We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd good time in Sunflower Place Hotel”
Review of Sunflower Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunflower Place
Ranked #157 of 1,283 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It is my 2nd time stay in this hotel with my last stay in July 2010. I just love this hotel for good location and service. They have no issue in helping me to book a very early cab at 05:00 on my last day to airport for my early flight. In fact, the cab reached 15 minutes earlier. It really gave me assurance ,satisfaction and cleared my worry in securing very early morning transport to airport.

Now they have free wifi and it has strong signal in every floor besides 2 computers free to use. Worth staying in this hotel and I definitely will come to stay again in this hotel in the future for 3rd time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Sunflower Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location is terrific... Near enough to the happening places of Silom/Surawong but quiet enough as it is situated in a quiet subsoi....

Rooms are spotless, smells nice and worth your money. The presence of a ref and an elevator are are bif factors when considering this place.

However, e daytime receptionist is a big minus. She's a matronly woman who cannot speak English and who has an unfriendly inhospitable and dour disposition. She's a real Despicable Me. The night time and afternoon receptionists are great and are quite helpful.

Worth the stay? Big yes if that Despicable Me of a receptionist is gone...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gekidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pros:
1. Good location, quietly tucked away from the busy Silom Road. Just about 10 mins walk to Sala Daeng BTS & Silom MRT.
2. There are many eateries & shops nearby, local, McD, cafes, 7-11.
3. No breakfast; but free coffee and tea all day long.
4. Good room rate.

Cons:
1. Super hard bed. This has to be the hardest bed I've ever slept in.
2. Wifi - For the 4N we were there, wifi was very weak in room, sometimes non-existent. Had to go down to lobby. Spoke to front desk few times but nothing done.

Service depends on who is at the desk. Generally friendly but the old woman (who was mentioned a few times in previous reviews) was very cold and never acknowledge you. However she gets things done when we asked for extra pillows and arrangement for cab to airport. We kept saying hi everytime we passed by and finally... she did wave goodbye to us when we left LOL

Additional info on cab fare, we took cab to Khao San few times, its about THB100. Buy the Rabbit Card for train service as the queue for ticket can be very long esp during peak hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hostel is conveniently located near everything! BTS Saladaeng is 8 mins walk away while MRT Silom is 12-15 mins. There are numerous seven eleven and fastfood. There are also Thai restaurants around.

The location is hard to find but thanks to google street map, we were able to find it immediately.

The location is near Patpong but its really safe and not noisy at all. Theres a keycard on the main door for security purposes. They have split type aircondition and cool. Linens are changed and rooms are cleaned everyday. There is hot and cold shower in the bathroom. The only downside is the hard beds -- but you won't notice it at all. After all the walking and tours that I did during the day, all I wanna do is lay down and aleep.

Overall: i'll stay here again when I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

cosy, quiet, conveniently located (1 minute walk to Patpong, 3 mins to BTS-sala daeng, 4 mins walk to MRT, many food outlets on silom road) everything in the room was working well, very clean. coffee/tea/milo drinks, free fruits sometimes, 2 computers for free use and many books all at lobby for guests to enjoy. WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT?
I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in Silom. Close to Sala Daeng MRT station and the night market. The rooms are very clean, bathroom also with good shower. Free coffee and tea in the lobby and the wifi is fast enough. Only the matras is hard as rock!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Sunflower place is a small hostel in the silom area of Bangkok. Location is good, since it is easy to get to the river, metro and other attractions.
It is in a side street of one of the larger streets (silom road). The side street appears a bit sketchy at first, after walking it a few times you get used to it.

The pictures uploaded by other reviewers give a fair impression. Moreover the rooms are clean.
The wifi works well. The air conditioner works well. The staff try to understand you and help you with what you need ( although their english is not always sufficient to understand you).

Just one problem, the bed is very hard.

We paid 1600 bath for a two night stay with two people.
We had the double private room


Extra info:
- taxi to kho san rd = 200 bath
- taxi to sukumvit rd = 150 bath
- sky train to sukumvit rd = 40 bath pp
- taxi to river side (catch river tour) = 100 bath
- although tuk tuk's seem fun, they tend to be much more expensive
- taxis dont like to use their meter, since its will probably be much cheaper. Just try to bargain a bit ,150 bath should get yOu to most places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1987jtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Nantra Silom
Nantra Silom
#684 of 880 in Bangkok
226 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#147 of 880 in Bangkok
535 reviews
Silom
Wall Street Inn
Wall Street Inn
#426 of 880 in Bangkok
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 880 in Bangkok
889 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#385 of 880 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,283 in Bangkok
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Place

Address: 39/17-19 Soi Anuman-Rajdhon, Surawong Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,283 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £15 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunflower Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunflower Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing