in or out is to wake the night staff, who is supposed to be on call. Over a 30 day period there was once instance where it took about 30 minutes for the staff to hear me ringing the buzzer, and one other time (when I was really drunk) they didn't answer the door at all so I just slept on the porch for a few hours. But for the most part they answer immediately.

Charlie House Lumphini, i feel, is located in a great part of Bangkok. Not too sleepy, and not too quiet. It's about a 6 minute walk to the metro.

For a 30 day stay it cost me about 450 Bhat a night. Other hotels/guest houses in the area can go for half that, but they don't have private bathrooms and the security is not as strong.
If I'm ever in Bangkok I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The room that we stayed in was quite shabby, with a musty smell, a theme replicated throughout the building as far as I could tell. The aircon unit gushed water onto the carpet, and the external fans outside the window hummed loudly all night meaning that it was difficult to sleep with the window open. Rooms were not really clean, or at least done in a very slapdash way. Generally ugly and uninspiring. I have stayed in many places in the Soi Ngam Duphli area, and this one offers very mediocre value. The staff seemed fairly indifferent to their guests, and the restaurant downstairs had a depressing fug hanging over it, with a few stray customers looking a bit forlorn. Maybe we were there in an off week, but I wouldn't darken their doors again unless really desperate. When you consider that the very decent Atlanta on Sukhumvit Soi 1 is in a similar price range, Charlie House come across as a dodgy salesman on the make.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetpiloteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Charlie House Pinklao
#213 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Sathorn
ETZzz Hostel
ETZzz Hostel
#156 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Maderla
Maderla
#152 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Sathorn
Miggy Guest House
Miggy Guest House
#90 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Sathorn
Atsathon
Atsathon
#448 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie House

Property: Charlie House
Address: 1034 / 36 - 37 Soi Saphan Khu | Rama IV Rd, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing