We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
D&D INN(Bangkok)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
O Bangkok(Bangkok)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
27
49
57
37
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
49
57
37
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat indian foodspicy tastepretty loud at nightbest indianpaid baht per nightbudget accommodationbrilliant locationrooms are basicchiang maicambodiapartying
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We made the mistake of booing this online for a week as we were tired of moving around all the time. I would recommend it for a few nights only. I am a bit claustrophobic so this didn't help as there are no windows. People had written all over the walls which to some people may be cool but I didn't like it. The staff are really nice and friendly so can't complain there and the food is yum but the room was not for me. If you are ok with no windows etc then it's ok otherwise maybe just as a base before you move on.

Room Tip: They are all the same
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiWi27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

There was no window even I have reserved more expensive room and didn't get any information about such a possibility. Because of that and the restaurant under the hotel rooms there was total lack of fresh air. The room was so tiny, that almoust claustrophobic. I'm a student and the most often I chouse budget hotels but still it was the dirtiest and the most disgusting place I've ever been. Huge fungus on the ceiling, specially in bathroom. Holes in the walls, broken door lock and bed mattress made from paper cartons. I lost the fee for my reservation and found another place to stay. I recomend to stay away form this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Hanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

i stayed there with my friends from 9th-14th April 2013.we went to Bangkok for its Songkran festival.the hotel is located just few minutes walk to Khaosan road and about 20mins walk to the Grand Palace (please dont take taxi or tuk-tuk if you stay near Khaosan road and if you can walk).the bed is rock hard!for your own safety,get a pad-lock for the door.dont worry,no room service for this hotel.staffs are warm,friendly, and helpful.lastly,remember to try its Indian restaurant.its yummy!!

Room Tip: if u get a room near main,please change it before night falls!is going to be very noisy!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCYMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I have nothing bad to say about Rainbow. It is a clean, comfortable and well managed guest house in the dynamic backpacker district of Bangkock. You don't get the peace and quiet of the Isaan at Rainbow. You do, however, get: good value, a quality restaurant and bar, and the privilage of socializing with other Thais and international travelers like yourself. To summarize, Rainbow delivers a dynamic Khaoson experience.

By the way, Rainbow has a juice bar that makes awsome frozen mixers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If your familiar with the Khaosan road area, you know that there are a number of bars, playing very loud music very late into the night. That's not a problem if you are at those bars. The location of this hostel makes it a sixty second walk to some of them. If you are looking for a party, it's a great place to stay for a great price. However, if your looking for a good night of sleep, this is probably the wrong place to stay. I have stayed in hotels that were probably 4x as much that are only a street or two down, and they are beautiful air-conditioned rooms that don't have the loud music late into the night. So decide what you want. Do you want a dirt-cheap place with okay beds and loud music all night, or comfort and peace? Everything in Thailand is fairly inexpensive, so it just depends on how you want to budget each day. I highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for the cheap and party filled experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Khoasan Road entrance will be quieter, but I'm not sure if there are any dorm set ups on the other side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews