We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit”
Review of Charlie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie House
Ranked #396 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very cheap accommodation, and not the most comfortable. On our arrival, the rooms seemed to be clean, but the bedding clearly hasn't been changed – hair and coins were found under the sheets. The rooms had a very moldy smell - there are carpets in the rooms, and you don't know what may be alive in it. The bathrooms were very small, and very basic, but also very, very moldy. This may be okay for a backpacker or a traveler on a budget, but not for a family or a couple. The location is good. The guesthouse is about a 10-minute walk away from the Lumpini metro station, and a 12 minute walk away from Lumpini Park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

late in in putting the info but hope it helps someone.we stayed at charlie house and on arrival being taken to the room i just wanted to book out and move on.the pictures on the web site must have been taken years ago.our room was dark shabby and smelled musty the sheets although clean are far past there use by date.we had already paid in advance so as it was only for 3 nights decided to stay.I'm so glad we did, the staff were lovely and friendly they went out of there way too help with any enqires we had and the food was good value and freshly cooked.In all our rule is if its safe clean and friendly what more can you ask for it was all of those things.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Whatever in Bangkok, we always stayed here! I like this place! Owner was friendly , we feel like our own home! Overall happy with the hospitality that they give to us! Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Having previously stayed at Charlie's House, Pinklao, and liked it, we thought we would stay at the Lumpini branch, because it is more central and has a metro station just down the road, but we were very disappointed. There seem to have been some difficulties with security because the rooms have padlocks and chains to supplement the ordinary door lock. Also, at 10.30 p.m. they lock the front doors and pull down metal shutters. Entry is then gained by using an intercom and a side metal door is then unlocked. It felt a little like being under siege - not relaxing at all. The room we were in was also in need of redecorating (chipped and faded paint). There is a lot of street noise too (traffic). There are other hotel options nearby, although they may be slightly more expensive, but I think they would be worth it. Also, note that the night market is no longer located at Lumpini, so that is one less reason to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bedhopper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Charlie House was a great find. The rooms are good value, spacious, clean and very quiet (walls are thick enough). The location is good, a short walk from the Lumphini park metro.

Staff were very friendly and always helped us by giving directions to the places we needed to find.

Loved the bacon sandwiches for breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

very good location and cheap accommodation in bangkok,staff very friendly and good restaurant,what else????

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xaarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

They charge for an overnight 'guest' if that is what your taste is.

One disadvantage of staying here is that they put the shutters down at night and you have to ring the bell for the night porter to come out and pull up the shutters again.

OK for maximum of 2 nights but no more. Hard to find as not so visible so do not expect a taxi driver to find the hotel. Just get off at Soi Ngam Duplee and walk around the next lane.
Watch out for the rats at night crawling in and out of the trash bags.

Room Tip: Walk 15 minutes to the Underground station (Lumphini)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Charlie House Pinklao
#208 of 887 in Bangkok
252 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,541 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie House

Address: 1034 / 36 - 37 Soi Saphan Khu | Rama IV Rd, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing