We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good location but that's about it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chart Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #516 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2012

As the previous reviewer said, you get what you pay for. We've stayed there a couple of times now purely because it's cheap and on KSR so good location, but you get basically four walls - no mirror, often no toilet paper, broken windows etc. The second time we went, we paid extra for aircon as the rooms are small and sweaty, and the aircon was so good we had to have blankets! There is no wifi which is fine, but there are also no sockets in the room so you can't charge your phone etc which is a bit of a pain. The staff were very polite and helpful but I wouldn't use the toilet on the ground floor as it's fairly disgusting. The travel agency on the ground floor by the bar is excellent and I have no hestiation in recommending them.

Room Tip: As low as possible as there's no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyloveswilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Ive stayed here twice october 2008 and june 2010 and both times were great. The bar atmosphere is great and food is priced well. Although there is no lift and if you opt for the cheaper twin rooms you tend to be on the top floor. Which can take it out of you when your carrying a heavy backpack. However for a bed and somewhere to sleep its great. Spent 5 nights here in total and each and every time the room was clean, sheets included. The shared bathroom and toilet was cleaned twice a day, witnessed both years. The location is fantastic and its right in the middle of the khao san road. Expect to pay around 400 baht a night double room shared bathroom, 350 baht single shared bathroom. There is the option to have your own bathroom which is more expensive and not really worth it if your just going to use it as a place to sleep. Would recommend this to any traveller!

Room Tip: If you dont want to be put on the top floor ask for a room with your own bathroom, although this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchid2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed here for one night. Many rooms available and so-so service (you get one roll of toilet paper with your key and padlock). Before you get to Chart (which is at the second floor, reservations desk is at the ground floor), you have to walk through Bookazine or the restaurant.

You can choose from aircon or fan rooms. We got an aircon room, but was surprised when we turned it on. Dust bunnies flew out of the aircon vents; also, the bed sheets looked (and felt) like they weren't changed since God-knows-when. The bathroom had a water heater which was a plus, but there were used shampoo bottles and soap wrappers on the sink which have accumulating dust. My sister and i were sneezing through the night.

If you find it easy to sleep amidst the noise of KSR, this is an okay place to stay the night. There's a 7-11 nearby and food stalls. There are numerous bars and restaurants too so you're right smack in the action of Khao San Road.

Chart is an acceptable guest house just don't expect your room to be clean.
Affordable accommodation, but you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnlockableRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Manuela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twentyyears2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mauridisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank giadabgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,566 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#194 of 887 in Bangkok
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart Guesthouse & Restaurant

Address: 62 Khaosan Read | Taladyod, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #516 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — Chart Guesthouse & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing